Trading strategy: Hammer Pattern

Description

The Hammer is a type of candle. Individual candles are of limited value to traders. Candle patterns -recurring combinations of candles- are much more interesting. Stefan Salomon, who maintains www.candlestick.de, identified a candlestick pattern around the Hammer candle. This pattern forms the basis of one of his trading strategies. The code for the strategy was developed by Claus Grube, himself the author of several trading strategies.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, AEX …)
: Shares
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Swing trading
Trading tempo : 1-3 Signals per day using Scripts or LiveTables
The strategy : Video
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Hammer candle is defined as a candle which occurs at the end of a down-trend, which has a small body, almost no shadow above, and a longer shadow below.

The Hammer pattern is a pattern consisting of four candles. The two first candles need to be bearish candles. The third candle needs to be a Hammer candle. The fourth candle must be a bullish candle. The open of the fourth candle must be above the close of the Hammer candle.

An example of a Hammer pattern.


A Hammer pattern indicates a probable trend reversal. Hence, the strategy can be classified as a reversal strategy. A reversal strategy aims to identify the point in time when a trend reverses direction. The strategy is usually applied in a day or 60-minute timeframe.

When to open a position?

As soon as the Hammer pattern is confirmed by the fourth candle (the bullish candle with the higher open and close than the Hammer candle), a long position is bought at the market price at the next open. The strategy does not give short sell signals.

When to close a position?

A position is closed by one of two stops. There is no target. One stop is the low of the Hammer candle. The other stop is a trailing stop. It is calculated as 3 times the 5-period ATR (Average True Range).

The NanoTrader Full platform allows traders to put in more than one stop at the same time. The platform will always activate the stop which is ‘safest’ i.e. the stop which is closed to the market price. In the Hammer pattern strategy the trailing stop is initially below the other stop. Once the position moves in the right direction, however, the trailing stop will move above the other stop. At this moment the trailing stop is retained as the live stop.

 

This example shows a long position after a Hammer pattern. Initially the stop is the low of the Hammer candle. Later, when the position evolves positively, the trailing stop takes over. The position is closed with a profit.



 

This example shows a Hammer pattern on a 60-minutes Mini S&P chart. Initially the stop is the low of the Hammer candle. Later, when the position evolves positively, the trailing stop takes over. The position is closed with a profit.


Attention: Hammer patterns are rare. Given the rarity of the pattern, traders are obliged to check many financial instruments every day to find a few which display the pattern. WHS FutureStation Nano is superbly suitable for this task. It offers both Scripts for scanning on a day basis and Live Tables for real-time scanning. The Practical Implementation section below explains how Live Tables and Scripts can be used by everybody.

 

This example illustrates the rarity of the Hammer pattern. The pattern only occurred 6 times over a period of 12 years on the Eurostoxx 50 index.

 

Conclusion

The Hammer candlestick pattern strategy is used for trading shares. The strategy is usually used in a day or 60-minute timeframe. Traders could experiment with shorter timeframes. Given the rarity of Hammer patterns traders usually do an overnight (Script) or real-time (LiveTables) scan on a large number of shares. The success rate of Hammer pattern signals is probably about 50%. Losing signals, however, are usually closed fairly quickly whereas positions based on winning signals tend to remain open a long time.

 

This example shows one winning position and two losing positions on Lufthansa (60-minutes chart). The winning position remains open for a long time and generates a significant profit. The two losing positions are closed quickly with limited loss.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Hammer".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Automating the search for signals: Scripts and LiveTables

  • Using a Script to search for signals

    The purpose of a script is to scan many financial instruments in order to find signals. Some strategies, e.g. the Hammer pattern strategy, give few buy/sell signals. The quality of these signals, however, is high. The best way to trade such a strategy is via a Script.

    A Script is usually used for trading markets on a day timeframe. It is executed in the morning or the evening of the day before so the trader can place his orders before the opening of the market.

    1. Prepare the strategy.
    Open the strategy with any financial instrument. In the Designer window, at the bottom, set all parameters to "Constant"...


  • 2. Save the strategy as a default template.
    Give it a name which indicates the strategy and timeframe. For example, Hammer Day.

    3. Create a new Script.
    Open the WorkSpace Bar. Right-click Script. Select "New".


    The Script Editor opens.

    Give your Script a name. It is advisable to use the name of the strategy, the timeframe and the financial instruments you are going to use the Script for. E.g. Hammer Day Shares.

    Click "Select Securities" and click the instruments you are interested in. Close the selection window. The instruments you selected are now visible in the Script Editor.

    Note: the "Stop after" parameters are not relevant since we put the parameters in the strategy on constant.

    Note: in the "Study settings" select the template study (strategy) you wish to apply. Put as Study-Label the same name you gave to your Script.

    Click "Save & Run". The Script will start processing. You can see the progress.

    When the Script has finished the result is visible in the RatingBar.

    The result contains four categories:
    - At the top are the financial instruments on which there is a signal today. These we can trade now.
    - Green lines: there was a signal in the past and a theoretical position is still open. The last column
    indicates if the theoretical position is currently profitable or not. Also investigate this category.
    A signal which is evolving positively may offer a trading opportunity. In fact, some traders prefer
    this to a "fresh" signal.
    - Grey lines: there was a signal in the past but the theoretical position is closed.
    - The final category is instruments on which there has never been a signal.

    Note: To quickly see the graphs of each financial instrument in your result drag and drop the name from the RatingBar into an open chart.

    Note: Once you ran your Script once you can simply run it every evening (after the close) or in the morning (before the open). Right-clicking your Script in the Scripts folder. Select "Create Status Report". This will give you the potential trades of the day.


    Additional information on Scripts can be found in the Help file of the trading platform under "NanoTrader_TradingSystems".

  • Using LiveTables to search for signals

    LiveTables perform real-time scans of strategies to a list of financial instruments. It is used for intraday strategies with a timeframe of minutes to one hour.

    The first step, like with a Script, is to make the template study (or use a WHS template study like the Hammer). Set all variable parameters to "Constant" and save it as detailed above in Scripts.

  • Right-click LiveTables in the WorkSpace Bar. Select "New - Study". This opens a LiveTable.

    From the WorkSpace Bar drag and drop the instrument you wish to scan into the LiveTable.

    Right-click in the Study column of your LiveTable and select "Template Studies". Select the template study you wish to live scan on the instrument Save your LiveTable.

Strategie de trading : La figure Marteau

Description

Le Marteau (Hammer en Anglais) est un type de chandelier. Un chandelier en soi n'a qu'une valeur limitée pour un trader. Les figures de chandeliers -combinaisons récurrentes de chandeliers- sont par contre beaucoup plus intéressantes. Stefan Salomon, trader et gestionnaire du site web www.candlestick.de, a identifié une figure de chandeliers autour du Marteau. Cette figure forme la base d’une de ses stratégies de trading. Le code de la stratégie a été développé par Claus Grube, lui-même auteur de plusieurs stratégies de trading.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marches (CAC 40, DAX, AEX …)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures et CFD
Type de trading : Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : 1-3 signaux par jour avec Scripts ou LiveTables
La stratégie : Vidéo explicative  
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Le chandelier Marteau est un chandelier qui apparaît à la fin d’une tendance baissière. Son corps est petit, pratiquement sans mèche haussière mais avec une longue mèche baissière.

La figure Marteau est composée de 4 chandeliers. Les deux premiers chandeliers doivent être baissiers. Le troisième chandelier doit être un Marteau. Le quatrième chandelier doit être haussier. L’ouverture du quatrième chandelier doit être supérieur à la clôture du Marteau.

Un exemple de figure Marteau.


Une figure Marteau indique un probable renversement de tendance. C’est pourquoi la stratégie peut être classée parmi les stratégies de retournement. Une stratégie de retournement a pour objectif d’identifier le moment où une tendance change de direction. La stratégie est généralement appliquée dans une unité de temps jour ou 60 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Dès que la figure Marteau est confirmée par le quatrième chandelier, une position longue est ouverte au prix du marché à la prochaine ouverture. La stratégie ne donne pas de signaux de vente à découvert.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Une position est clôturée par l'un de deux stops. Il n'y a pas d'objectif. L'un des stops est le bas du Marteau. L'autre stop est un stop suiveur. Il est positionné à une distance égale à 3 fois l'ATR (Average True Range, la volatilité instrinsèque) des 5 dernières périodes.

La plateforme WHS FutureStation Nano permet aux traders de placer plusieurs stops à la fois. La plateforme activera toujours le stop 'le plus conservateur', c.-à-d. le stop le plus proche du cours du marché. Dans la stratégie de figure Marteau, le stop suiveur est initialement positionné sous l’autre stop. Dès que la position commence à évoluer dans la bonne direction, le stop suiveur dépassera l’autre stop. Dès cet instant, le stop suiveur devient le stop actif.

 

Cet exemple illustre une position longue après une figure Marteau. Au départ, le stop est placé au niveau du bas du Marteau. Ensuite, lorsque la position évolue positivement, le stop suiveur prend le dessus. La position est clôturée avec un profit.



 

Cet exemple illustre une figure Marteau sur un graphique Mini S&P en 60 minutes. Au départ, le stop est placé au niveau du bas du Marteau. Ensuite, lorsque la position évolue positivement, le stop suiveur prend le dessus. La position est clôturée avec un profit.


Attention : La figure Marteau est rare. En raison de la rareté de cette figure, les traders sont obligés de tester tous les jours de nombreux instruments financiers pour en trouver quelques uns qui affichent la figure. WHS FutureStation Nano est parfaitement adaptée à ce besoin. Elle offre à la fois des Scripts à scanner sur une base journalière et des LiveTables pour des scans en temps réels. La section Réalisation Pratique ci-dessous explique comment utiliser les Scripts et les LiveTables.

 

Cet exemple illustre la rareté de la figure Marteau. La figure n’apparaît sur le graphique journalier de l’indice Eurostoxx 50 que 6 fois sur une période de 12 ans.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie figure de bougie Marteau est utilisée pour trader les actions et les indices. La stratégie est généralement utilisée sur une unité de temps jour ou 60 minutes. Les traders peuvent la tester sur des unités de temps plus courtes. En raison de la rareté des figures Marteaux, les traders font généralement un scan overnight (Script) ou en temps réel (LiveTables) sur un grand nombre d’actions. Le taux de succès des signaux de figures Marteaux est probablement autour de 50%. Les signaux de pertes, cependant, sont généralement clôturés assez rapidement alors que les positions basées sur des signaux gagnants tendent à rester ouvertes durant un long moment.

 

Cet exemple montre une position gagnante et deux positions perdantes sur l'action Lufthansa en 60-minutes. La position gagnante reste ouverte durant un long moment et génère un profit important. Les positions perdantes sont rapidement clôturées avec une perte limitée.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Hammer".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.

La recherche de signaux : Scripts et LiveTables

  • Utilisation d’un Script pour rechercher des signaux

    L’objectif d’un script est de scanner de nombreux instruments financiers dans le but de trouver des signaux. Quelques stratégies, comme par exemple la stratégie figure Marteau, donnent peu de signaux d’achat/vente. Ces signaux sont en revanche d'une grande qualité. La meilleure manière de trader une telle stratégie est via l'utilisation d'un Script.

    Généralement un Script est utilisé pour trader les marchés sur une unité de temps jour. Il est exécuté dans la matinée ou la veille au soir, de manière à ce que le trader puisse placer ses ordres avant l’ouverture du marché.

    1. Préparer la stratégie.
    Ouvrez la stratégie avec un instrument financier quelconque. Dans la fenêtre "Barre de Personnalisation", en bas, fixez les paramètres en clliquant sur "Constante".


  • 2. Enregistrer la Stratégie comme modèle d'étude.
    Donnez-lui un nom qui rappelle la stratégie et l'unité de temps. Par exemple, Marteau Jour.

    3. Créer un nouveau Script.
    Ouvrez la BarreEspaceTravail. Cliquez droit sur Scripts. Sélectionnez "Nouveau".


    L’Editeur du Script s’ouvre.

    Donnez un nom à votre Script. Il est conseillé d’utiliser le nom de la stratégie, la période et les instruments financiers pour lesquels vous allez utiliser le Script. Par exemple Marteau Jour Actions.

    Cliquez sur "Sélectionner les Contrats" et choisissez les instruments qui vous intéressent. Fermez la fenêtre de sélection. Les instruments sélectionnés apparaissent dans l’Editeur du Script.  

    Attention : les paramètres dans "Fin de script" peuvent être ignorer puisque nous les avons fixés en cliquant sur sur "Constante".

    Attention : dans "Paramétrer l’Etude" sélectionnez le modèle d’étude (la stratégie) que vous souhaitez appliquer. Nommez le Nom de l’Etude du même nom que le Script. Cliquez sur "Enregistrer et Exécuter". Le Script va démarrer. Vous pouvez visualiser les étapes.

    Quand le traitement du Script est terminé, vous pouvez visualiser le résultat dans la Barre d’Evaluation.

    Le résultat contient quatre catégories :
    - En haut, apparaissent les instruments financiers pour lesquels un signal existe aujourd'hui. Nous pouvons
    dès à présent les trader.
    - Les lignes vertes : il y avait un signal dans le passé et une position théorique est encore ouverte.
    La dernière colonne montre si la position théorique engendre actuellement un profit ou une perte.
    Examinez également cette catégorie. Un signal qui évolue positivement peut offrir une opportunité
    de trading. En fait, certains traders préfèrent ceci à un signal "récent".
    - Lignes grises : il y avait un signal dans le passé mais la position théorique est clôturée.
    - La dernière catégorie contient les instruments pour lesquels il n’y a jamais eu de signaux.

    Attention : pour visualiser rapidement les graphiques de chaque instrument financier dans votre résultat, glissez le nom de la Barre d’Evaluation dans le graphique ouvert.

    Attention : une fois votre Script exécuté, vous pouvez simplement l’exécuter tous les soirs (à la clôture) ou tous les matins (avant l’ouverture). Cliquez droit sur votre Script dans le répertoire Scripts. Sélectionnez "Créer Rapport Statut". Vous obtiendrez les trades potentiels de la journée.


    Des informations complémentaires sur les Scripts peuvent être obtenues dans le menu Aide (Help) de la plateforme de trading sous "WHSFutureStation Nano-ManuelTradingSystems".

  • Utilisation des LiveTables pour chercher des signaux.

    Les LiveTables scannent en temps réel des stratégies appliquées à une liste d’instruments financiers. On les utilisent pour des stratégies intraday avec des unités de temps de 1 minute à 1 heure.

    La première étape, comme avec un Script, est de créer un modèle d’étude (ou d’utiliser un modèle d’étude de WHS comme WHS Hammer). Mettez tous les paramètres variables sur "Constante" et enregistrez-le comme indiqué ci-dessus dans les Scripts.

    Cliquez droit sur les LiveTables dans la BarreEspaceTravail. Sélectionnez "Nouveau - Study". Ceci ouvrira une LiveTable.

    A partir de la BarreEspaceTravail, faites glisser l’instrument que vous souhaitez scanner dans la LiveTable.

    Cliquez droit dans la colonne de l’étude de votre LiveTable et sélectionnez "Modèle d’Etudes". Sélectionnez le modèle d’étude de l’instrument que vous souhaitez scanner en temps réel. Enregistrez votre LiveTable.