Trading strategy: Sinewave Market Cycles

Description

Engineer Dr. John Ehlers is an analyst who has a done a lot of research into market cycles. He is one of the first developers of a computerized trading system, called MESA. Dr. Ehlers elaborated on his theories in the 2006 book "Cybernetic analysis for Stocks and Futures". He shares the code of some of his interesting indicators. Author and trader Claus Grube has translated these into algorithms for NanoTrader Full.

One way of analyzing the market is to detect the cycle in which the market is periodically moving. Most of the times there are multiple cycles which overlap. It is difficult to detect these cycles so Ehlers concentrates on the market's main cycle. His favorite indicator is called Sinewave cyber. It calculates the "Dominant Cycle". Sinewave detects a kind of sinus waves in which the market runs up and down. There are no parameters to adjust in Sinewave. Its outcome will be different, however, depending on the time period used. Author Clause Grube works with a time aggregation of half a day (28x15') on the Eurostoxx 50 market index.

 

  
Suitable for : Any market index (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : 3-4 Trades per week
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or fully automated

 

The strategy in detail

Ehlers' Sinewave oscillates between -1 and +1. Signals are generated by a "predecessor" (the result of calculations is a sinus of a specific angle and the trigger is a sinus of this angle but 45 degrees earlier). It is interesting to note that both Sinewaves have been designed to not cross in trending times. Therefore we do not need a trend filter to avoid non-valid signals.

Ehlers has made use of the Hilbert transformation for markets. Ehlers assumes that the market moves in cycles most of the times. Exceptions are trend times. There is a dominant cycle, which can be detected. This cycle is calculated by Sinewave. The velocity and frequency of this cycle can change frequently. Sinewave's specialty, however, is to immediately adapt to velocity and frequency changes.

When to open a position?

When the Sinewaves cross a new position is opened and the existing position is closed. A long position is converted into a short position. A short position is converted into a long position. As a consequence there is always an open position.

 

In this screenshot of the Eurostoxx 50 market index the Sinewave crosses indicate the market cycles quite nicely. The Sinewave is set on a half day aggregation (28x15' i.e. 1/2 day).


 

In this screenshot, which has exactly the same settings as the previous screenshot, it is clear that it is also possible to have one or two cycle changes within a day.

When to close a position?

As explained above, when the Sinewaves cross a new position is opened and the existing position is closed.

 

Conclusion

The Sinewave market cycles strategy developed by Dr John Ehlers gives variable results. The results go from astonishing to bad. It is not a robust strategy but given the sometimes spectacular results it is worthy of further study and improvement. Author Claus Grube did just that and added a trend filter as well as profit targets and stop loss criteria.

Grube's results of a 10-year data study of the 15-minute Eurostoxx 50 index can be seen in this screenshot.  The filter is a MACD combination (11 and 66 periods EMA, 89 quarters of an hour aggregation). The profit target is 10 times the ATR (calculated on 280 x 15’ aggregation).

It appears the strategy works well in times of a strong market decline. At the time of transition from bullish to bearish in 2007 draw downs are large. With the filter in place the strategy only generates a signal every two weeks. Positions remain open for several days. The hit ratio is around 70%.

Attention. When applying Grube’s strategy to other market indices, his filters and aggregations would require substantial modification.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Sinewave".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : SineWave Cycles de Marchés

Description

L’ingénieur Dr. John Ehlers est un analyste qui a fait beaucoup de recherches sur les cycles des marchés. Il est un des premiers développeurs du système de trading informatisé, dénommé MESA. Dr. Ehlers a développé ses theories dans le livre paru en 2006 "Cybernetic analysis for Stocks and Futures". Il y donne le code pour certains de ses indicateurs les plus intéressants. L’auteur et trader allemand Claus Grube a traduit ces codes en algorithmes pour NanoTrader Full.

Une façon d’analyses un marché consiste à détecter dans quel cycle ce marché évolue actuellement. La plupart du temps, plusieurs cycles se superposent. Il est difficile de détecter ces cycles. Par conséquent, Ehlers se concentre sur le cycle principal. Son indicateur préféré est dénommé Sinewave. Il calcule le “Cycle Dominant”. Sinewave désine un genre de vagues sinusoïdales qui suivent le marché à la hausse et à la baisse. Il n’y a pas de paramètres à ajuster dans Sinewave. Cependant, les résultats seront différents selon l’unité de temps utilisée. L’auteur Clause Grube travaille sur l’indice de marché Eurostoxx 50 en utilisant l’unité de temps demi-journée (28x 15 minutes).


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché
Instruments : Futures et CFDs
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : 3 à 4 trades par semaine
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La strategie en détail

Le Sinewave d’Ehler oscille entre -1 et +1. Les signaux sont générés par un "prédécesseur" (le résultat des calculs est le sinus d’un angle spécifique et le déclencheur est le sinus de cet angle, diminué de 45 degrés). Il est très intéressant de noter que ces deux vagues sinusoïdales ont été conçues pour ne pas se croiser lorsque le marché suit une tendance. De ce fait, il n’est pas nécessaire d’utiliser un filtre de tendance pour éviter les signaux erronés.

Ehlers a utilisé la transformation des marchés de Hilbert. Ehlers part du principe que les marchés sont en mode cyclique la majorité du temps. Les tendances sont l’exception. Un cycle dominant peut être détecté. Ce cycle est calculé par Sinewave. La vélocité et la fréquence de ce cycle peut varier fréquemment. La particularité de Sinewave est de s’adapter immédiatement aux variations de vélocité et de fréquence.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Lorsque les vagues sinusoïdales se croisent, une nouvelle position est ouverte et la position existante est clôturée. Une position longue est convertie en position short. Une position short devient une position longue. De ce fait, on reste toujours en position.

 

Dans cet exemple de l’indice Eurostoxx 50, les croisements de Sinewave coincident clairement avec les cycles du marché. L’indicateur Sinewave est sur une unité de temps 28x15' soit 1/2 journée.


 

Ce graphique, qui a les mêmes paramètres que l’exemple précédent, démontre qu’il est aussi possible d’avoir un ou deux cycles dans une seule journée.

Quand fermer une position ?

Une position longue est renversée en position short et une position short et renversée en position lingue lorsque les Sinewaves se croisent. De ce fait, une position est toujours ouverte, soit longue soit short.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Sinewave market cycles, développée par Dr John Ehlers donne des résultats variables. Les résultats vont du surprenant au très mauvais. Ce n’est pas une stratégie robuste mais les résultats parfois spectaculaires en font une stratégie digne d’une étude approfondie pour y apporter des améliorations. C’est ce que l’auteur Claus Grube a fait en y ajoutant un filtre de tendance ainsi que des critères d’objectif et de stop loss.

Les résultats de son étude sur 10 ans en 15 minutes sur l’indice Eurostoxx 50 sont montrés dans cet écran. Le filtre est une combinaison de MACD (EMA en 11 et 66 périodes, unité de temps 89 quarts d’heures). L’objectif est l’ATR multiplié par 10 (calculé sur base d’une unité de temps 280x15’).

Il en découle que la stratégie fonctionne bien lors d’une forte chute du marché. Lors de la transition du marché haussier vers un marché baissier en 2007, les pertes sont conséquentes. Avec le filtre la stratégie ne génère un signal que toutes les deux semaines. Les positions restent ouvertes sur plusieurs jours. Le taux de succès est de 70%.

Attention : Lors de l’application de la stratégie de Grube à d’autres indices de marché, les filtres et les échelles de temps doivent être adaptés.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Sinewave".

  • Changez l’unité de temps à 1 semaine si vous préférez cela à 1 jour.

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.