Trading strategy: Crossing TEMAs

Description

Crossing TEMAs is a trend following strategy. It can be used for swing trading and day trading. The strategy is based on exponential moving averages which are weighted three times. Hence the abbreviation TEMA (Triple Exponential Moving Average). TEMAs tend to indicate trend changes earlier than regular moving averages. The Crossing TEMAs strategy is proposed by the German trading author Claus Grube. According to the author results are promising in each market.

 

  
Suitable for : Any market index (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Day trading and Swing trading
Trading tempo : Medium to low depending on time frame
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

We describe the strategy here how it is used in swing trading. For day trading traders need to reduce the time frames.

 

This screenshot compares a regular moving average (green) and a TEMA (red). The TEMA tends to react earlier to trend changes.

When to open a position?

The signal to open a position is given by crossing TEMAs, a fast TEMA and a slow TEMA. The span of the slow TEMA needs to be a Fibonacci number. Author Claus Grube prefers a factor of x5. The fast TEMA is calculated on 56 quarters of an hour (1 day). The slow TEMA is calculated on 5x56x15' (5 days). In the case of low market volatility it is recommended to work with 1/2 day and 2 1/2 day TEMAs respectively.

When the fast TEMA crosses the slow TEMA upwards a long position is taken. The long position is reversed into a short position when the fast TEMA crosses the slow TEMA downwards. Hence, in theory, there is always an open position, either long or short.

 

This screenshot shows the two crossing TEMAs.


Author Claus Grube also proposes, as a variant, to use a signals filter. As a filter he uses long term TEMAs based on day charts. Several combinations of fast and slow TEMAs are proposed. For example, 13 & 21, 21 & 55 and 34 & 55. Adding a filter reduces the number of valid signals.

 

This screenshot shows two crossing TEMAs (56x15’ and 56x5x15’ i.e. 1 and 5 days). The signals given by these crosses are filtered with two long term crossing TEMAs. When the trend is bullish the background is colored green and only buy signals are valid. When the trend is bearish the background is colored red and only short sell signals are valid.

When to close a position?

Claus Grube recommends to not wait until the TEMAs cross again to close the position. In order to secure profits he works with a trailing stop. He uses a 30-point trailing stop for trading the Eurostoxx index. If you apply this strategy to another market index or financial instrument you need to adjust this value accordingly.

 

Conclusion

The Crossing TEMAs strategy was originally designed by author Claus Grube for trading the EuroStoxx 50 index. He is convinced, however, that the strategy can be applied with similar success to other market indices. As is the case with other trend following strategies, the Crossing TEMA strategy is less suitable for markets which are moving sideways.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Crossing TEMAs".

  • Note: The trading system available in the NanoTrader Full platform does not use the filter variant suggested by Claus Grube. The filter does give fewer trades but backtesting show that it also reduces profits. Traders can ad their own filter if they wish.

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de Trading : Crossing TEMAs

Description

Crossing TEMA est une stratégie qui suit la tendance. Elle peut être utilisée pour le swing trading et le day trading. La stratégie est basée sur les moyennes mobiles exponentielles qui sont pondérées 3 fois. D’où l’abréviation TEMA (Triple Exponential Moving Average : Triple Moyenne Mobile Exponentielle). Les TEMA tendent à indiquer les changements de direction avant les moyennes mobiles classiques. La stratégie des Crossing TEMA est proposée par l’auteur et trader allemand Claus Grube. Selon lui, les résultats sont prometteurs pour chaque marché.

 

  
Valable pour : Tous les indices de marché
Instruments : Futures et CFDs
Type de trading : Day trading et Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : Moyenne à faible selon l’unité de temps choisie
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Ci-dessous une description de la stratégie pour du swing trading. Pour le day trading il suffit de réduire l’unité de temps.

 

Cette copie d'écran compare une moyenne mobile classique et une TEMA. La TEMA tend à réagir avant les changements de tendance.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Les crossing TEMA, une TEMA rapide et une TEMA lente, donnent le signal pour ouvrir une position. L’envergure de la TEMA lente doit être un nombre Fibonacci. L’auteur Claus Grube choisit un facteur de multiplication x5. La TEMA rapide est calculée sur 56 quarts d’heure (56x15' = 1 jour). La TEMA lente est alors calculée sur 5x56x15' soit 5 jours. Dans le cas de volatilité faible dans les marchés il est utile d'experimenter avec des TEMA calculées sur les bases de 1/2 et 2 1/2 jours.

Lorsque la TEMA rapide croise la TEMA lente à la hausse, une position longue est déclenchée. La position longue est renversée en position short lorsque la TEMA rapide croise la TEMA lente à la baisse. De ce fait, en théorie, une position est toujours ouverte, soit longue soit short.

 

Cette copie d'écran montre les 2 crossing TEMA.


L’auteur Claus Grube propose aussi comme variante d’utiliser un filtre de signaux. Il utilise comme filtre une TEMA longue basée sur des graphiques jour. Plusieurs combinaisons de TEMA rapides et lentes  sont proposées: 13 & 21, 21 & 55 et 34 & 55. L’ajout d’un filtre réduit le nombre de signaux valables.

 

Cette copie d'écran montre 2 crossing TEMA (56x15’ et 5x56x15' soit 1 et 5 jours). Les signaux donnés par les croisements sont filtrés par d'autres TEMA lentes. Quand la tendance est haussière le fond est en vert et seuls les signaux d’achat sont valables. Lorsque la tendance est baissière le fond est en rouge et seuls les signaux de vente à découvert sont valables.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Claus Grube conseille de ne pas attendre que les TEMA se croisent à nouveau pour clôturer la position. Afin d’assurer le profit, il travaille avec un Stop suiveur. Sur l’indice Eurostoxx, il utilise un stop suiveur à 30 points. Si vous appliquez cette stratégie à un autre indice de marché ou un autre instrument financier, il vous faut ajuster cette valeur en fonction du contrat.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie des Crossing TEMA a été développée au départ par le trader Claus Grube pour le trading sur l’indice Eurostoxx 50. Il pense cependant que la stratégie peut tout à fait être appliquée à d’autres indices et donner de bons résultats. Comme toutes les stratégies qui suivent la tendance, l’efficacité est moindre dans des périodes de mouvements latéraux des marchés.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude modèle "WHS Crossing TEMAs". Attention: la variante disponible dans la plateforme NanoTrader Full n’utilise pas le filtre suggéré par Claus Grube. Le filtre donne moins de trades mais le backtesting montre que le profit est aussi moins important. Vous pouvez ajouter un ou plusieurs filtres.

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.