Trading tools: Lefort Indicators

Description

Eric Lefort is a French trader and author of trading books. He is part of the team that runs a French active investor website and gives training seminars and presentations. Many of his tools are popular with active investors in France.

The Lefort indicators are not a trading strategy. They are tools for different purposes which can be combined and which can serve for trading all instruments (stocks, market indices, forex, commodities… in a variety of time frames. Hence they can be used for both day trading and swing trading. Below each of the Lefort indicators are described and illustrated in detail. All indicators are available in each WH SelfInvest trading platform.

The REPULSE indicator

The REPULSE is an indicator which can be used as a decision tool only if the market is in a trend or if it is showing an impulse. The indicator gives "live" information if it appears the trend might be interrupted. By indicating divergences it forces the trader to take a decision: add or change the stop or (partially) close the position.

The indicator uses three horizons. Each horizon serves a different purpose. Let’s look for example at the CAC40 market index in a 5-minute time frame:
The Repulse(1) in red, examines impulses, short linear movements.
The Repulse(5) in blue, examines successive oscillations, waves.
The Repulse(15) in green, examines big trends with longevity.

The task of these different repulses is to indicate the moment when the trader must take a decision about his position. The moment to take a decision is when the repulses either diverge or converge. In all circumstances where the repulses are not at a conversion or diversion point, the trader does not need to make a decision. This diminishes the pressure on the trader’s psyche.

In this screenshot the repulses converge or diverge on three separate occasions. Each of these occasions corresponds with a crucial point in time on the price chart. At these points in time the trader should make a decision to maintain his short position or close it.

The RETRACEMENT 90 (RET90) indicator

The RETRACEMENT indicator monitors trends and impulses. Particularly its horizontal line is important as it indicates the middle of the ranges of the last 90 periods. The horizontal indicates the long term equilibrium which traders can use as a decision tool. It is also the level around which important retracements or trend reversals can happen in the case of a trend or an impulse.

In this example a market in a positive trend goes below the RET90. The trend continuation only happens at around 13h30 when the market moves through the RET90 again.

The STPMT indicator

STPMT stands for La Stochastique Pondérée Moyen Terme or medium term weighted stochastics. The STPMT indicator is a tool which concerns itself with both the direction and the timing of the market.
The STPMT indicator helps the trader with:
The general trend by observing the level around which the indicator oscillates.
The changes of direction in the market.
The timing to open or close a position by observing the oscillations and by observing
the relative position of the STPMT versus its moving average.

In this screenshot we see the STPMT (red line) and its moving average (blue line). The dotted lines are the components of the STPMT.

The oscillations of the STPMT around its moving average define the timing to open a position. The moving average determines the direction. In the above screenshot, as long as the moving average STPMT is moving upwards a position can be bought. The buy is then timed to coincide with a point in time where when the STPMT is below the moving average STPMT (green ovals).

The CYCLE indicator

The Cycle indicator is derived from the STPMT. It is the STPMT – the STPMT moving average. It is indicates more clearly all buy and sell opportunities. On the other hand it does not give any information on market direction.

The Cycle indicator is a great help in timing as it allows the trader to more easily see the median length of an oscillation around the average point. In this way the traders can simply use the time axis to identify both a favorable price and a favorable moment.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow choose the instrument you wish to trade:
  • Open a chart.

  • Via the designer window insert the Eric Lefort indicators you wish to use, WHS EL REPULSE, WHS EL RET90, WHS EL STPMT or WHS EL CYCLE

Outils de trading : Indicateurs Lefort

Description

Les descriptions ci-dessous ne composent pas une stratégie de trading en soi. Il s’agit ici de décrire les indicateurs d’Eric Lefort, célèbre trader et auteur français. Ces indicateurs sont des outils utiles pour aider le trader à détecter des moments adéquats pour entrer ou clôturer des positions. Utilisées comme complément à une stratégie de trading, les techniques de Mr. Lefort sont connues et reconnues pour apporter une réelle plus-value au résultat final.

Description de l’indicateur REPULSE

Le Repulse est un indicateur de décision de trading qui ne s’utilise qu’en tendance ou en impulsion. Il donne très souvent en "live" des informations sur les obstacles rencontrés. Par ses divergences il impose au trader de prendre une décision : sortir, couvrir la position, sortir partiellement.

L’indicateur comporte plusieurs niveaux de réglage. Dans notre exemple ci-dessous, prenons les Future CAC40 en bougies de 5 minutes :
Le Repulse(1) en rouge examine les impulsions, les mouvements linéaires de courte durée.
Le Repulse(5) en bleu examine les oscillations successives, les vagues.
Le Repulse(15) examine les larges tendances qui durent.

Quelle que soit sa position, le trader sait s’il doit se méfier de la progression des cours ou bien si, au contraire, il peut raisonnablement tenir sa position.

Les divergences haussières et baissières des Repulses donnent en direct les points durs rencontrés, c’est à dire les supports et résistances potentiels. Cela indique donc au trader la nécessité de prendre ou de ne pas prendre de décision s’il est en position.

Description de l’indicateur RETRACEMENT 90 (RET90)

Outil de suivi de tendances et d’impulsions. Le RET90 donne un niveau horizontal particulièrement pertinent. Il marque le milieu du range des 90 dernières périodes. Ceci indique le niveau d’équilibre long terme sur lequel les traders peuvent s’appuyer et permet d’afficher les niveaux importants de retournement ou les niveaux de retour (correction) lors d’une tendance ou d’une impulsion.

Dans cet exemple un marché en tendance positive déscend en dessous du RET90. La continuation de la tendance ne se fait qu'à 13h30 quand le prix monte à nouveau au dessus du RET90.

Description de l’indicateur STPMT

La STPMT ou la Stochastique Pondérée Moyen Terme est un outil qui donne à la fois de l'information sur la direction du marché et le bon moment pour ouvrir une position. La STPMT donne au trader des informations sur :
La tendance générale grâce au niveau auquel elle oscille.
Les changements de direction du marché grâce à son déplacement.
Les changements de direction du marché grâce à son déplacement et à sa position par
rapport à sa moyenne mobile.

La partie inférieure de cette capture d'écran montre la STPMT (ligne rouge) et sa moyenne mobile (ligne rouge). Les pointillés sont les composants de la STPMT.

Les oscillations de la STPMT autour de sa moyenne mobile définissent le timing de l'entrée en position. La moyenne mobile définie la direction du marché. Dans l'exemple au dessus, autant que la moyenne mobile STMP est positivement orientée le trader peut considérer un achat. L'achat peut uniquement se faire aux moments ou la STPMT est en dessous de sa moyenne mobile (ovales verts).

Description de l’indicateur CYCLES

L’indicateur cycles est tiré de la STPMT puisqu’il s’agit de la différence : STPMT – (moyenne mobile de STPMT). Il permet de discerner plus facilement les périodes favorables à l’achat ou à la vente, mais perd la notion de direction de marché.

Cycles aide fortement dans la recherche de timing car on y discerne mieux la durée habituelle d’oscillation autour du point moyen. Ceci permet au trader de se servir de l’axe du temps pour rechercher non plus un cours favorable, mais un moment favorable.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique.

  • Dans le graphique, insérez l’indicateur d’Eric Lefort que vous souhaitez visualiser, WHS EL REPULSE, WHS EL RET90, WHS EL STPMT ou WHS EL CYCLE