Trading strategy: Open Trade HA-BB

Description

The Open Trade Heikin Ashi – Bollinger Bands (HA-BB) is a pure day trading strategy. The strategy is applied in a 3-minute time frame. It is also possible to explore the strategy in a 1- or 2- minute time frame. This strategy is proposed by the "Trade Academy" in Germany. It combines the popular, trend-indicating Heikin Ashi candles with Bollinger bands.


  
Suitable for : Market indices
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : Up to 5 trades per ½ day
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or fully automated

 

The strategy in detail

When to open a position?

A position is opened at the market price immediately after the first Heikin Ashi candle closes outside the Bollinger band. This Heikin Ashi candle should not have a bottom shadow (in case of a long signal) or a top shadow (in case of a short sell signal).

Open Trade HA-BB is used for trading market indices during the first half of the day from 8h00 to 11h00. Multiple signals are likely during this time interval. Between 11h00 and 8h00 the next day all signals are blocked. These are the green zones in the chart background. The parameters can be adapted in the strategy in the platform to allow signals on the US market indices in the afternoon.

 

In this screenshot the first signal is a short sell signal. The second signal, just after 9h30, is a buy signal. Both trades were profitable. It is rare that the market makes two big swings in opposite directions during the first market hours.


 

In this screenshot there are three short sell signals. The first is positive, the second is negative and the third is positive.

When to close a position?

In order to always have a stop in place the strategy uses the low minus 1 tick (in case of a long position) or the high plus 1 tick (in case of a short position) of a 20-period price channel. Should this stop fall within the current Bollinger bands then the Bollinger bands minus or plus 1 tick are used as stop. This stop is really only there for protection purposes as it is unlikely to be hit. Indeed, in the majority of cases the position is closed at the market price after the first Heikin Ashi candle has closed within the Bollinger bands.

Attention. Given that most of the time the stop tracks the Bollinger band, it is often the case that the stop becomes bigger (i.e. the potential loss the trader is willing to absorb increases) before going down with the Bollinger band. Accepting an increasing stop is fairly rare in trading. In this case, because the stop is really an emergency stop only and the positions are usually closed by the Heikin Ashi crossing back into the Bollinger band, it is possibly acceptable. You decide.

 

In the below screenshot the first signal is a buy signal. The stop -red line- tracks the Bollinger band and goes down, increasing the risk. This is very rare in a trading strategy.

 

Conclusion

The Open Trade HA-BB strategy suggested by the German Trade Academy is typical of strategies based on high and low levels after market open. However, whereas most open trade strategies are limited to one or two signals this strategy can have multiple signals every day. By combining two popular and relevant technical analysis components –Bollinger bands and Heikin Ashi- Trade Academy assures traders are interested in exploring this strategy.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Open Trade HA-BB".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Open Trade HA-BB

Description

L’Open Trade HA-BB (Trade Ouvert HA-BB) est une stratégie de day trading. La stratégie est appliquée à une unité de temps de 3 minutes, mais peut aussi être appliquée à des unités de temps de 1 ou 2 minutes. Cette stratégie, proposée par la "Trade Academy" en Allemagne, combine les fameuses bougies Heikin Ashi qui indiquent la tendance aux populaires bandes de Bollinger.

 

  
Valable pour : Indices de marchés (CAC, DAX, DOW ...)
Instruments : Futures et CFD
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : Jusque 5 trades par demi-journée
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Une position est ouverte au prix du marché dès que la clôture d’une bougie Heikin Ashi dépasse la bande de Bollinger pour la première fois. Cette bougie ne devrait pas avoir de mèche inférieure (dans le cas d’un signal long) ou de mèche supérieure (dans le cas d’un signal short).

La stratégie Open Trade HA-BB est utilisée pour trader les indices de marché pendant la première partie de la journée de 8h00 à 11h00. De nombreux signaux sont probables dans cet intervalle de temps. Entre 11h00 et 8h00 le jour suivant, tous les signaux sont bloqués. Ce sont les zones vertes sur le graphique. Ceci est donc un filtre temps.

 

Cet exemple montre 2 signaux. Le premier est un signal de vente à découvert. Le second, juste après 9h30, est un signal d’achat. Les deux trades étaient gagnants. Il est rare que le marché fasse 2 grands mouvements dans des directions opposées pendant les premières heures d’ouverture.


 

Cet exemple montre 3 signaux. Tous les trois sont des signaux de vente à découvert. Le premier et le troisième sont gagnants, le second est perdant.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Afin d’avoir toujours un stop en place, la stratégie utilise le "bas" moins 1 tick (pour une position longue) ou le "haut" plus 1 tick (pour une position short) d’un canal de prix sur 20 périodes. Si ce stop tombe à l’intérieur des Bandes de Bollinger, alors les Bandes de Bollinger plus ou moins 1 tick sont utilisées comme stop. Ce stop n’est là que pour protéger, puisqu’il est très improbable qu’il soit touché. En effet, dans la majorité des cas, la position est coupée au marché dès qu'une bougie Heikin Ashi clôture à l’intérieur des bandes de Bollinger.

Attention : Etant donné que la plupart du temps le stop suit la bande de Bollinger, il n'est pas rare que le stop s'élargisse (c-à-d que la perte potentielle que le trader souhaite absorber augmente) avant de redescendre avec la bande de Bollinger. Accepter un élargissement du stop est assez rare en trading. Ici, du fait que le stop est vraiment un stop d’urgence uniquement et que les positions sont généralement fermées par le recroisement de l’Heikin Ashi dans la bande de Bollinger, cela peut être acceptable.

 

Cet exemple montre un premier signal d’achat. Le stop (ligne rouge) suit la bande de Bollinger et descend, augmentant temporairement le risque. C’est rare dans une stratégie de trading.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Open Trade HA-BB, suggérée par la Trade Academy en Allemagne, est du type de stratégies basées sur les niveaux haut et bas après l'ouverture des marchés. Cependant, alors que la plupart des stratégies open trade se limitent dans la majorité des cas à 1 ou 2 signaux, cette stratégie peut en donner plusieurs chaque jour. En combinant 2 composants d’analyse technique célèbres et pertinents (les Bandes de Bollinger et les indicateurs Heikin Ashi), la Trade Academy s'assure que les traders seront intéressés par cette stratégie.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Open Trade HABB".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.