Trading strategie: Dynamic RSI

Description

The Dynamic RSI strategy is used for swing trading on market indices and shares. It is a strategy which gives relatively few signals. Traders who apply this strategy tend to work with a large range of indices and shares. The strategy was developed by a Dutch analist.

Given the limited number of signals and the ensueing need for investors to work with a large range of instruments, it is advisable to use WHS TechScan. The WHS TechScan module (present in all WHS trading platforms) scans all shares and indices on a daily basis and, amongst others, identifies Dynamic RSI buy and sell signals.

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Shares
Instruments : Futures, CFDs and Forex
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : Low - 1 signal per month
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or automated

 

The strategy in detail

When to open a position?

The classic RSI, as developed by Welles Wilder, is an oscillator. An oscillator measures the speed and the strength of price movements. If a price movement is of sufficient strength and speed, the RSI will evolve above or below one of two crucial levels. These levels indicate the overbought and the oversold zones. When the market price has evolved in such a way that the RSI is in one of these zones, traders consider the probability high that a price movement in the opposite direction will start.

There are two issues with Welles Wilder’s classic RSI. Firstly, the indicator does not take into account the intrinsic volatility of a financial instrument. Secondly, the overbought and oversold levels are static (i.e. they have a fixed value) and are identical for each financial instrument. The Dynamic RSI solves these issues by introducing dynamic overbought and oversold levels. These dynamic levels adapt to the instrument and the market’s evolution.

 

This screenshot clearly shows the difference between the classic RSI with fixed overbought and oversold levels and the Dynamic RSI with variable overbought and oversold levels.


When the Dynamic RSI indicator line crosses the lower band an instrument is considered "oversold". In this case a price rise may occur. When the Dynamic RSI indicator crosses the upper band an instrument is considered "overbought". A price drop may occur. Positions are not opened immediately when the levels are crossed. Positions are only opened when the Dynamic RSI has crossed back into the middle zone.

 

This screenshot shows a total of five signals. Two short sell signals (1 and 4) and three buy signals (2,3 and 5). Positions are only opened when the Dynamic RSI indicator re-enters the middle zone. The circles indicate these entry points.


Attention. Some traders apply a trend filter to the Dynamic RSI signals. When the trend is positive (bullish) only buy signals are valid. When the trend is negative (bearish), only short sell signals are valid. In order to determine the trend they will often use a 3 Line Break chart and/or the SuperTrend indicator.

 

A 3 Line Break chart is a chart which only displays relevant price movements. Since it does not display all price movements its time axis is discontinuous. The 3 Line Break chart is a good trend indicator. In this screenshot the trend is currently positive. Only buy signals are valid.


 

The SuperTrend indicator developed by O. Seban is equally helpful to visualize the trend. When the stop line lies below the market price the trend is positive. When the stop line moves above the market price the trend is negative. In this screenshot the trend is currently positive. Only buy signals are valid.

When to close a position?

As is often the case with strategies developed by analysts the focus is on the entry. Only limited information is provided about the exit of a position. The trader can solve the exit issue himself. In this case target and stop can be determined on the basis of the daily ATR (average true range). For example a target of 2x ATR and a stop of 1x ATR would result in an acceptable return/risk of 2.

 

Conclusion

The Dynamic RSI strategy brings to live the classic RSI indicator developed by J. Welles Wilder. Due to the limited number of signals per instrument investors need to work with a large range of shares and market indices. A scanner, like WHS TechScan, makes work light.

Practical implementation

  • In WHS TechScan:

    Open WHS TechScan.

    The section "Trading Strategies" contains all Dynamic RSI signals on shares.


    In the left margin click "Indexes" or "Currencies" to get Dynamic RSI signals on these instruments.

  • In NanoTrader Full follow these steps: Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

    Open a chart with the study "WHS Dynamic RSI".

    The strategy is set-up for position exits based on the Slow Stochastics.

Strategie de trading : Dynamic RSI

Description

La stratégie Dynamic RSI est utilisée pour du swing trading sur les indices boursiers et les actions. Il s’agit d’une stratégie qui donne relativement peu de signaux. Ceux qui souhaitent l’appliquer peuvent donc travailler sur une large gamme d’indices boursiers et d’actions. Le Dynamic RSI a été développé par un analyste néerlandais.

Etant donné que les signaux sont assez rares et que la stratégie peut s’appliquer sur un large évantail d’indices et d’actions, il est recommandé de détecter les signaux avec WHS TechScan. L’outil WHS TechScan scanne tous les jours l’ensemble des actions et des indices boursiers sur une vingtaine de bourses et recherche les signaux d’achat ou de vente fournis par le Dynamic RSI. Les paramètres les plus importants de la stratégie sont :

 

  
Valable pour : Indices boursiers (CAC, DAX, AEX ...)
: Matières premières (olie, goud ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, Forex et CFDs
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : Bas - 1 signal par mois
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Le RSI classique, développé par W. Wilder, est un oscillateur. Un oscillateur mesure la vitesse et la force des mouvements de cours. Si un mouvement du cours est extrêmement rapide et puissant, alors le RSI montera (descendra) jusqu’à un certain seuil. Ces différents seuils sont connus sous le nom de zone de surachat (acheté trop agressivement) et de zone de survente (vendu trop agressivement). Lorsque le cours évolue rapidement et avec force dans une direction, les traders s’attendent à une probabilité plus élevée de mouvement dans le sens opposé. 

Le RSI classique a deux inconvénients. Premièrement, l'indicateur ne tient pas compte de la volatilité intrinsèque. Deuxièmement, les seuils de surachat et de survente sont statistiques (c-à-d que les seuils sont identiques pour chaque instrument financier). Le Dynamic RSI résout ce problème en mettant en place un seuil de surachat et un seuil de survente qui sont tous deux dynamiques.

Dans la capture d’écran ci-dessous, vous pouvez voir clairement la différence entre le RSI classique avec ses seuils fixes et le RSI dynamique avec ses seuils dynamiques. 

 

 


Lorsque le RSI Dynamic descend sous le seuil inférieur, l’instrument est survendu. La probabilité pour une augmentation du cours est forte. Si le RSI Dynamic monte au-dessus du seuil supérieur, l’instrument entre dans une zone de surachat et nous nous attendons à une baisse du cours. Précisons que la prise de position n’est pas instantanée. Ce n’est que lorsque le RSI repassera sous le seuil supérieur ou lorsque le RSI repassera au-dessus du seuil inférieur que la position sera prise.

 

Cette capture d’écran montre 2 signaux de vente et 3 signaux d’achat. La position n’est prise que lorsque le RSI Dynamic repasse à travers le seuil qu’il a précédemment croisé.


Attention. Certains traders filtrent les signaux du RSI Dynamic. Ils ne prennent en compte que les signaux qui vont dans le même sens que la tendance (les signaux d’achats lorsque le marché est haussier, les signaux de vente lorsque le marché est baissier). Pour déterminer la tendance, ils utilisent souvent un graphique en Coupure Trois Lignes et/ou l’indicateur WHS SuperTrend.

Le graphique en Coupure Trois Lignes est un graphique unique qui représente les fluctuations importantes. C’est la raison pour laquelle l’axe du temps n’est pas continu. Le graphique en Coupure Trois Lignes est un bon outil pour déterminer la tendance.

 

Dans la capture d’écran ci-dessous, la tendance est haussière. Seuls les signaux d’achat seront pris en compte.



L’indicateur WHS SuperTrend est également un bon outil pour visualiser la tendance. Si le cours se situe au-dessus de la ligne du SuperTrend alors la tendance est haussière. Si le cours est en-dessous de la ligne du Supertrend alors la tendance est baissière.

 

Dans cette capture d’écran, la tendance est à la hausse. Seuls les signaux d’achat seront pris en compte.

Quand clôturer une position?

Comme dans beaucoup de stratégies conçues par des analystes, il n’y a souvent aucunes informations sur la manière de placer les ordres limite et stop qui encadreront la position. Dans ce cas de figure, le mieux est de se baser sur l’indicateur ATR (Average True Range). Par exemple, placez votre ordre limite à 2x ATR et votre ordre stop à 1,5x ATR.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Dynamic RSI apporte au RSI classique de J. Welles Wilder plus de "coffre". En raison du nombre limité de signaux par instrument, nous devons travailler sur de nombreux indices et actions. Un scanner est dans ce cas la solution la plus pratique. WHS TechScan convient ici parfaitement pour trouver les signaux du Dynamic RSI.

Application pratique

  • avec WHS TechScan

    Ouvrez WHS TechScan.

    Dans la section Stratégies de Trading, vous retrouvez les signaux pour les actions.


    Cliquez dans la marge de gauche sur "Indices" ou "Devises" pour trouver les signaux sur
    ces instruments.

  • avec NanoTrader Full

    Choisissez l’instrument financier sur lequel vous voulez trader.

    Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude modèle "WHS Dynamic RSI".

    Si vous souhaitez filtrer les signaux : ajoutez le SuperTrend.

    Si vous souhaitez travailler avec l’ATR pour clôturer la position : ajoutez un clic stop et un clic target. Choisissez l’ATR comme unité pour les ordres brackets.

    Trader semi-automatiquement ou automatiquement ? Activez simplement la fonction
    TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.