Trading strategy: Break-Out SuperTrend

Description

The Break-Out (BO) SuperTrend strategy attempts to profit from small price break-outs. It is a straightforward day trading strategy. Besides price channels it uses the popular SuperTrend indicator. The BO SuperTrend strategy can be used for market indices, commodities and forex trading.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (CAC, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Commodities (oil, gold …)
Instruments : Futures, CFD and Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1-2 Trades per day
The strategy : Explanatory film
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or fully automated

 

The strategy in detail

The BO SuperTrend strategy is applied in a 5-minute time frame. The main components are a 20-period price channel, the famous SuperTrend indicator set on an hourly basis, and a precise time filter.

When to open a position?

A position is opened when two subsequent candles break out of the price channel. A long position is opened in the case of an upwards break-out. A short position is opened in the case of a downwards break-out.

In addition the break-out signals are subjected to two filters: a trend filter and a time filter. The time filter is set to 9h00 - 12h00. Signals which occur outside this time period are not relevant. The trend filter is the SuperTrend. If the SuperTrend is positively oriented only buy signals are acted upon. If the SuperTrend is negatively oriented only short sell signals are acted upon.

When to close a position?

The BO SuperTrend strategy uses a profit target and a stop. The profit target is 0,75% above (below in the case of a short position) the price at which the position was opened. The stop used is a BreakEven stop. This stop is equally set at 0,75% from the price at which the position was opened. When the position evolves profitably the BreakEven stop, like a trailing stop, will move automatically. It will stop moving until the stop level is 0,75% above (below in the case of a short position). In practice this extreme never happens as the position will already have reached the profit target.

A third possibility is that the position is closed by the time filter. Indeed, in case neither the target nor the stop are reached before 12h00 the position is automatically closed at the market price at 12h00.

Free trading strategies: Break-out SuperTrend indicator.  

In this example the trend filter is positively oriented (green chart background). A long position was taken after two subsequent candles broke out of the price channel. The profit target (green line) and the stop (red line) appear immediately. The profit target level and stop level, however, were not reached before 12h00. The position was closed at the market price at 12h00. The trade was profitable.

 

Free trading strategies: Break-out SuperTrend indicator, short sell.  

In this example the trend filter is negatively oriented (red chart background). Because of this the first break-out, a bullish signal around 9h20, is ignored. Around 10h45 two subsequent candles break downwards out of the price channel. A short position is opened. The profit target level (green line) and the stop level (red line) appear immediately. The profit target was reached and the position closed with a profit.

 

Free trading strategies: Break-out SuperTrend indicator, positive results.  

This example shows the historical results of the BO SuperTrend strategy applied to the French CAC 40 market index.

Conclusion

The Break-Out SuperTrend strategy is a strategy based on price break-outs. The break-outs are filtered with a the popular SuperTrend trend filter and a time filter. The strategy is suitable for day trading. All open positions are closed at 12h00. The strategy can be used for trading market indices, commodities and forex.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS BO SuperTrend".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Break-Out SuperTrend

Description

La stratégie Break-Out (BO) SuperTrend tente de profiter de petites cassures de prix. C’est une stratégie de day trading. En plus d'un canal de prix, la stratégie utilise l’indicateur populaire SuperTrend. La stratégie BO SuperTrend peut être applicable pour le trading des indices de marché, du Forex et des matières premières.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (FTSE, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Matières premières (pétrole, or…)
Instruments : Futures, Forex et CFDs
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 à 2 trades par semaine
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie BO SuperTrend s'applique à une unité de temps de 5 minutes. Ses principaux composants sont un canal de prix de 20 périodes, le célèbre indicateur SuperTrend, basé sur une échelle de temps de 1 heure et un filtre de temps précis.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Une position est prise lorsque 2 bougies consécutives cassent le canal de prix.  Une position longue est ouverte dans le cas d’une cassure vers le haut. Une position short est ouverte dans le cas d’une cassure vers le bas.

Les signaux sont soumis à 2 filtres : un filtre de tendance et un filtre de temps. Le filtre de temps est paramétré de 9h00 à 12h00. Les signaux apparaissant en dehors de cette période (fond arrière mauve dans le graphique) ne sont pas pertinents. Le filtre de tendance est le SuperTrend. Si le SuperTrend est orienté positivement, seuls des signaux d’achats seront considérés. Si le SuperTrend est négativement orienté, seuls des signaux de ventes short seront considérés.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie BO SuperTrend utilise un objectif de profit et un stop. L’objectif de profit se situe à 0,75% au-dessus du prix auquel la position a été ouverte (en-dessous dans le cas d’une position short). Le stop utilisé est un BreakEven stop (stop de rentabilité). De même,  le stop se situe à 0,75% du prix auquel la position a été ouverte. Lorsque la position évolue profitablement, le BreakEven stop évoluera automatiquement. Il cessera d’évoluer lorsque le niveau du stop sera 0,75% au-dessus (en-dessous dans le cas d’une position short) du prix d'achat. En pratique, ce cas extrême n’apparaît jamais car la position aura déjà atteint son objectif de profit.

Une troisième possibilité serait que la position soit clôturée par le filtre de temps. En effet, dans le cas où ni la limite ni le stop ne sont atteints avant 12h00, la position sera automatiquement clôturée au prix du marché à 12h00.

Stratégie de trading gratuite : indicateur Supertrend Break-out.  

Dans cet exemple, le filtre de tendance est positivement orienté (fond vert du graphique). Une position longue est prise après que deux bougies consécutives cassent le canal de prix. L’objectif (ligne verte) et le stop (ligne rouge) apparaissent immédiatement. Ni l'objectif ni le stop ne sont atteints avant 12h00. La position est alors clôturée au prix du marché à 12h00. Le trade est gagnant.

 

Stratégies de trading gratuites : Break-out SuperTrend, position gagnante.  

Dans cet exemple, le filtre de tendance est négativement orienté (fond rouge du graphique). En conséquence, le premier signal, un signal haussier juste après 9h20, est ignoré. Vers 10h45 il y a un signal négatif. Une position est ouverte. L'objectif (ligne verte) et le stop (ligne rouge) apparaissent. L'objectif est atteint et la position est clôturée avec un profit.

 

Stratégie de trading gratuite: Break-out SuperTrend, résultat et rendement positif.  

Cet exemple montre l’historique des résultats de la stratégie BO SuperTrend appliquée à l’indice de marché CAC 40.

Conclusion

La stratégie Break-Out SuperTrend est une stratégie de trading basée sur des cassures de prix combinées à un filtre de tendance populaire, le SuperTrend, et à un filtre de temps. La stratégie convient au day trading. Les positions ouvertes sont clôturées à 12h00. La stratégie peut être utilisée pour trader les indices de marchés et le forex.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS BO SuperTrend".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.