Trading strategy: HOLP (buy signals)

Description

The HOLP strategy was developed by trader-author John F. Carter in his book 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups' (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). The strategy, which gives buy signals, is a reversal strategy. Reversal strategies try to determine the point in time when a trend reverses direction. In his book John F. Carter is actually skeptical of taking a position against the trend, quoting classics like "never catch a falling knife" (buy a steep sell off) and "never step in front of a train" (short sell a strong market). Given his skepticism he decides to base his strategy on the one single factor which he deems relevant: the market price.

   
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Commodities (oil, gold…)
: Shares
Instruments : Futures, CFDs and Forex
Trading type : Swing and day trading
Trading tempo : Depends on the timeframe
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

HOLP is an acronym for "High Of the Low Period". It is a difficult name for a simple strategy. These are the criteria which generate a buy signal.

   

1: Find a close which is a 20-period low.

2: Identify the bar with the lowest low over these 20 periods. This is usually the last bar but not always.

3: Identify the high point of the bar with the lowest low. Buy a long position after the first close above this high.

John F. Carter uses the strategy for all financial instruments. He generally trades it on the basis of a day chart but the strategy is valid for all timeframes, including timeframes such as 60’ or 30’ for intraday plays.

When to open a position?

After the first close above the high of the bar with the lowest low occurs a long position is opened.

  This example shows the 20-period low. The buy signal (large green triangle) is executed at the start of the day after the first market close (little green triangle) above the high of the candle with the lowest low.

When to close a position?

The HOLP strategy uses a stop. It does not use a profit target.

   

1: Initially the stop is the low of the bar with the lowest low.

2: If the position is still open two periods later the stop changes to a trailing stop with level always the low of two bars back.

Attention
: The level of the trailing stop is the low of two candles back. As a consequence the level can go down sometimes. Although not dramatic this is against the general rule of trading to never replace a safer stop with a less safe stop.

Attention
: The HOLP strategy has a mirror strategy called LOHP. The LOHP strategy gives short sell signals. Backtesting reveals that both strategies are very sensitive to the main, long term market trend. So only apply LOHP (short signals) when the market trend is down and, only apply HOLP (buy signals) when the market is up.

The below screenshots illustrate the good results that can be obtained with these strategies on the condition that the right strategy is applied in function of the main market trend.

 

This screenshot shows the HOLP strategy applied during a bull market. The result is good.



 

This screenshot shows the LOHP strategy applied during the same bull market. The result is not good.



 

This screenshot shows the HOLP strategy applied during a bear market. The result is not good.



 

This screenshot shows the LOHP strategy applied during the same bear market. The results is good.

 

Conclusion

The HOLP strategy can be used for swing trading and day trading. It was developed by trader-author John F. Carter in his book 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups'. The strategy can be applied to all financial instruments and gives only buy signals. John F. Carter also developed a mirror strategy for short sell signals. It is called the LOHP strategy. These strategies seem to give good results but only when the right strategy is applied to the right long term market trend. HOLP when the trend is up. LOHP when the trend is down. The strategies are valid in all timeframes. John F. Carter tends to use it on day charts.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS HOLP".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : HOLP (signaux d'achat)

Description

La stratégie HOLP a été développée par l’auteur-trader John F. Carter dans son livre : 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups' (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). La stratégie, qui donne des signaux d’achat, est une stratégie de retournement. Les stratégies de retournement visent à déterminer le moment lorsqu'une tendance change de direction.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (FTSE, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Matières premières (pétrole, or…)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Swing et day trading
Fréquence de trading : Dépend de l’unité de temps
La stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

HOLP est l’acronyme de "High Of a Low Period", c’est-à-dire "le haut d’une période basse". Ce nom compliqué s’applique en réalité à une stratégie simple. Voici les critères utilisés par la stratégie pour générer un signal d’achat :

   

1 : Trouvez un prix de clôture correspondant à un plus bas sur 20 périodes.

2 : Identifiez la barre dont le prix bas est le plus bas sur les 20 périodes. Il s’agit en général de la dernière bougie, mais pas toujours.

3 : Retenez le prix haut de la barre avec le plus bas prix bas. Ouvrez une position longue après la première clôture au dessus de ce haut.
John F. Carter utilise cette stratégie pour tous les instruments financiers. En général, il la trade sur des graphiques journaliers mais la stratégie est applicable sur toutes les unités de temps, y compris en 60’ ou 30’ pour des prises de position en intraday.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

A la première clôture au dessus du haut de la bougie dont le prix bas est le plus bas, une position longue est ouverte.

 

Cet exemple montre tout d’abord le plus bas sur 20 périodes. Le signal d’achat (grand triangle vert) est exécuté au début de la journée suite à la première clôture du marché ( petit triangle vert) au-dessus du haut de la bougie la plus basse.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie HOLP utilise un ordre stop. Elle n’utilise pas d’objectif.

   

1 : Initialement, le stop est placé au niveau du bas de la bougie la plus basse.

2 : Si la position est toujours ouverte après deux périodes, le stop se transforme en un stop suiveur dont le niveau sera toujours le plus bas des deux bougies précédentes.

Attention
: Le stop suiveur est situé au niveau du bas des deux bougies précédentes. Par conséquent, son niveau peut parfois baisser. Bien que cela ne soit pas dramatique, cela va à l’encontre de la règle générale de trading qui préconise de ne jamais remplacer un stop sécurisé par un stop moins sécurisé.

Attention
: La stratégie HOLP a une stratégie miroir appelée LOHP. La stratégie LOHP donne des signaux de vente. Le backtesting montre que les deux stratégies sont très sensibles à la tendance générale sur le long terme du marché. Il est donc préférable d’appliquer LOHP (signaux de vente) quand la tendance du marché est baissière, et d’appliquer HOLP (signaux d’achat) quand le marché est haussier.

Les copies d’écran ci-dessous illustrent les bons résultats qui peuvent être obtenus avec ces stratégies, à condition que la bonne stratégie soit appliquée selon la tendance générale du marché.

 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie d’achat HOLP dans un marché haussier. Ses résultats sont bons.



 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie de vente LOHP dans le même marché haussier que précédemment. Ses résultats ne sont pas bons.



 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie d’achat HOLP dans un marché baissier. Ses résultats ne sont pas bons.



 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie de vente LOHP dans le même marché baissier que précédemment. Ses résultats sont bons.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie HOLP peut être utilisée pour le swing trading comme pour le day trading. Elle a été développée par l’auteur-trader John F. Carter dans son livre 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups'. Cette stratégie peut être appliquée à tous les instruments financiers et ne donne que des signaux d’achat. John F. Carter a également développé une stratégie miroir, la stratégie LOHP, qui donne des signaux de vente. Ces stratégies semblent donner de bons résultats lorsqu’elles sont appliquées au contexte approprié, HOLP quand la tendance est à la hausse, LOHP quand la tendance est à la baisse. Ces stratégies sont applicables à toutes les unités de temps. John F. Carter tend à les utiliser avec des graphiques journaliers.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS HOLP".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.