Trading strategy: Divergence Aroon-Market

Description

Divergences are an interesting area in technical analysis. Divergences appear when the market price moves in one direction but the indicators point in the opposite direction. At that point in time the market movement is not in accordance with the underlying forces.

In the case of a significant divergence a market might run out of steam and change direction. A divergence signal is therefore a contrarian or anti-cyclical signal. Indicators that oscillate around a zero line as well as indicators based on moving averages can be used for detecting divergences. This strategy, proposed by German trading author Claus Grube, however, makes use of a special indicator, the Aroon Oscillator.

 

  
Suitable for : Any market index (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : 1-4 Trades per week
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The strategy uses the following building blocks:
Aroon Indicator
Aroon Oscillator
Aroon Oscillator Divergence

The Aroon indicator - Aroon means "Morning dawn" in Sanskrit - was published by Tushar Chande in 1995. It is a very well designed indicator that indicates the amount of time that has passed since the period's high or low has occurred. Tushar Chande is a well known scientist, market analyst, and author of several trading books including "Beyond Technical Analysis". He has developed a variety of intelligent indicators. The Aroon Indicator consists of AroonUp and AroonDown. How both are calculated can be found on numerous web sites. It is less relevant in the framework of this divergence strategy. It is suffices to say  that when AroonDown is high the low market price has happened recently and when AroonUp is low the high market price has happened a while ago.

This screenshot shows AroonUp and AroonDown on a 15-minute Eurostoxx 50 market index chart.

The Aroon Oscillator is a line which oscillates around a zero line. It is derived by subtracting AroonDown from AroonUp. When AroonDown is high (the low has happened recently) and AroonUp is low (the high has happened a while ago) we get, for example, a result below zero.

In this screenshot the Aroon Oscillator is currently low. This means a low has happened recently and a high has happened a longer time ago.

The Aroon Oscillator Divergence detects whether the Aroon has run in the same direction as the market price recently. When it has run differently, we have a divergence! When there is no market trend or the Aroon runs parallel to the market its value is around 50. At 75 there is a divergence with the Aroon Oscillator rising and the market falling. At 25 there is also a divergence with the Aroon Oscillator falling and the market rising.

When to open a position?

Aroon Oscillator Divergence = 50. No trading signal. Market and indicators are in sync.
Aroon Oscillator Divergence = 75. Buy signal. Market down but indicator up.
Aroon Oscillator Divergence = 25. Short sell signal. Market up but indicator down.

 

In this screenshot we see the market price. Below the market the Aroon Oscillator Divergence is shown. The current value is 50 which implies that there is no divergence between market and indicator.

On 29 October at around 16h00, for example, the Aroon Oscillator Divergence is at 25. This indicates a divergence. The market is rising (or rather, the market price is above the price from one day ago) but Aroon Oscillator is below the value of the day before. This could result in a trend change as the market rise is not supported by the indicator.

When to close a position?

In this basic version of the strategy there is always an open position, either long or short. So a position is closed when the next signal appears. The basic strategy with these parameters produces a signal every day or every other day. It runs nicely with the market flow. These parameters are calculated on a 1-day Aroon (56 quarters of an hour) in the Eurostoxx 15-minute chart. The first look back point is a day back, the second is two days back.

 

In this screenshot a first divergence occurs on 31 March. The market is falling but the Aroon Oscillator is rising. Hence the divergence is at 75. This is a buy signal. On 6 April, however, the opposite divergence, 25, occurs. The market is rising but the Aroon Oscillator is falling. The long position is closed and a short position is opened.


 

This screenshot shows the result of the strategy applied on the Eurostoxx 50 market index since 2006. The result is astonishingly good. Note, however, that the bulk of the profit was realized between late 2007 and early 2009. Outside this period results are less impressive. This illustrates that strategies do not work efficiently all the time. Strategies need frequent adapting to market circumstances (changes in volatility, volume, speed...). Hence it is important to experiment and adapt a strategy and its parameters.

Adding filters and stops

Results may be enhanced or smoothened with trend and/or volatility filters. Profit-targets and stops may be used as well.

In this screenshot a special trend filter* based on an MACD concept and a trailing stop of 200 points on the Eurostoxx 50 have been added. As a result the equity curve has less overall profit but benefits from smaller draw downs. The hit ratio is a respectable 66,6% with an average of one trade per week.

 

 

 

 

* See trading strategy TrendPlus for details on this trend filter.

 

 

Conclusion

The impression is that Claus Grube’s strategy, like so many others, seems to work best in times of strong trend and high volatility. For situations with low volatility, such as after October 2008, Grube proposes adaptions as well as shortening the period length on which the Aroon is calculated and reducing the look-back periods. Divergence is definitely an interesting concept in trading worth exploring. The Aroon-Market Divergence strategy is one way to do this.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Ichimoku KBO".

  • Change the time frame to 1 week if you prefer it to 1 day.

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Divergence Aroon-Market

Description

Les divergences sont un domaine intéressant de l’analyse technique. Une divergence apparaît lorsque les cours vont dans une direction alors que les indicateurs montrent la direction opposée. Le mouvement du marché n’est alors pas conforme aux forces sous-jacentes.

Dans le cas d’une divergence, un mouvement sur le marché pourrait perdre de vitesse et changer de direction. Un signal de divergence est ainsi un signal contradictoire ou anticyclique. Les indicateurs oscillant autour d’une ligne zéro, ainsi que les indicateurs basés sur les moyennes mobiles peuvent être utilisés pour la détection de divergences. La stratégie proposée par l’auteur et trader allemand, Claus Grube, utilise cependant un indicateur spécial : l’Oscillateur Aroon.

 

  
Valable pour : Tous les indices de marché (CAC, DAX ...)
Instruments : Futures et CFDs
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 à 4 trades par semaine
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie se base sur les composants suivants:
Aroon Indicator
Aroon Oscillator
Aroon Oscillator Divergence

Aroon - Aroon signifie "Premières lueurs de l’aurore" en Sanskrit. Cet indicateur a été publié par Tushar Chande en 1995. Il s’agit d’un indicateur très bien écrit, qui affiche le temps écoulé depuis le plus haut ou le plus bas de la période. Tushar Chande est un scientifique renommé, analyste et auteur de plusieurs ouvrages sur le trading dont "Beyond Technical Analysis". Il a développé un grand nombre d’indicateurs très intelligents. L’indicateur Aroon est constitué de deux courbes: AroonUp et AroonDown. La formule de ces deux courbes peut être retrouvée sur de nombreux sites, mais cela n’est pas pertinent dans le cadre de cette stratégie de divergence. Il est suffisant d’indiquer que lorsque la courbe AroonDown est élevée, le marché était au plus bas récemment et lorsque la courbe AroonUp est basse le plus haut a été été atteint depuis un certain temps.

Cette capture d’écran montre les courbes AroonUp et AroonDown sur un graphique 15 minutes de l’indice Eurostoxx 50.

L’indicateur Aroon Oscillator est une ligne oscillant autour d’une ligne zéro. Elle est calculée en soustrayant AroonDown d’AroonUp. Lorsque AroonDown est élevé (le marché était au plus bas récemment) et AroonUp est bas (le plus haut a été été atteint depuis un certain temps) on obtiendra, par exemple, un résultat en-dessous de zéro.

Dans cette capture d'écran, l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator est actuellement bas. Cela signifie que le point le plus bas est récent et que le point le plus haut n’a pas été dépassé depuis plus longtemps.

L'indicateur Aroon Oscillator Divergence détecte si l’indicateur Aroon a suivi la même direction que le marché récemment. Dans le cas inverse, il y a divergence! Lorsqu’il n’y a pas de tendance ou lorsque l’indicateur Aroon est parallèle au marché sa valeur est autour de 50. A 75 il y a divergence et l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator est ascendant, alors que le marché est en baisse. A 25 il y a également divergence et l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator est en baisse alors que le marché est en hausse.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Aroon Oscillator Divergence = 50. Il n’y a pas de signal. Le marché et les indicateurs sont synchrones.
Aroon Oscillator Divergence = 75. Signal d’achat. Le marché est à la baisse mais l’indicateur est à la hausse.
Aroon Oscillator Divergence = 25. Signal de vente short. Le marché est à la hausse mais l’indicateur est à la baisse.

 

Dans cet exemple nous voyons les cours du marché, l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator Divergence et l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator en unité de temps 56 x 15 minutes (il y a 56 quarts d’heure dans une journée de trading sur le marché du contrat future Eurostoxx 50).

Le 29 octobre vers 16h00, par exemple, l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator Divergence est à 25. Cela indique une divergence. Le marché est à la hausse (ou plutôt, le cours est au-dessus du cours de la veille) mais l’Aroon Oscillator est en-dessous des valeurs de la veille. La conséquence pourrait être un inversement de tendance, car la hausse du marché n’est pas confirmée par l’indicateur.

Quand fermer une position ?

Dans cette version basique de la stratégie, une position est constamment ouverte, qu’elle soit longue ou short. Ainsi, une position est fermée lorsque le prochain signal apparaît. La stratégie de base avec ces paramètres produit un signal tous les jours ou tous les deux jours et suit bien le flux du marché. Ces paramètres sont calculés sur base d’un Aroon jour (56 quarts d’heure) sur un graphique de l’Eurostoxx en 15 minutes. La première rétrospective concerne la veille, la deuxième rétrospective vise deux jours avant.

 

Dans cet écran la première divergence apparaît le 31 mars. Le marché est en baisse mais l’Aroon Oscillator est à la hausse. De ce fait, la divergence est à 75. Il y a un signal d’achat. Le 6 avril cependant, une divergence inverse, à 25, apparaît. Le marché est à la hausse, mais l’indicateur Aroon Oscillator est en baisse. La position longue est fermée et une position short est ouverte.


 

Cet écran affiche les résultats de la stratégie appliquée à l’indice Eurostoxx 50 à partir de 2006, et ils sont étonnement bons. Notez cependant, que la majorité des bénéfices ont été réalisés entre fin 2007 et début 2009. En dehors de cette période, les résultats sont moins impressionnants. Ceci illustre le fait que les stratégies ne sont pas toujours efficaces. Les stratégies doivent fréquemment être adaptées aux circonstances du marché (changements de la volatilité, volume, vélocité...). De ce fait, il est important d’expérimenter et d’adapter une stratégie et ses paramètres.

Ajout de filtres et de stops

Les résultats peuvent être améliorés ou lissés avec des filtres de tendance et/ou de volatilité. Des stops et objectifs peuvent également être utilisés.

En utilisant un filtre basé sur un concept* MACD trend et un stop suiveur de 200 points sur l’Eurostoxx 50, la courbe des capitaux (l’Equity) affiche des bénéfices dans l’ensemble, et les pertes ponctuelles sont moins grandes. Le taux de succès est de 66,6%, avec un trade par semaine en moyenne.

 

 

 

 

* Consultez la stratégie de trading TrendPlus pour plus de détails sur ce filtre de tendance.

 

 

Conclusion

La stratégie de Claus Grube, comme tant d’autres, semble mieux fonctionner sur un marché directionnel et en temps de forte volatilité. Dans une situation de faible volatilité, comme c’était le cas après octobre 2008, Grube propose d’adapter et de raccourcir la période de calcul de l’indicateur Aroon et de réduire les périodes de rétrospective. Le concept de divergence est définitivement intéressant en matière de trading et vaut la peine d’être exploré. La stratégie Aroon-Market Divergence est une possibilité pour découvrir les divergences.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude WHS Aroon Divergence. Cette étude contient le filtre MACD
    et le stop traqueur suggérés par l'auteur et trader Allemand, Claus Grube.

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.