Trading strategy: TrendPlus

Description

The TrendPlus strategy tries to detect a reverse movement in a market with a clear trend i.e. a market going up which has temporarily reversed or a down market which suddenly moves up. "The trend is your friend" is a classic saying in trading. The TrendPlus strategy respects this important saying. It takes positions in the direction of the trend but only when the trend is temporarily interrupted.

The TrendPlus strategy does not trade often but it shows a high hit ratio. One to two trades per week seems to be the average. Positions are held over several days. This strategy is based on the basic principle of trend continuation and should work in any market.

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (CAC, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Commodities (oil, gold …)
Instruments : Futures, Forex and CFDs
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : 1-2 Trades per week
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or fully automated

 

The strategy in detail

The components of the TrendPlus strategy look deceptively simple, Bollinger bands and a trend filter based on a MACD (moving average convergence and divergence) concept. Do not be fooled by this. Both components have been fine-tuned and perfected in a particularly intelligent way.

In this description of the TradePlus strategy we will develop the strategy for the EuroStoxx50 market index on a 15-minute chart. This index trades 14 hours per day (56 x 15 minutes). The Bollinger bands are calculated on one week. We therefore take 280 x 15 minutes (= 5 days) as the value for the period span parameter.

Market prices move in and out classic Bollinger bands fairly frequently. The TradePlus strategy is only interested in detecting really extraordinary price movements out of these bands. To define the width of the bands TradePlus chooses a triple standard deviation. You could work with more narrow bands. More narrow bands, however, will have more undesirable signals and higher drawdowns.

The signals in the strategy are set up has "rebound" signals. A rebound signal is a signal not when the market price moves out of a band but when it moves back into the band after having previously moved out of it.

In addition, all signals based on the special large Bollinger bands are subjected to a trend filter. This filter is built around an MACD concept consisting of two exponential moving averages of 11 and 66 periods respectively and calculated on a 1-day timeframe.

The trend filter has an additional interesting feature. an area around the zero line that indicates "no trend". This variable zone is calculated on the basis of the ATR (Average True Range).

In this screenshot the impact of the trend filter (bottom half of the chart) is clearly visible. The filter divides the chart background in three colored areas: green (positive market trend), red (negative market trend), and white (no market trend).

When to open a position?

A long position is opened when the market price moves out of the bottom band and rebounds back into the band - but only if the market is in a strong positive trend as indicated by the trend filter.

A short position is opened when the market price moves out of the top band and crosses back into the band - but only if the market is in a strong negative trend as indicated by the trend filter.

When to close a position?

A long position is closed when the market price moves above the top band and crosses back into the band.

A short position is closed when the market price goes below the bottom band and rebounds back into the band.

 

This screenshot shows the open and subsequent close of a long position.


 

This screenshot shows the open and subsequent close of a short position.

It would be useful to experiment with some profit targets and stops. This can easily be done in NanoTrader Full. The impact when you insert different stops and targets is immediately visible on the equity curve.

 

Conclusion

The TradePlus strategy uses classic technical analysis components but they have been fine-tuned and perfected for a particular purpose: to detect retracements (market is in a strong trend, but temporarily moves in the opposite direction) and trade when the market moves back in the direction of the trend. This strategy can be used on a great variety of instruments such as market indices, gold, oil, forex…. The number of signals is limited to 1-2 per week. The hit ratio, however, is above average.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS TrendPlus".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : TrendPlus

Description

La stratégie TrendPlus tente de détecter un renversement de tendance dans un marché à tendance définie c.à.d. un marché haussier temporairement stagnant ou un marché baissier qui montre soudainement un rebond. "La tendance est votre amie" est  une phrase classique en trading. La stratégie TrendPlus prend des positions dans la direction de la tendance mais uniquement lorsqu’il y a interruption momentanée de la tendance.

La stratégie TrendPlus ne trade pas souvent mais montre un ratio de succès élevé. Un à deux trades par semaine sont une moyenne. Les positions sont prises sur plusieurs jours. Cette stratégie est basée sur le principe basique de la continuité de la tendance et devrait être applicable à n’importe quel marché.



  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (CAC, DAX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Matières  Premières (pétrole, or…)
Instruments : Futures, Forex et CFDs
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 à 2 trades par semaine
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Les composants de la stratégie paraissent trompeusement simples, les bandes de Bollinger et un filtre de tendance basé sur le concept de la MACD (moyenne mobile convergence et divergence), mais ne vous y méprenez pas. Les 2 composants ont été affinés et perfectionnés de manière intelligente.

Dans cette description de la Stratégie TrendPlus, nous allons développer la stratégie avec l’indice de marché EuroStoxx50 sur un graphique 15 minutes. Cet indice trade 14 heures par jour (56x15'). Les bandes de Bollinger sont calculées sur une semaine. Nous prenons donc 280x15', soit 5 jours, comme valeur pour l’intervalle de temps.

Les prix du marché fluctuent assez fréquemment à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des bandes de Bollinger classiques.  La stratégie TrendPlus est uniquement intéressante pour détecter des mouvements de prix réellement exceptionnels en dehors de ces bandes. Pour définir l’ampleur de ces bandes, TrendPlus se base sur une triple déviation standard. Vous pourriez travailler sur des bandes plus étroites mais des bandes plus étroites auront, cependant, des signaux indésirés et de plus grandes pertes cummulatives.

Les signaux dans la stratégie sont définis comme des signaux de "rebond". Un signal de "rebond" est un signal non lorsque le prix du marché évolue en dehors de la bande mais lorsque qu’il revient évoluer dans la bande après l’avoir quitter.

De plus, tous les signaux basés sur les bandes de Bollinger particulièrement larges sont sujets à un filtre de tendance. Ce filtre est construit autour d’un concept de la MACD qui consiste en 2 moyennes mobiles exponentielles de 11 et 66 périodes respectivement et calculées sur une échelle de temps de 1 jour.

Le filtre de tendance  a une caractéristique supplémentaire intéressante : une zone autour de la ligne zéro qui indique l’absence de tendance. Cette zone est variable car elle est calculée sur la base de l'indicateur de volatilité Average True Range (ATR).

Dans cette capture d’écran l’impact du filtre (partie inférieure de l'écran) de tendance est distinctement visible. Le filtre divise le fond du graphique en 3 parties colorées : verte (tendance de marché positive), rouge (tendance de marché négative), et blanche (absence de tendance).

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Une position longue est ouverte lorsque le prix du marché évolue en-dessous de la bande inférieure et revient rebondir à l’intérieur de la bande - mais uniquement si le marché est dans une forte tendance positive comme signalée par le filtre de tendance. Une position short est ouverte lorsque le prix du marché évolue au-dessus de la bande supérieure et revient rebondir à l’intérieur de la bande.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Une position longue est clôturée lorsque le prix du marché évolue au-dessus de la bande supérieure et revient croiser la bande à l’intérieur. Une position short est clôturée lorsque le prix du marché descend en-dessous du niveau inférieur de la bande et revient rebondir à l’intérieur de la bande.

 

Cet exemple illustre l'ouverture et la clôture ultérieure d’une position longue.


 

Cet exemple illustre l'ouverture et la clôture ultérieure d’une position short.

Il serait intéressant d'expérimenter avec des combinaisons d'objectifs et de stops. Ceci est facile avec NanoTrader Full. L’impact sur le profit est immédiatement visible lorsque vous insérez des objectifs et des stops.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie TradePlus utilise des outils classiques d’analyse technique mais ceux-ci ont été très affinés et perfectionnés dans un but bien particulier : détecter des retournements (le marché a une tendance forte, mais évolue temporairement dans une direction opposée) et puis de trader lorsque le marché évolue à nouveau dans le sens de la tendance. Cette stratégie peut être utilisée sur une grande variété d’instruments comme les indices de marché, l’or, le pétrole, le forex, etc. Le nombre de signaux est limité à 1-2 par semaine. Le ratio de succès est au-dessus de la moyenne.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS TrendPlus".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.