Trading strategy: 21H52

Description

The 21h52 strategy was developed by trader-author John F. Carter in his book 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups' (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). This pure day trading strategy focuses on market developments during the last 45 minutes of trading in the US markets. 21h30 Is widely accepted as a key reversal point. Carter, when working in a trading room with 100 other traders, observed his colleagues behaving irrationally after 21h30 and he developed a strategy to benefit from this irrational behavior. Carter calls it “capping of the day with a fine cigar” as it is his last trade every day.


   
Suitable for : U.S. Market indices (Dow and S&P 500)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1 Signal per day
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

21h30 Is widely accepted as a key reversal point in the markets. When working in a trading room with 100 other traders John F. Carter observed that most of these traders would wait for 21h30 for the market to reverse (either bounce or sell off) and then… they would just wait, and wait, and wait. They would wait without good reason before opening a position to profit from the reverse. Finally, when they did open a position the movement was already slowing down or even reversing.

With the market evolving against them the traders would try to hold on to their losing positions as long as possible. Then, with liquidity drying up fast after 22h00, the traders would all start to close their position before 22h15, causing exaggerated market movements in the final minutes. The 21h52 strategy attempts to benefit from this irrational trader behavior. An advantage of this strategy that there is no waiting whether or not a signal will appear. The trader just needs to look at 21h52 precisely if the conditions to open a position are present or not.

When to open a position?

The strategy is applied on a 1-minute price chart and can be used for two market indices: the Dow Jones (DJIA) and the S&P 500. Traders can use either futures (mini Dow or mini S&P 500) or the corresponding CFD.

A long position is opened at 21h52 at the market price if the market price is at least 10 points below the 21h30 price for the Dow future (1 point for the S&P future). A short position is opened at 21h52 at the market price if the market price is at least 10 points above the 21h30 price for the Dow future (1 point for the S&P future).

When to close a position?

John F. Carter uses a fixed stop of 20 points on the Dow index and 2 points on the S&P 500 index. He closes the position at the market price if his stop was not touched by 22h13.

 

This example on the Mini S&P 500 shows that at 21h52 the market price is more than 1 point (blue line) above the 21h30 price (dark red line). A short position is opened. At 22h13 the position is closed at the market price. A profit was made. The stop (red line) was never touched.


 

This example on the Mini S&P 500 shows that at 21h52 the market price is more than 1 point (blue line) below the 21h30 price (dark red line). A long position is opened (green triangle). The stop was touched and the position closed with a loss. It is interesting to note that 21h30 was indeed a key reversal point.


 

This example on the Mini DOW shows that at 21h52 the market price is more than 10 points (blue line) above the 21h30 price (dark red line). A short position is opened (red triangle). The stop was touched two minutes later and the position closed with a loss. It is very interesting to note that 21h30 was indeed a significant key reversal point.


 

This example on the Mini DOW shows that at 21h52 the market price is more than 10 points (blue line) below the 21h30 price (dark red line). A long position is opened (green triangle). At 22h13 the position is closed at the market price. A profit was made. The stop (red line) was never touched.

 

Conclusion

The 21h52 trading strategy is a pure day trading strategy. It was developed by trader-author John F. Carter in his book 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups'. The strategy can be applied to the two major US market indices (Dow and S&P 500) at 21h52 precisely every day. This is an advantage as the trader knows exactly at what time a signal may appear. It is an effective and simple strategy, which exploits irrational and herd behavior by traders after the 21h30 key reversal point.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS 21h52".

  • The template is set up to trade the Dow index (minimum movement 10 points, stop 20 points). If you want to trade the S&P 500 set the minimum movement to 1 point (4 ticks) and the stop to 2 points (8 ticks).

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : 21H52

Description

La stratégie 21h52 a été développée par l'auteur et trader John F. Carter dans son livre "Maîtriser le trade : Techniques éprouvées pour tirer profit des configurations en intraday et en swing trading" (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). Cette stratégie de day trading se focalise sur les variations du marché durant les 45 dernières minutes d’échanges sur les marchés américains. 21h30 est pour beaucoup considérée comme un point clé de retournement. Quand il travaillait en salle des marchés avec une centaine d’autres traders, Carter a observé le comportement irrationnel de ces collègues après 21h30 et a, du coup, développé une stratégie pour tirer profit de ce comportement irrationnel. Carter l’appelle "clôturer la journée avec un bon cigare" car c’est son dernier trade de la journée.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché U.S.  Dow et S&P 500
Instruments : Futures et CFD
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 signal par jour
La stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

21h30 est largement considéré comme un point clé de retournement sur les marchés. Quand il travaillait en salle des marchés avec une centaine d’autres traders, John F. Carter a observé que la plupart de ces traders attendaient 21h30 que le marché se retourne (soit un rebond soit une chute) et puis… ils attendaient, attendaient et attendaient encore sans raison valable. Finalement, lorsqu’ils se décidaient enfin à ouvrir une position, le mouvement perdait de la vitesse ou commençait à se retourner.

Avec les marchés évoluant contre les traders, ces derniers essayaient de maintenir leurs positions perdantes le plus longtemps possible. Puis, la liquidité régressant rapidement après 22h00, les traders commençaient tous à clôturer leur position avant 22h15, entrainant ainsi des mouvements de marché exagérés dans les dernières minutes. La stratégie 21h52 tente de tirer parti de ce comportement irraisonné des traders.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

La stratégie est appliquée sur un graphique en 1 minute. Les traders peuvent utiliser soit les futures (mini Dow ou mini SP 500) soit les CFD correspondants.

Une position longue est ouverte à 21h52 au prix marché si ce prix est à au moins 10 points sous le prix du future Dow à 21h30 ou 1 point pour le future S&P.  Une position short est ouverte à 21h52 au prix marché si ce prix se trouve à au moins 10 points au-dessus du prix du future Dow à 21h30 ou 1 point pour le future S&P.

Quand clôturer une position ?

John F. Carter utilise un stop fixé à 20 points de l’indice Dow et 2 points du S&P 500. Il clôture la position au marché si son stop n’a pas été touché avant 22h13.

 

Cet exemple sur le Mini S&P 500 montre qu’à 21h52, le prix marché est à plus d’1 point (ligne bleue) au-dessus du prix de 21h30 (ligne rouge foncé). Une position short est ouverte. A 22h13, la position est clôturée au marché. Un gain a été réalisé. Le stop (ligne rouge) n’a jamais été touché.


 

Cet exemple sur le Mini S&P 500 montre qu’à 21h52, le prix marché est à plus d’un point en dessous (ligne bleue) du prix de 21h30 (ligne rouge foncé). Une position longue est ouverte (triangle vert). Le stop a été touché et la position a été clôturée avec une perte. Il est intéressant de noter que 21h30 était en effet un point clé de retournement.


 

Cet exemple sur le Mini DOW montre qu’à 21h52 le prix marché est à plus de 10 points (ligne bleue) au- dessus du prix de 21h30 (ligne rouge foncé). Une position short est ouverte (triangle rouge). Le stop a été touché 2 minutes plus tard et la position a été clôturée avec une perte. C’est intéressant de noter que 21h30 était un important point clé de retournement.


 

Cet exemple sur le Mini DOW montre qu’à 21h52 le prix marché est à plus de 10 points (ligne bleue) en dessous du prix de 21h30 (ligne rouge foncé). Une position longue est ouverte (triangle vert). A 22h13 la position est clôturée au marché. Un gain a été réalisé. Le stop (ligne rouge) n’a jamais été touché.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie de trading 21h52 est une pure stratégie de day trading. Elle a été développée par le trader et auteur John F. Carter dans son livre "Maîtriser le trade : Techniques éprouvées pour tirer profit des configurations en intraday et en swing trading" (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). La stratégie peut être appliquée aux 2 indices principaux du marché US (Dow et S&P 500) à 21h52 précisément chaque jour. Une stratégie simple et efficace, 21h52 exploite le comportement irrationnel et "moutonnier" des traders après 21h30, point clé de retournement.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS 21h52".

  • Paramétrez l’écart de mouvement de 1 point (4 ticks) pour le S&P 500 et 10 points (10 ticks) pour le Dow. Paramétrez le stop à 2 points (8 ticks) pour le S&P 500 et 20 points (20 ticks) pour le Dow.

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.