Trading strategy: CMO DIPRETURN

Description

A dip or a retracement is a counter movement within a trend. Dips can be very good entry opportunities. They offer a chance to re-enter in the direction of the trend with limited risk. The CMO DipReturn strategy detects and trades intraday dips. The strategy was developed for Forex trading in particular the EUR/USD market. CMO DipReturn can also be used for market indices and commodities.


   
Suitable for : Forex (EUR/USD...) but also all other markets
Instruments : Forex, Futures and CFD
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1 - 2 Trades per day
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

Entry signals are given by a modified version of trader Tushar Chande’s  Momentum Oscillator. It indicates changes of direction very well and therefore is capable of showing the trader when the market comes out of a dip. The dip signals, however, require meticulous filtering. In order to filter the dip signals the strategy uses an interesting combination of a trend filter (TEMA) and a trend blocker (RAT). The strategy operates in a 5-minute time frame.

The CMO

Besides modifying trader Tushar Chande’s Momentum Oscillator we have also added overbought and oversold thresholds at +96 and -96 respectively. CMO values above or below this threshold are extreme situations. Extreme situations are potentially profitable. A return of the modified CMO below the Overbought threshold (+96) is a short sell signal. A return of the modified CMO above the Oversold threshold (-96) is a buy signal. These are the dips or retracements. Note that the long and short threshold values are identical (96). Non-identical values could lead to strategy over-optimization.

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : CMO DipReturn.  

In this example a buy signal occurs when the CMO returns above the Oversold (-96) threshold.

As mentioned above the dip signals need meticulous filtering. In order to do this the CMO DipReturn strategy has both a trend filter and a trend blocker. Each of these serve a particular purpose.

The TEMA trend filter

It is necessary for this strategy to have intraday trends indicated without delay. This is achieved by the Triple Exponential Moving Average (TEMA) trend filter. This filter is a very swift and fast moving average. It is well suited to serve as a trend filter for intraday trading. Whenever the price curve is above the TEMA, the trend is upwards (bullish). This is reflected by a green chart background. Whenever the price curve is below the TEMA, the trend is downwards. This is reflected by a red chart background. A TEMA calculated over one week (1440 5-minute periods) seems to deliver the best results.

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : CMO DipReturn.  

This example shows the TEMA trend filter indicating upward (green chart background) and downward (red chart background) trend zones.

The RAT blocker

The RAVEma Adaptive Trend blocker (RAT) is modified from trader-author Tushar Chande’s RAVI momentum indicator. High momentum indicates a strong trend. This strategy needs to block periods when the trend is too strong as we want to enter on dips before the strong trend continues. The RAT filter blocks out signals at times of strong trend. The parameters are classic 7 and 65 periods with a special 96 period EMA as threshold. When the RAT trend blocker is in action the background of the chart is neither green nor red.

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : CMO DipReturn.  

In this example the TEMA trend filter indicates a market with a bullish trend (green chart background). However, the RAT blocker, on two separate occasions, considers the trend too strong to react to dip return signals and thus colors the chart background neutral.

When to open a position?

This strategy belongs in the category of strategies called “trend continuation”. When the trader detects a dip or retracement, for example an oversold situation within a long trend, a profit can be made by entering the market as soon as it moves out of the oversold sentiment and back into the trend.

A long position is opened when the modified CMO (6 times 5 minutes) returns above the Oversold threshold (-96). A short position is opened when the modified CMO returns below the Overbought threshold (+96).

When to close a position?

The CMO DipReturn strategy uses both a trailing stop and a profit target. Both are calculated as multiples of the Average True Range (ATR) (5 times the 24-period ATR) in order to keep into account the intrinsic volatility of the financial instrument which the trader is trading. The multiple should be adapted to volatility of the instrument traded.

Attention. This strategy uses an end of period (EOP) trailing stop. This means the market can trade outside the stop without closing the position. It is only the final price of the candle which will determine if the stop is triggered or not.

Alternatively, positions are closed when the modified CMO passes the opposite threshold. This is more frequent than a position being closed on the basis of the trailing stop or the profit target.

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : CMO DipReturn.  

This example shows a quick trade on the EUR/USD future. The buysignal occurs when the CMO returns above the Oversold threshold (-96). The TEMA trend filter indicates a bullish trend and the RAT blocker considers the trend is not yet too strong. The position is closed with a profit when the CMO has been above the opposite threshold (Overbought).

 

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : CMO DipReturn.  

This example shows a trade on the EUR/USD future. The shortsell signal occurs when the CMO returns below the Overbought threshold (+96). The TEMA trend filter indicates a bearish trend and the RAT blocker considers the trend is not yet too strong. The position is closed with a profit when the profit target (green line) is reached.

 

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : CMO DipReturn.  

The number of dip signals generated by the CMO DipReturn strategy can vary from several per day to a few per week. The 100-day backtest looks promising.

Conclusion

The CMO DipReturn strategy generates day and swing trades. This nicely fine-tuned strategy was developed for Forex trading (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …) but can also be used for market indices and commodities (CFD of futures). Dips or retracements are not uncommon in trending markets. The art lies in only identifying the potentially profitable dips. The strategy selects dips in an intelligent and interesting way. It combines a trend filter (to indicate the main trend) and a trend blocker (to indicate if the trend is already too strong). A very interesting strategy.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS CMO DipReturn".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : CMO DipReturn

Description

Un "dip" ou retracement est un mouvement en sens opposé à l’intérieur d’une tendance. Les retracements peuvent constituer de très bonnes opportunités d’entrée en position. Ils offrent une chance d’entrer en position en suivant la tendance avec un risque limité. La stratégie CMO DipReturn détecte et trade les retracements intraday. La stratégie a été développée pour le trading du Forex et en particulier le marché EUR/USD. CMO DipReturn peut aussi être utilisé pour les indices de marché et les matières premières.


  
Valable pour : Forex (EUR/USD ...) et tout autre marché
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1-2 signaux par jour
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Les signaux d’entrée sont donnés par une version modifiée de l’indicateur Momentum Oscillator, créé par le trader Tushar Chande. Cet indicateur détecte très bien les changements de direction et est ainsi capable de montrer au trader quand le marché sort d’un retracement. Les signaux de retracement nécessitent un filtrage méticuleux. Afin d’effectuer ce filtrage, la stratégie utilise la combinaison d’un filtre de tendance (TEMA) et d’un bloqueur de tendance (RAT). La stratégie opère sur une échelle de temps de 5 minutes.

Le CMO

Nous avons ajouté à la version modifiée de l’indicateur de Tushar Chande, Momentum Oscillator, des seuils de sur-achat et de survente à respectivement +96 et -96. Les valeurs CMO au-dessus ou en-dessous de ces seuils sont des situations extrêmes. Les situations extrêmes sont potentiellement profitables. Un retour du CMO modifié en-dessous du seuil de sur-achat (+96) est un signal de vente short. Un retour du CMO au-dessus du seuil de survente (-96) est un signal d’achat. Ce sont les "dips", ou retracements. Notez que les valeurs de seuil long et short sont identiques (96). Des valeurs non-identiques pourraient mener à une sur-optimisation de la stratégie.

 

Dans cet écran un signal d’achat apparaît lorsque le CMO retourne au-dessus du seuil de survente (-96).


Comme mentionné ci-dessus, les signaux de retracement nécessitent un filtrage méticuleux. La stratégie CMO DipReturn utilise à la fois un filtre de tendance et un bloqueur de tendance. Chacun joue un rôle bien particulier.

Le filtre de tendance TEMA

Il est nécessaire pour cette stratégie de voir la tendance intraday s’afficher rapidement. Ceci est fait au moyen du filtre de tendance Triple Exponential Moving Average (TEMA). Ce filtre est une moyenne mobile très véloce. Ainsi elle convient très bien comme filtre de tendance pour du trading intraday. A chaque fois que la courbe de prix est au-dessus du TEMA, la tendance est à la hausse (bullish). Ceci est reflété par un arrière-plan de graphique vert. Lorsque la courbe de prix est en-dessous du TEMA, la tendance est à la baisse. Dans ce cas, l’arrière-plan du graphique sera rouge. Un TEMA calculé sur une semaine (1440 périodes de 5 minutes) semble livrer les meilleurs résultats.

 

Cet écran montre le filtre de tendance indiquant des zones de tendance à la hausse (vert) et à la baisse (rouge).

Le RAT

Le bloqueur de tendance RAVEma Adaptive Trend blocker (RAT) est dérivé de l’indicateur RAVI momentum indicator du trader et auteur Tushar Chande. High momentum indique les tendances fortes. Notre stratégie doit bloquer les périodes où la tendance est trop prononcée, puisque nous souhaitons entrer en position lors de retracements et avant la reprise de la tendance. Le filtre RAT bloque les signaux lorsque la tendance est forte. Les paramètres sont traditionnellement des périodes de 7 et 65 avec une Moyenne Mobile Exponentielle de 96 périodes en guise de seuil. Lorsque le bloqueur de tendance RAT est actif, l’arrière-plan n’est ni vert, ni rouge.

 

Dans cet écran, le filtre de tendance TEMA indique un marché avec une tendance à la hausse (arrière-plan du graphique vert). Cependant le bloqueur RAT considère à deux reprises que la tendance est trop forte pour pouvoir réagir aux signaux de retracement et neutralise la couleur sur le graphique.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Cette stratégie fait partie de la catégorie des stratégies dites de "continuation de tendance". Lorsque le trader détecte un retracement, par exemple une situation de survente à l’intérieur d’une tendance de longue durée, un bénéfice peut être réalisé en entrant sur le marché dès que celui-ci sort du sentiment de survente pour suivre de nouveau la tendance.

Une position longue est ouverte lorsque le CMO modifié (6 fois 5 minutes) repasse au-dessus du seuil de survente (-96). Une position short est ouverte lorsque le CMO modifié repasse en-dessous du seuil de sur-achat (+96).

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie CMO DipReturn  utilise à la fois un stop trailing (stop traqueur) et un profit target. Les deux sont calculés comme multiples de l’ATR (Average True Range) (5 fois l’ATR en 24 périodes) afin de prendre en compte la volatilité intrinsèque de l’instrument financier choisi par le trader. Le multiple doit être adapté à la volatilité.

Alternativement, les positions sont clôturées lorsque le CMO modifié dépasse le seuil opposé. Ce cas de figure est plus fréquent que la fermeture d’une position en fonction du stop trailing ou du profit target.

 

Cet écran montre un trade rapide sur le future EUR/USD. Le signal d’achat se produit lorsque le CMO passe au-dessus du seuil de survente (-96). Le filtre de tendance TEMA indique une tendance à la hausse et le bloqueur RAT considère que la tendance n’est pas encore trop forte. La position est fermée avec un profit lorsque le CMO est passé au-dessus du seuil opposé (sur-achat).


 

Cet écran montre une vente short sur le future EUR/USD. Le signal de vente à découvert se produit lorsque le CMO passe en-dessous du seuil de sur-achat (+96). Le filtre de tendance TEMA indique une tendance à la baisse et le bloqueur RAT considère que la tendance n’est pas encore trop forte. La position est fermée avec un gain lorsque le profit target (ligne verte) est atteint.


 

Le nombre de signaux de retracements générés par la stratégie CMO DipReturn peut varier de quelques uns par jour à quelques uns par semaine. Le backtest sur 100 jours est très prometteur.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie CMO DipReturn génère des day trades et des swing trades. Cette stratégie bien ficelée a été développée pour le trading du Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …), mais elle peut également être utilisée pour les indices de marché et les matières premières (CFD ou futures). Les retracements ne sont pas rares sur un marché directionnel. L’art réside dans l’identification des retracements les plus profitables. C’est ce que fait cette stratégie de manière très intelligente et intéressante en combinant à la fois un filtre de tendance (qui indique la tendance principale) et un bloqueur de tendance (qui indique si la tendance est trop forte). Une stratégie très intéressante.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS CMO DipReturn".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.