Commodities forecast tool

The Commodities Forecast tool determines an average price and an average price channel. The average price is calculated on the basis of commodity price forecasts published by the reputed World Bank. The indicator can be used as a swing trading strategy for commodities.

The price forecasts published by the World Bank can be found here.

World Bank commodities price forecasts.  

This example shows the price forecasts for the energy sources crude oil, coal and natural gas. The forecasts are estimated average prices for the year. The crude oil price forecast for 2017 is currently (Q4 2016) forecast at $ 55,20.

 

Calculating the average price

Calculating the average price is crucial. Below you can find an example which explains the formula used to calculate the average price. If you do not want to calculate the average price yourself, you can use this table. The table changes on a daily basis. The changes, however, are small. It is not necessary to change the average price in your platform every day.


The formula to calculate, for example, the average crude oil price ($48,48) on 7.12.2016 is:

1. Calculate the difference between the World Bank forecasts for 2016 and 2017.
Crude oil = $ 55,2 - $ 43,3 = $ 11,9

2. Calculate the number of days to go between today’s date and the middle of 2017 (1.7.2017).
From 7.12.2016 to 1.7.2017 = 206 days. 206/365 = date factor 0,564.

3. Delta = $ 11,9 x 0,564 = $ 6,72

4. Average price = World Bank 2017 forecast - Delta = $ 55,2 - $ 6,72= $ 48,48

 

How to use this tool

A signal occurs when the market price moves outside the price channel. If the market price drops below the price channel a buy signal occurs. Traders only respond to buy signals if the World Bank forecast is above the average price. If the market price moves upwards, out of the price channel, a short sell signal occurs. Traders only respond to short sell signals if the World Bank forecast is below the average price.

Commodities (oil, gold, silver ...) used to trade commodities based on World Bank forecasts.  

This example is based on an average price for crude oil of $ 48,48 (blue line). The World Bank’s forecast is $ 55,50. The trader is interested in buy signals. The channel is $ 48,48 +/- $ 5. The bottom of the channel is $ 44,25. When the price drops below this level, a position is bought. Two buy signals occur.

 

The settings

The settings are simple. They are, as usual, set in the DesignerDialog window.

Free trading strategies for commodities (oil, silver, gold, wheat ...).  

This example shows the settings for crude oil. The current average price is $ 48,48. The width of the channel is the average price +/- $ 5. The World Bank forecast for 2017 ($ 55,20) is above the average price ($48,80), the trader only want buy signals.



Average price: the strategy’s average price.

Differential_points: the width of the channel, set it to about 10%.

Long_signals: select "yes" or "no" to indicate if you want long signals or not.

Short_sell_signals: select "yes" or "no" to indicate if you want short sell signals or not.

Always select either long or short sell, never select both. Alarms (e-mail, sound or pop-up) are available.

L'outil Commodities forecast

L’outil Commodities Forecast détermine un prix moyen et un canal de prix moyen. Le prix moyen est calculé en utilisant les prévisions de prix de la célèbre Banque mondiale pour les matières premières. L'indicateur peut être utilisé comme stratégie swing sur les matières premières.

Les prévisions de prix publiées par la Banque mondiale peuvent être consultées ici.

World Bank commodities price forecasts.  

Cet exemple montre les prévisions de prix pour les sources d’énergie pétrole, charbon et gaz naturel. Ces prévisions sont des estimations de prix moyens pour l’année. Le prix du pétrole pour 2017 est actuellement (Q4 2016) estimé à $ 55,20.

 

Calcul du prix moyen

Le calcul du prix moyen est essentiel. Ci-dessous vous trouverez un exemple qui illustre la formule utilisée pour calculer le prix moyen. Si vous ne souhaitez pas calculer le prix moyen vous-même, vous pouvez utiliser ce tableau. Le tableau varie tous les jours. Cependant, les changements sont minimes. Il n’est pas nécessaire de changer quotidiennement les prix moyens sur votre plateforme.


La formule pour calculer, par exemple, le prix moyen du pétrole le 7.12.2016 ($ 48,48) est la suivante: 

1. Calculez la différence entre les prévisions de la Banque mondiale pour 2016 et 2017.
Pétrole = $ 55,2 - $ 43,3 = $ 11,9

2. Calculez le nombre de jours qui courent entre la date du jour et le milieu de 2017 (1.7.2017)
De 7.12.2016 à 1.7.2017 = 206 jours. 206/365 = facteur date 0,564

3. Delta = $ 11,9 x 0,564 = $ 6,72

4. Prix moyen = Prévision Banque mondiale 2017 - Delta = $ 55,2 - $ 6,72 = $ 48,48

 

Comment utiliser cet outil ?

Un signal se déclenche lorsque le prix du marché sort du canal de prix. Si le prix du marché passe en dessous du canal, c'est un signal d’achat. Les traders ne doivent réagir aux signaux d'achat que si la prévision de la Banque Mondiale est supérieure au prix moyen. Si le prix du marché passe au-dessus du canal de prix, c'est un signal de vente à découvert. Les traders ne doivent réagir aux signaux de vente que si la prévision de la Banque Mondiale est inférieure au prix moyen.

Commodities (oil, gold, silver ...) used to trade commodities based on World Bank forecasts.  

Cet exemple est basé sur le prix moyen pour le pétrole de $ 48,48 (ligne bleue). La prévision de la Banque mondiale est de $ 55,50. Le trader s’intéresse aux signaux d’achat. Le canal est à $ 48,48 +/- $ 5. Le seuil inférieur du canal est à $ 44,25. Quand le prix tombe sous ce niveau, une position est achetée. Il y a deux signaux d’achat.

 

Les paramètres

Le paramètres sont simples. Ils sont, comme toujours, définis dans la Barre de Personnalisation.

Free trading strategies for commodities (oil, silver, gold, wheat ...).  

Cet exemple montre les paramètres pour le pétrole. Le prix moyen actuel est de $ 48,48. La largeur du canal est égal au prix moyen +/- $ 5. La prévision de la Banque mondiale pour 2017 ($ 55,20) est au-dessus du prix moyen ($48,80), le trader ne souhaite que des signaux d’achat.



Average price: le prix moyen de la stratégie.

Differential_points: la largeur du canal est fixée à environ 10%.

Long_signals: sélectionnez "oui" ou "non" pour indiquer si vous voulez des signaux d’achat ou non.

Short_sell_signals: sélectionnez "oui" ou "non" pour indiquer si vous voulez des signaux de vente à découvert ou non.

Ne choisissez toujours qu’une seule des deux possibilités. Des alertes peuvent être programmées (e-mail, alerte sonore ou pop-up).