Trading strategie: Centre of Gravity - Belkhayate

Description

The Centre of Gravity (COG) strategy is based on the premise that the market prices evolves around a "centre of gravity". When the market price deviates strongly from this centre of gravity the probability is considered high that the market price will evolve back towards the centre of gravity.

This trading strategy is also called the Belkhayate COG strategy. E.M. Belkayate is a technical analyst and the inventor of the strategy. The COG strategy is popular in France. In 2009 it was awarded the golden trophy during the technical analysis fair in Paris.

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Commodities (oil, gold …)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : Low - 3 to 4 signals per month
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or automated Video

 

The strategy in detail

When to open a position?

A position is opened when the real market price deviates significantly from the centre of gravity of the market price. Belkhayate calculates the centre of gravity on the basis of a 4-hour chart and visualizes it as a single line (blue in the below screenshot). Belkhayate also calculates three bands each above and below the centre of gravity line. These bands are calculated on the basis of statistically significant values and Fibonacci numbers.


When the market price enters the third band it is considered as a significant deviation from the centre of gravity. Belkhayate argues that the probability of the market price evolving back towards the centre of gravity is 90%. When the market price deviates into the upper, red band the trader opens a short position based. He expects the market to go down, towards the gravity line. When the market price deviates into the lower, green band the trader opens a long position. He expects the market to rise, towards the gravity line.

Attention. Positions are only opened in the direction of the trend. To determine the trend simply use the gravity line itself. If the gravity line slopes upward the trend is bullish and only buy signals are acted upon. If the gravity line slopes downward the trend is bearish and only short sell signals are acted upon.

Attention. Belkhayate limits himself to stating that a position can be opened when the market price enters the third band. A trader requires a more precise rule to base his decision to open a position on. One suggestion is to only open a position only after the first candle closes within the third band.

 

This example shows three candles which penetrate the third band. Only the third candle actually closes within the third band. The position is opened at the opening price of the next, new candle.

An alternative for the even more prudent trader is to open the position only when the market price hits the outer edge of the third band.

Attention. The COG bands are dynamic. They are not static. The centre of gravity line and its related bands change based on the current market price. It is entirely possible that a signal located in the third band today, visually, no longer lies in the third band tomorrow. Given the dynamic nature of the bands it is not possible to back-test this strategy.

When to close a position?

In order to close a position traders can rely on Belkhayate’s COG timing indicator. This indicator is an oscillator which oscillates through three zones: the neutral zone in the middle, the exit zones and the alarm zones. In the neutral zone nothing happens. In the exit zones positions can be closed. The alarm zones can correspond with entry signals.

The COG Timing indicator gives the impression that the full potential of a trade is not exploited. As a stop the indicator also appears less suitable. Traders could use one of two alternatives: the ATR or the Slow Stochastics. In practice the Slow Stochastics probably enjoy a slight preference as a combination with the COG strategy.

Alternative 1: Target price and stop can be determined on the basis the ATR (average true range). Traders should respect a return-risk ratio of 2 or more when determining their target and stop. If the target is 2x ATR then the maximum stop can be 1x ATR.

Alternative 2: A Slow Stochastics cross can also be used to close positions. An exit based on a stochastics cross is simple in that it does not require a target and a stop. A short position is closed when the fast stochastic crosses the slow stochastic upwards. A long position is closed when the fast stochastic crosses the slow stochastic downwards.

 

In this screenshot a short position (-1) is opened when the market price deviates into the third, upper band. The position is closed when the fast stochastic crosses the slow stochastic upwards.

 

Conclusion

The Centre of Gravity strategy is precise regarding entry signals. The exit rules are a bit more vague. The trader can remedy this himself by using, for example, the Slow Stochastics. The COG strategy generates only about 4 signals per month per instrument. But given that the strategy can be applied to all indices, forex pairs, commodities ... traders can work with a wide range of instruments to make up for the infrequent signals.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the study "WHS Belkhayate COG".

  • The strategy is set-up for position exits based on the Slow Stochastics.

Strategie de trading : Centre of Gravity - Belkhayate

Description

La stratégie Centre de Gravité (COG) part du principe que les cours évoluent autour d’un centre de gravité. Si le cours s’éloigne de ce centre, la probabilité d’un retour du cours vers ce centre de gravité est grande.

Cette stratégie est également nommée stratégie Belkhayate COG. E.M. Belkayate est un analyste technique et le père spirituel de cette stratégie de trading. La stratégie COG bénéficie d’une forte popularité en France. En 2009, cette stratégie a été couronnée du Trophée d’Or du Salon de l’Analyse Technique à Paris. Les paramètres les plus importants de la stratégie sont les suivants :

 

  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (CAC, DAX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Matières  Premières (pétrole, or…)
Instruments : Futures et CFD
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : Faible - 3 à 4 signaux par semaine
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Une position est ouverte lorsque le cours s’éloigne du centre de gravité de la courbe. Pour visualiser cela, Belkhayate calcule le centre de gravité dynamique du cours actuel sur la base d’un graphique en 4 heures. Six parallèles, calculées sur base de valeurs statiques, sont dessinées autour de cette ligne de gravité. Trois de ces parallèles sont au-dessus du point de gravité et trois sont en-dessous. Cela signifie dans la pratique, que trois bandes vont apparaître au-dessus et en-dessous de la ligne de gravité.


Lorsque le cours arrive dans la troisième bande, il dévie fortement du centre de gravité. Selon Belkhayate, la probabilité d’un retour du cours vers le centre de gravité dynamique est supérieur à 90%. Lorsque le cours dévie au-dessus de la ligne de gravité, le trader ouvrira une position short. Le cours retombera vers le centre de gravité. Si le cours s’éloigne en-dessous de la ligne de gravité, il est temps de prendre une position longue. Le cours remontera vers le centre de gravité.

Attention. Les positions sont ouvertes uniquement selon la tendance. La tendance est la ligne qui reflète le centre de gravité dynamique. Lorsque celle-ci est ascendante, il ne sera réagit qu’aux signaux d’achat. Lorsque le centre de gravité baisse, seuls les signaux de vente seront pris en compte.

Belkhayate se limite à dire que l’on doit entrer en position lorsque le cours évolue vers la troisième bande. C’est une affirmation d’ordre plutôt général. Il est utile de déterminer une règle d’entrée claire. Une suggestion est de n’ouvrir une position que lorsque la première bougie clôture à l’intérieur de la troisième bande.

 

Dans cet exemple, nous voyons que deux bougies pénètrent la troisième bande. Toutefois, seule la dernière bougie clôture aussi à l’intérieur de cette troisième bande. Ce n’est qu’à ce moment-là que la position sera ouverte, au cours d’ouverture de la bougie suivante.

Une alternative pour le trader très prudent est de n’ouvrir une position que lorsque le cours touche la ligne externe de la troisième bande.

Attention. Les bandes COG sont dynamiques et non statiques. Les bandes évoluent donc en fonction du cours. Un signal qui était à l’intérieur de la troisième bande hier peut très bien se situer en dehors de cette bande aujourd’hui. Voir l’exemple ci-dessous. Remarquez également que les bandes sont dynamiques, il n’est donc pas possible de backtester cette stratégie.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Pour clôturer une position Belkayate prévoit un indicateur COG Timing. Cet indicateur est un oscillateur qui évolue entre trois zones. La zone neutre (au milieu), les zones de sortie et les zones d’alerte. La zone neutre est une zone sans événement. Dans les zones de sortie, les positions peuvent être clôturées. Les zones d’alerte peuvent coïncider avec les signaux d’entrée.

L’indicateur COG Timing donne l’impression qu’il n’exploite pas tout le potentiel d’une position. Même en tant que stop, il semble moins bien adapté. Il y a deux alternatives: l’ATR ou le Slow Stochastics. Dans la pratique, le Slow Stochastics aura un léger avantage sur l’ATR.

Alternative 1 : L’objectif et le stop peuvent être déterminés grace à l’ATR (average true range). Essayez de garder un ratio gain-risque de 2 ou plus. Si l’objectif est de 2 ATR, le stop sera d’1 ATR maximum.

Alternative 2 : Une autre possibilité est d’utiliser le Slow Stochastics pour la sortie de position. Lorsque les lignes de stochastics se croisent, la position peut être clôturée. Cette technique est plus simple, car il n’y a pas d’objectif ou de stop. Ce qui compte, c’est le croisement entre les stochastics lent et rapide. Pour être exact: une position short sera clôturée lorsque le stochastic rapide croise le stochastic lent à la hausse ; une position longue sera clôturée lorsque le stochastic rapide croisera le stochastic lent à la baisse.

   

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Belkhayate COG est très claire quand il s’agit d’entrer en position. La détermination d’un point de sortie est cependant plus vague. Le trader peut néanmoins résoudre ce problème en utilisant le Slow Stochastics. Etant donné qu’il n’y a que 3 ou 4 signaux par mois pour chaque instrument financier, il est peut-être intéressant de travailler avec plusieurs instruments financiers en parallèle. Le gros avantage de la stratégie COG est qu’elle peut être adaptée aux indices boursiers, au forex, aux matières premières...

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Belkhayate COG".

  • La stratégie est paramétrée pour une sortie basée sur le Slow Stochastics..

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.