Trading strategy: LOHP (short sell signals)

Description

The LOHP strategy was developed by trader-author John F. Carter in his book 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups' (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). The strategy, which gives sell signals, is a reversal strategy. Reversal strategies try to determine the point in time when a trend reverses direction. In his book John F. Carter is actually skeptical of taking a position against the trend, quoting classics like "never catch a falling knife" (buy a steep sell off) and "never step in front of a train" (short sell a strong market). Given his skepticism he decides to base his strategy on the one single factor which he considers relevant: the market price.


   
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Commodities (oil, gold…)
: Shares
Instruments : Futures, CFDs and Forex
Trading type : Swing and day trading
Trading tempo : Depends on the timeframe
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

LOHP is an acronym for "Low Of the High Period". It is a difficult name for a simple strategy. These are the criteria which generate a short sell signal.

   

1: Find a close which is a 20-period high.

2: Identify the bar with the highest high over these 20 periods. This is usually the last bar but not always.

3: Identify the low point of the bar with the highest high. Open a short sell position after the first close below this low.

John F. Carter uses the strategy for all financial instruments. He generally trades it on the basis of a day chart but the strategy is valid for all timeframes, including timeframes such as 60’ or 30’ for intraday plays.

When to open a position?

After the first close below the low of the bar with the highest high occurs a short sell position is opened.

  This example shows the 20-period high. The short sell (large red triangle), however, takes place four days later, after the market closed (little red triangle) below the low of the candle with the highest high.

When to close a position?

The LOHP strategy uses a stop. It does not use a profit target.

   

1: Initially the stop is the high of the bar with the highest high.

2: If the position is still open two periods later the stop changes to a trailing stop with level always the high of two bars back.

Attention
: The level of the trailing stop is the high of two candles back. As a consequence the level can go up sometimes. Although not dramatic this is against the general rule of trading to never replace a safer stop with a less safe stop.

Attention
: The LOHP strategy has a mirror strategy called HOLP. The HOLP strategy gives buy signals. Backtesting reveals that both strategies, are very sensitive to the main, long term market trend. So only apply LOHP (short sell signals) when the market trend is down and, only apply HOLP (buy signals) when the market up.

The below screenshots illustrate the good results that can be obtained with these strategies on the condition that the right strategy is applied in function of the main market trend.

 

This screenshot shows the HOLP buy strategy applied during a bull market. The result is good.



 

This screenshot shows the LOHP short sell strategy applied during the same bull market. The result is not good.



 

This screenshot shows the HOLP buy strategy applied during a bear market. The result is not good.



 

This screenshot shows the LOHP short sell strategy applied during the same bear market. The result is good.

 

Conclusion

The LOHP strategy can be used for swing trading and day trading. It was developed by trader-author John F. Carter in his book 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups'. The strategy can be applied to all financial instruments and gives only short sell signals. John F. Carter also developed a mirror strategy for buy signals. It is called the HOLP strategy. These strategies seem to give good results but only when the right strategy is applied to the right long term market trend. HOLP when the trend is up. LOHP when the trend is down. The strategies are valid in all timeframes. John F. Carter tends to use it on day charts.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS LOHP".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : LOHP (signaux de vente)

Description

La stratégie LOHP a été développée par l’auteur-trader John F. Carter dans son livre : 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups' (ISBN 0-07-145958-8). La stratégie, qui donne des signaux de vente, est une stratégie de retournement. Les stratégies de retournement visent à déterminer le moment lorsqu'une tendance change de direction.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (FTSE, DAX, AEX ...)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD …)
: Matières premières (pétrole, or…)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Swing et day trading
Fréquence de trading : Dépend de l’unité de temps
La stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

LOHP est l’acronyme de "Low Of a High Period", c’est-à-dire "le bas d’une période haute". Ce nom compliqué s’applique en réalité à une stratégie simple. Voici les critères utilisés par la stratégie pour générer un signal de vente :

   

1 : Trouvez un prix de clôture correspondant à un plus haut sur 20 périodes.

2 : Identifiez la barre dont le prix haut est le plus haut sur les 20 périodes. Il s’agit en général de la dernière barre, mais pas toujours.

3 : Retenez le prix bas de la barre avec le prix le plus haut. Ouvrez une position de vente après la première clôture en dessous de ce bas.

John F. Carter utilise cette stratégie pour tous les instruments financiers. En général, il la trade sur des graphiques journaliers mais la stratégie est applicable sur toutes les unités de temps, y compris en 60’ ou 30’ pour des prises de position en intraday.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

A la première clôture en dessous du bas de la bougie dont le prix haut est le plus haut, une position de vente est ouverte.

 

Cet exemple montre tout d’abord le plus haut sur 20 périodes. La vente (grand triangle rouge) a lieu quatre jours plus tard à l'ouverture, lorsque le marché clôture pour la première fois (petit triangle rouge) en dessous du bas de la bougie la plus haute.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie LOHP utilise un ordre stop. Elle n’utilise pas d’objectif.

   

1 : Initialement, le stop est placé au niveau du haut de la bougie la plus haute.

2 : Si la position est toujours ouverte après deux périodes, le stop se transforme en un stop suiveur dont le niveau sera toujours le haut des deux bougies précédentes.

Attention
: Le stop suiveur est situé au niveau du haut des deux bougies précédentes. Par conséquent, son niveau peut parfois monter. Bien que cela ne soit pas dramatique, cela va à l’encontre de la règle générale de trading qui préconise de ne jamais remplacer un stop sécurisé par un stop moins sécurisé.

Attention
: La stratégie LOHP a une stratégie miroir appelée HOLP. La stratégie HOLP donne des signaux d’achat. Le backtesting montre que les deux stratégies sont très sensibles à la tendance générale sur le long terme du marché. Il est donc préférable d’appliquer LOHP (signaux de vente) quand la tendance du marché est baissier, et d’appliquer HOLP (signaux d’achat) quand le marché est haussier.

Les copies d’écran ci-dessous illustrent les bons résultats qui peuvent être obtenus avec ces stratégies, à condition que la bonne stratégie soit appliquée selon la tendance générale du marché.

 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie d’achat HOLP dans un marché haussier. Ses résultats sont bons.



 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie de vente LOHP dans le même marché haussier que précédemment. Ses résultats ne sont pas bons.



 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie d’achat HOLP dans un marché baissier. Ses résultats ne sont pas bons.



 

Cette copie d’écran montre la stratégie de vente LOHP dans le même marché baissier que précédemment. Ses résultats sont bons.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie LOHP peut être utilisée pour le swing trading comme pour le day trading. Elle a été développée par l’auteur-trader John F. Carter dans son livre 'Mastering the trade: proven techniques for profiting from intraday and swing trading set ups'. Cette stratégie peut être appliquée à tous les instruments financiers et donne uniquement des signaux de vente. John F. Carter a également développé une stratégie miroir, la stratégie HOLP, qui donne des signaux d’achat. Ces stratégies semblent donner de bons résultats lorsqu’elles sont appliquées au contexte approprié, HOLP quand la tendance est à la hausse, LOHP quand la tendance est à la baisse. Ces stratégies sont applicables à toutes les unités de temps. John F. Carter tend à les utiliser dans des graphiques jour.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS LOHP".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.