Trading strategy: DMI Divergence

Description

Trading strategies based on diverengence logically assume that when the price curve and the indicators diverge, it will be the price curve which will change direction. The February 2011 edition of the German Traders’ Magazine contained an article on a divergence strategy called Topsy Turvy. The strategy turns the basic divergence premise on its head by assuming that the price curve is correct and that the indicators will change direction.

When building and back-testing the Topsy Turvy strategy, however, it was found that the basic divergence premise –in case of divergence between price curve and indicators, the price curve will change direction– still yielded the best trading results. This observation resulted in the DMI Divergence strategy. The strategy uses the special divergence indicator from Topsy Turvy but … still works on the basic divergence premise: in the case of divergence the price curve will change direction.


   
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, CAC, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Commodities (oil, gold …)
Instruments : Futures, CFD and Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 3-5 Signals per week
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

Topsy Turvy monitors the price curve against a directional movement (DM) concept to detect divergence. In the domain of technical analysis there is the up DMI and the down DMI.


It is possible to calculate a DMI Spread out of the difference between the up DMI and down DMI.

 

This screenshot shows the price curve and below the DMI Spread curve.


 

This screenshot shows a bullish divergence. The price curve is down over he look-back period whereas the DMI Spread indicates that the underlying market current is bullish. This represents a buy signal.


 

This screenshot shows a bearish divergence. The price curve goes up over he look-back period whereas the DMI Spread indicates that the underlying market current is bearish. This represents a short sell signal.


In order to visualize divergences more clearly it is possible to use a value chart showing the bullish divergence (price curve down, indicators up) as arbitrary value "75" and the bearish divergence (price curve up, indicators down) as arbitrary value "25". So the signal is provided by the DMI Spread and its relation to the price curve.

 

In this screenshot two signals occur. A buy signal on 11 January and a short sell signal on 13 January.

When to open a position?

A position is opened on a 15-minute chart whenever a divergence occurs between the 56-period DMI Spread and the price curve. The directions of the DMI Spread and the price curve are detected on the basis of 21 and 55 look-back periods. One look-back period should be about a day and the other half a day.

Attention. Back-testing has shown that shorter look-back periods are required when the DMI Divergence strategy is applied to financial instruments such as currencies (forex) which are subject to more pronounced short-term trend changes.

A long position is opened when bullish divergence (indicators are bullish but the price curve goes down) occurs. A short position is opened when bearish divergence (indicators are bearish but the price curve goes up) occurs.

When to close a position?

An open position is either closed when the opposite divergence occurs or when the stop is touched. The DMI Divergence strategy uses a 50-point trailing stop.

 

This screenshot shows the same two signals as above. The first position is closed when the opposite divergence occurs (a bearish divergence after a bullish divergence). The second position is closed when the trailing stop is touched.


 

This screenshot shows the results of a back-test of the DMI Divergence strategy on the Euro Stoxx 50 market index. It should be possible to improve the result by adding trend filters and/or volatility filters.


Conclusion

The DMI Divergence strategy uses the DMI Spread indicator (see Topsy Turvy trading strategy in Traders’ Magazine 2/2011) to detect divergence. However, contrary to Topsy Turvy, the DMI Divergence strategy sticks to the basic divergence premise: when divergence occurs between the price curve and the indicators, the price curve is most likely to change direction. This strategy can be used on a large variety of instruments such as market indices, gold, oil, forex… . The number of signals is about 3-5 per week. The results in a back-test look fairly robust.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS 21h52".

  • The template is set up to trade the Dow index (minimum movement 10 points, stop 20 points). If you want to trade the S&P 500 set the minimum movement to 1 point (4 ticks) and the stop to 2 points (8 ticks).

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : DMI Divergence

Description

Les stratégies de trading basées sur le concept de divergence acceptent la logique que, lorsque la courbe de prix et la combinaison d’indicateurs divergent, c’est la courbe de prix qui va changer de direction. L’Edition de Février 2011 du Magazine allemand "Traders" contient un article sur la stratégie de divergence appelée Topsy Turvy. La stratégie renverse cette hypothèse basique en stipulant que la courbe de prix est correcte et que la combinaison d’indicateurs va changer de direction.

En construisant et en back-testant la stratégie Topsy Turvy, il a été cependant démontré que l’hypothèse de divergence basique -la courbe de prix va changer de direction pour suivre les indicateurs en cas de divergence- donne des résultats de trading encore meilleurs. Ceci provient de la stratégie DMI Divergence qui utilise l’indicateur spécial de divergence de la stratégie Topsy Turvy mais… qui se base toujours sur l’hypothèse basique que la courbe de prix va changer de direction dans le cas d’une divergence.


  
Valable pour : Marché des indices (FTSE, DAX, CAC, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Matières Premières (oil, gold …)
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 3-5 signaux par semaine
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Topsy Turvy contrôle la courbe de prix par rapport à un concept de mouvement directionnel dans le but de détecter la divergence. Dans le domaine de l’analyse technique, il existe le DMI haussier et le DMI baissier.


Il est possible de calculer l'écart du DMI par la différence entre DMI haussier et DMI baissier.

 

Cette copie d’écran montre la courbe de prix et, en-dessous, la courbe de différence du DMI.


 

Cette copie d’écran montre une divergence haussière. La courbe de prix franchit vers le bas la période passée prédéterminée alors que l’écart DMI indique que le marché sous-jacent actuel est haussier. Ceci représente un signal d’achat.


 

Cette copie d’écran représente une divergence baissière. La courbe de prix franchit vers le haut la période passée prédéterminée alors que l’écart DMI indique que le marché sous-jacent actuel est baissier. Ceci représente un signal de vente à découvert.


Dans le but de visualiser plus clairement les divergences, il est possible d’utiliser un graphique de valeurs faisant apparaître la divergence haussière (courbe de prix à la baisse, indicateurs à la hausse) pour valeur arbitraire "75" et la divergence baissière (courbe de prix à la hausse, indicateurs à la baisse) pour valeur arbitraire "25". Ainsi le signal est donné par l’Ecart DMI et sa relation à la courbe de prix.

 

Dans cette copie d’écran, 2 signaux apparaissent. Un signal d’achat le 11 janvier et un signal de vente à découvert le 13 janvier.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Une position est ouverte sur un graphique 15 mn à chaque apparition d’une divergence entre l’écart DMI période 56 et la courbe de prix. Les directions de l’écart DMI et de la courbe de prix sont détectées sur la base des périodes passées prédéterminées 21 et 55. Une des périodes passées prédéterminées doit être environ d'une journée et l'autre d'une demi-journée.

Attention : Le back-test a démontré que des périodes passées prédéterminées plus courtes sont nécessaires lorsque la stratégie DMI Divergence est appliquée à des instruments financiers, comme les devises (Forex), qui sont exposés à des changements de tendance à court terme plus marqués.

Une position longue est ouverte lorsqu’une divergence haussière apparaît (indicateurs à la hausse mais courbe de prix à la baisse). Une vente à découvert est ouverte lorsqu’une divergence baissière apparaît (les indicateurs à la baisse mais la courbe de prix à la hausse).

Quand clôturer une position ?

Une position ouverte est clôturée soit lorsqu'une divergence opposée apparaît, soit lorsque le stop est touché. La stratégie DMI Divergence applique un stop suiveur à 50 points.

 

Cette copie d’écran montre les mêmes 2 signaux que ci-dessus. La première position est clôturée  lorsque la divergence opposée apparaît (une divergence baissière à la suite d’une divergence haussière). La deuxième position est clôturée lorsque le stop suiveur est touché.  


 

Cette copie d’écran montre les résultats d’un back test de la stratégie DMI Divergence sur l’indice de marché EuroStoxx 50. Il est possible d’améliorer le résultat en ajoutant des filtres de tendance et/ou des filtres de volatilité.


Conclusion

La stratégie DMI Divergence utilise l’indicateur DMI Ecart pour détecter les divergences (voir la stratégie Topsy Turvy du Magazine "Traders" du 2/2011). La stratégie s’appuie également sur l’hypothèse basique de la divergence : lorsqu’une divergence apparaît entre une courbe de prix et une combinaison d’indicateurs, il est plus probable que ce soit la courbe de prix qui change de direction pour obtenir une convergence. Cette stratégie peut être appliquée à une grande variété d’instruments comme les indices de marché, l'or, le pétrole, le forex… Le nombre de signaux est limité à 3-5 par semaine. Les résultats dans un back-test sont tout à fait fiables.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Divergence DMI".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.