Trading strategie: Open Trade

Description

Open Trade is a fairly simple strategy. The strategy determines its trade entry and exit points on the basis of price levels reached during the first market hour. Numerous authors such as Raschke, Monmoine ... develop trading strategies based on the same concept in their books.

The Open Trade strategy can be applied in the morning after the European markets have opened and again in the afternoon after the US markets have opened. The strategy thus allows either one or two trades per day per index. Open positions are always closed the same day. Positions are never kept overnight.

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : Low - 1 or 2 trades per day

 

The strategy in detail

When to open a position?

The price movement during the first hour can be an indication of the market’s strength or lack thereof. Significant are the highest and lowest price levels reached during the first 40 minutes. The highest and lowest price result in a price range. The price range from 9h00 to 9h40 is key for those market indices which start trading at 9h00. When the market breaks out of its price range traders open a position. Positions are either opened manually or automated. The trader can modify the time range and select how he will be notified. He can choose between MessageBox, PlaySound and SendEmail alerts.

Free trading strategy: open trade.  

This example shows two thin lines (green and red) following the market price for the first 40 minutes. At 9h40 the highest and lowest prices become the entry level for a potential trade. They are represented by the thick red and green lines. In this example the market price breaks through the green line first (at about 12h40). This is a buy signal. A position is bought.

When to close a position?

The Open Trade strategy relies on a price target and a stop. Price target and stop are placed at the same distance from the entry point. Professional investors often calculate these exit points as a statistically significant multiple of the ATR (average true range). The ATR reflects the intrinsic volatility of a financial instrument. Each financial instrument has a different ATR. The ATR is not constant, it evolves over time. The exit points are calculated basis on a multiple of the ATR and are automatically displayed in the trading platform.

Open trade: a trading strategy based on the open prices of the market.  

Targets and stops are indicated by the thin green and light red lines above and below the entry price line. In this particular example a position was bought when the market price hit the buy level. Some time later the market price reached the target line and the position was closed with a profit.

 

Open trade: a trading strategy based on the open prices of the market.  

In this example the market price hits the buy level. A position was opened. The market does not continue to rise but goes down and the stop is hit. This position is closed with a loss.


Attention. About 10% of the time an open position will neither reach its target nor its stop. The market is directionless and stays within the range. In this case an open position is closed at the market price at 13h00 precisely.

Applying the strategy in the afternoon?

The Open Trade strategy can be applied a second time in the afternoon after the US markets open. The opening of the US markets will often lead to increased volatility in the European markets. It is not rare for the European markets to change their trend after the US markets open.

 

Conclusion

The Open Trade strategy is clearly a day trading strategy. Numerous books on trading explore similar strategies based on price levels reached during the first market hour. The strategy is suitable for market indices and can be applied twice a day. Once after the European markets open and once after the US markets open.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Open Trade".

  • The parameters are set for a trade in the morning. Change these parameters when you want to
    apply the strategy in the afternoon:

    Start : 15,30
    Start_Trading : 16,09
    End_Trading : 19,00

    Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Open Trade

Description

Open Trade est une stratégie relativement simple. Cette stratégie se base sur l’évolution des cours pendant la première heure de trading pour déterminer son point d’entrée. Différents auteurs comme Raschke et Monmoine abordent en profondeur des variantes de cette stratégie dans leurs livres.

Une stratégie Open Trade peut être appliquée à l’ouverture des marchés en Europe et éventuellement une deuxième fois, plus tard dans la journée, quand les marchés américains débutent. Les positions sont toujours clôturées le jour même. Avec la stratégie Open Trade, il est donc possible de trader une ou deux fois sur le même indice par jour.

 

  
Valable pour : Indices (CAC, DAX, AEX ...)
Instruments : Futures et CFD
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : Faible - 1 ou 2 trades par jour au choix
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Statistiquement parlant, un indice boursier va donner une première impression de sa force haussière ou baissière dans les 40 premières minutes après son ouverture officielle. Ce qui nous intéresse sont les plus hauts et plus bas atteints pendant cette période.

Le cours le plus haut et le plus bas de ces 40 minutes constituent ainsi une fourchette. Pour le CAC, DAX, AEX... qui ouvrent à 9h00, il s’agit donc d’une fourchette de prix entre 9h00 et 9h40. Si le cours casse cette fourchette de prix, une position est prise. Les positions peuvent être ouvertes manuellement ou en mode automatique. Le trader peut modifier l’intervalle de temps et choisir le mode de notification. Il peut choisir de recevoir un message sur la plateforme, une alerte sonore ou encore un e-mail.

Stratégie de trading gratuite : Open Trade.  

Dans cet exemple les deux petites lignes en pointillés (verte et rouge) suivent le cours le plus haut des 40 premières minutes. A 9h40 ces lignes en pointillés deviennent des lignes continues. Ce sont alors les niveaux d’entrée pour un trade potentiel. Dans l’exemple, le cours casse d’abord la ligne verte (vers 12h45). Il y a donc un achat.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Open Trade fonctionne avec un objectif et un stop loss. Ces 2 niveaux sont placés à distance égale du prix d’entrée. Les professionnels basent souvent leur objectif et leur stop sur un multiple de l’ATR (Average True Range). Open Trade utilise également l'ATR, qui donne la volatilité intrinsèque d’un instrument financier. Les niveaux de sorties sont calculés sur la base d’un multiple de l’ATR et sont affichés automatiquement dans la plateforme.

Stratégie de trading basée sur les prix d'ouverture du marché.  

Les stops et objectifs sont matérialisés par de fines lignes, verte et rouge, placés au-dessus et en dessous des niveaux d’entrée. Dans cet exemple, une position longue est prise lorsque le marché atteint le niveau d’achat. La position atteint ensuite son objectif et est clôturée.

 

Stratégies de trading gratuites.  

Dans cet exemple une position longue est prise lorsque le marché croise la ligne d’entrée à la hausse . Le marché ne poursuit pas sa hausse, mais repart à la baisse . Le stop est touché et la position est clôturée avec une perte.

Attention. Dans environ 10% des cas il se peut que ni l’objectif, ni le stop ne soit touché. Le marché est alors sans tendance. Dans ce cas, la position est tout simplement clôturée avec un ordre au marché à 13h00.

Appliquer la strategie l’après-midi ?

La stratégie Open Trade peut aussi être appliquée une deuxième fois, l’après-midi, à l'ouverture des marchés américians. L’ouverture des marchés américains dynamise souvent les marchés européens. L’ouverture des marchés américains peut aussi être à l’origine d’un retournement de la tendance de la journée.

Dans l’après-midi, les niveaux d'entrée sont déterminés dans l'intervalle entre 15h30 et 16h10. Lorsque ni l’objectif, ni le stop n'est atteint, la sortie s’effectue avec un ordre au marché à 19h00.

Conclusion

La stratégie Open Trade est clairement une stratégie de day trading. Dans beaucoup de livres de trading on retrouve plusieurs variantes de cette stratégie. Cette stratégie convient pour les indices. Elle peut être appliquée deux fois par jours. Une fois à l’ouverture des marchés en Europe et une fois lors de l’ouverture des marchés américains.

Application pratique

Dans NanoTrader Full, suivez ces étapes :
  • Choisissez l’instrument que vous souhaitez trader
  • Ouvriez un graphique avec l’étude modèle « WHS Open Trade ».
  • Les paramètres sont configurés pour un trade le matin. Changez ces paramètres si vous souhaitez appliquer la stratégie l’après-midi :

    Début : 15,30
    Début_Trading : : 16,09
    Fin_Trading : : 19,00


  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.