Laguerre RSI

This interesting filtered version of the relative strength index (RSI) was introduced by trader John F. Ehlers in his 2004 book "Cybernetic Analysis for Stocks and Futures". Laguerre comes from Laguerre filtering. Laguerre filtering is a technique used to reduce noise in digital signal processing. Ehler applies Laguerre filtering to market price series. The Laguerre RSI works in the same way as the classic RSI but is more sensitive to recent prices.

Oversold markets have Laguerre RSI values of 0,20 (20 percent) or lower. Overbought markets have Laguerre RSI values of 0,80 (80 percent) or higher.

This example shows the Laguerre RSI on an instrument in a bearish trend. In the case of bearish instruments traders tend to focus on the points in time when the Laguerre RSI changes from overbought to the normal level. Three such moments are visible in this example.


This example shows the Laguerre RSI on an instrument in a bullish trend. In the case of bullish instruments traders tend to focus on the points in time when the Laguerre RSI changes from oversold to the normal level. Four such moments are visible in this example.

Laguerre RSI

Cette intéressante version filtrée de l'indice de force relative (RSI) a été présentée par le trader John F. Ehlers dans son livre de 2004 "Cybernetic Analysis for Stocks and Futures". Laguerre vient du filtrage de Laguerre. Le filtrage Laguerre est une technique utilisée pour réduire le bruit dans le traitement de signal numérique. Ehler applique le filtrage aux séries de prix de marché. Le RSI Laguerre fonctionne de la même façon que le RSI classique, mais est plus sensible aux prix récents.

Les marchés sur-vendeurs ont des valeurs Laguerre RSI de 0,20 (20 pourcent) ou inférieures. Les marchés sur-acheteurs ont des valeurs Laguerre RSI de 0,80 (80 pourcent) ou supérieures.

Cet exemple montre le Laguerre RSI sur un instrument dans une tendance baissière. Dans le cas d'instruments baissiers, les traders ont tendance à se concentrer sur les moments où le Laguerre RSI passera du niveau de sur-achat au niveau normal. Trois de ces moments sont visibles dans cet exemple.


Cet exemple montre le Laguerre RSI sur un instrument dans une tendance haussière. Dans le cas d'instruments haussiers, les traders ont tendance à se concentrer sur les moments où le Laguerre RSI passera du niveau de sur-vente au niveau normal. Trois de ces moments sont visibles dans cet exemple.