Trading strategy: Ichimoku KBO

Description

The Ichimoku Kumo Break-out strategy (KBO) is one of the lesser known strategies within the Ichimoku system developed by Goichi Hosoda. Ichimoku is a finely-tuned, integrated charting system where 5 lines all work in concert to produce buy and sell signals. It is used extensively in Asian trading rooms but only started to appear in the West in the 1990s. Several strategies are derived from the Ichimoku system. Ichimoku KBO is one of them.


  
Suitable for : Forex (EUR/USD …)
: Indices (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
: Commodities (Oil, Gold, …)
: Stocks
Instruments : Futures, CFDs and Forex
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : Low - Depending on time frame
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Ichimoku charting system consists of 5 separate indicators (lines). 4 Of these lines are based on different time frames:

Tenkan Sen (turning line): An average of the highest highs and lowest lows over the last 9 periods. This line represents a price equilibrium level over the last 9 periods. Tenkan Sen measures short-term momentum and can be interpreted in the same manner as a moving average.

Kijun Sen (standard line): An average of the highest highs and lowest lows over the last 26 periods. This line represents a price equilibrium level over the last 26 periods. Because of its longer period, Kijun Sen is more a measure of momentum than Tenkan Sen. A flat Kijun Sen indicates a range bound price. A sloped Kijun Sen indicates a trend, with the slope of the line indicating the trend’s momentum.

 

In this screenshot the Tenkan Sen (red)  is a support for the downtrend from A to B and for the uptrend from B to C. The flat Kijun Sen (blue) indicates a trading range. A sloped Kijun Sen indicates momentum.


Senkou Span A (1st leading line): An average of Tenkan Sen and Kijun Sen, plotted 26 periods ahead. The average of Tenkan Sen and Kijun Sen indicates medium term price equilibrium level with support and resistance levels. Time-shifting this line forward makes it easy to compare prices today with prior support and resistance levels.

Senkou Span B (2nd leading line): An average of the highest highs and the lowest lows over the last 52 periods, i.e. the mid-point of the range of prices over the last 52 periods, plotted 26 periods ahead. Senkou Span B measures the price’s long-term momentum.

The area between Senkou Span A and Senkou Span B is called Kumo, the cloud. The cloud is colored in red when the trend is bearish (Senkou Span A is below Senkou Span B). The cloud is colored in green when the trend is bullish (Senkou Span A is above Senkou Span B).

 

In this screenshot both a bullish and bearish cloud (Kumo) are visible.


Chikou Span (lagging line): it represents the current closing price time-shifted backwards by 26 periods. While the rationale behind this may at first appear confusing, it becomes very clear once we consider that it allows traders to quickly see how today’s price action compares to the price action of 26 periods ago

Several publications give different descriptions of the various strategies that can be derived from the exploitation of the Ichimoku charting system. The Ichimoku KBO strategy detailed in this text is based on the market breaking out of the clouds.  The text shows the strategy applied in a 1-day time frame. The strategy can also be applied in a 1-week time frame.

When to open a position?

A buy signal is generated when the market closes above a cloud’s upper border. A sell signal is generated when the market closes below a cloud’s lower border.

 

In this example the market has crossed through and closed above the cloud's upper edge. This is a buy signal. Note: to make it easy to identify these occurrences the chart background is colored green. There is a second buy signal several days later. Given that we already have an open position the signal is not relevant.


 

In this example the market has crossed through and closed below the cloud's lower edge. This is a short sell signal. Note: to make it easy to identify these occurrences the chart background is colored red. There is a second short sell signal several days later. Given that we already have an open position the signal is not relevant.

When to close a position?

The Ichimoku KBO strategy relies solely on a stop.  The stop follows the lower edge of a cloud in the case of a long position and the upper edge of a cloud in the case of a short position.

 

In this example a long position is opened when the market breaks upwards out of the cloud. Six days later the position is stopped out with a loss.


 

In this example a short position is opened when the market breaks downwards out of a cloud. Two months later the stop is touched and the position is closed with a small profit.


Attention. This last example seems to be a frequent scenario with the Ichimoku KBO strategy. At the beginning the position evolves very favourably only to be closed later with only a small profit or even a loss. Traders might want to explore a trailing stop, a time stop or some other similar tool to remedy this issue.

 

Conclusion

Ichimoku KBO is a break-out strategy based on the five Ichimoku trend lines and the "clouds" they form. The clouds represents a medium term zone of price equilibrium. When the market breaks out of the cloud the probability of the market starting a strong trend is considered high. Ichimoku is used in all financial centers and information about the system can be found in numerous publications. It is nevertheless important to carefully analyze the historic results of the strategy on the instrument(s) you wish to trade before putting it into practice. The strategy can be used for market indices, forex, commodities, individual shares, etc. Large time frames such as days and weeks tend to give the better results.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Ichimoku KBO".

  • Change the time frame to 1 week if you prefer it to 1 day.

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Ichimoku Kumo Break-out

Description

La stratégie Ichimoku Kumo Break-out (Ichimoku KBO) est l’une des stratégies les moins connues au sein du système Ichimoku, développé par Goichi Hosoda. Le système Ichimoku est un système soigneusement réglé de graphique intégré, dans lequel 5 lignes travaillent de concert pour générer des signaux d’achat et de vente. Il est utilisé de façon intensive dans les salles de trading asiatiques, mais n’est apparu en Occident que dans les années 1990. Plusieurs stratégies dérivent de ce système Ichimoku. La stratégie Ichimoku KBO est l’une d’entre elles.


  
Valable pour : Forex (EUR/USD …)
: Indices (FTSE, CAC, DAX ...)
: Matières premières (Pétrole, or, …)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : Faible - Dépend de l’unité de temps
La Stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Le système de graphique Ichimoku comprend 5 indicateurs distincts (lignes). 4 de ces lignes sont basées sur des unités de temps différentes :

Tenkan Sen (ligne tournante): une moyenne des hauts les plus hauts et des bas les plus bas des 9 dernières périodes. La ligne représente un niveau d’équilibre des prix des 9 dernières périodes. Tenkan Sen mesure un mouvement à court terme et peut être interprétée de la même manière qu’une moyenne mobile.

Kijun Sen (ligne standard): une moyenne des hauts les plus hauts et des bas les plus bas des 26 dernières périodes. La ligne représente un niveau d’équilibre des prix des 26 dernières périodes. Du fait de sa période plus longue, Kijun Sen est plus considérée comme une mesure de tendance que Tenkan Sen. Une Kijun Sen plate indique un prix limité à une zone de prix. Une Kijun Sen inclinée indique une tendance, la pente de la ligne indiquant le mouvement de la tendance.

 

Sur cette copie d’écran, la Tenkan Sen (en rouge) est un support pour la tendance baissière de A à B, et pour la tendance haussière de B à C. La Kijun Sen plate (en bleu) indique une zone de trading. Une Kijun Sen inclinée indique une tendance.


Senkou Span A (1ère ligne directionnelle) : une moyenne entre la Tenkan Sen et la Kijun Sen, projetée 26 périodes en avant. Cette moyenne entre Tenkan Sen et Kijun Sen indique un niveau d’équilibre de prix à moyen terme, avec des niveaux de support et de résistance. Projeter cette ligne dans le temps facilite la comparaison des prix aujourd’hui avec des niveaux de support et de résistance préalables.

Senkou Span B (2ème ligne directionnelle) : une moyenne des hauts les plus hauts et des bas les plus bas des 52 dernières périodes, c’est-à-dire le point médian de la zone de prix sur les 52 dernières périodes, projeté 26 périodes en avant. Senkou Span B mesure la tendance de prix sur le long terme.

La zone entre Senkou Span A et Senkou Span B s’appelle Kumo (le nuage). Le nuage est coloré en rouge lorsque la tendance est baissière (Senkou Span A est en-dessous de Senkou Span B). Le nuage est coloré en vert lorsque la tendance est haussière (Senkou Span A est au-dessus de Senkou Span B).

 

Sur cette copie d’écran les deux types de nuages (Kumo), baissier et haussier, sont visibles.


Chikou Span (ligne retardée) : elle représente le prix de clôture actuel projeté 26 périodes en arrière. Même si cette manipulation peut paraître déroutante au départ, elle devient très claire dès lors que l’on considère que cela permet aux traders de comparer rapidement le prix aujourd’hui au prix 26 périodes plus tôt.

De nombreuses publications décrivent les diverses stratégies qui peuvent être dérivées de l’exploitation du système de graphique Ichimoku. La stratégie Ichimoku KBO détaillée dans ce texte se base sur la cassure des nuages par le marché. Le texte expose la stratégie appliquée à une unité de temps de 1 jour. Cette stratégie peut également être utilisée avec une unité de temps de 1 semaine.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat est généré lorsque le marché traverse la bordure supérieure du nuage. Un signal de vente est généré lorsque le marché traverse la bordure inférieure du nuage.

 

Dans cet exemple, le marché a traversé la bordure supérieure du nuage, générant un signal d’achat. Note : l’arrière-plan du graphique est coloré en vert, ce qui permet d’identifier plus facilement ce type d’événement. Il y a un deuxième signal d’achat quelques jours plus tard. Comme une position est déjà ouverte, ce signal n’est pas utile.


 

Dans cet exemple, le marché a traversé la bordure inférieure du nuage, générant un signal de vente short. Note : l’arrière-plan du graphique est coloré en rouge, ce qui permet d’identifier plus facilement ce type d’événement. Il y a un deuxième signal de vente short quelques jours plus tard. Comme une position est déjà ouverte, ce signal n’est pas utile.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie Ichimoku KBO s’appuie uniquement sur un stop. Ce stop suit la bordure inférieure du nuage pour une position longue et la bordure supérieure du nuage pour une position short.

 

Dans cet exemple, une position longue est ouverte quand le marché perce le haut du nuage. Six jours plus tard, la position est clôturée par un stop avec une perte.


 

Dans cet exemple, une position short est ouverte quand le marché perce le bas du nuage. Deux mois plus tard, le stop est touché et la position est clôturée avec un petit profit.


Note : le dernier exemple semble être un événement fréquent avec Ichimoku KBO. Une position qui évolue au départ très positivement sera finalement clôturée avec un petit profit ou même avec une perte. Les traders peuvent éventuellement étudier l’option d’un trailing stop, d’un time stop ou d’un outil similaire pour remédier à ce problème.

 

Conclusion

Ichimoku KBO est une stratégie de cassure basée sur les 5 lignes de tendance Ichimoku et les "nuages" qu’elles forment. Les nuages représentent une zone d’équilibre des prix à moyen terme. Quand le marché traverse un nuage, la probabilité que ce marché amorce une tendance forte est considérée comme élevée. Ichimoku est utilisé dans tous les centres financiers et des informations à propos de ce système peuvent être trouvées dans de nombreuses publications. Il est néanmoins important d’analyser avec soin les résultats historiques de la stratégie sur le(s) instrument(s) que vous souhaitez trader avant de la mettre en pratique. La stratégie peut-être utilisée pour trader les indices de marché, le forex, les matières premières, les actions individuelles, etc. Des unités de temps importantes comme les jours et les semaines ont tendance à donner de meilleurs résultats.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Ichimoku KBO".

  • Changez l’unité de temps à 1 semaine si vous préférez cela à 1 jour.

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.