Trading strategy: Pennant Pattern

Description

The pennant is a pattern. A pattern is recurring combination of candles (or bars). Individual candles are of limited value to traders. Patterns are much more interesting. The pennant pattern was originally developed for the forex market to capture break-outs which characterize this market. It can, however, be applied to indices, commodities or individual stocks.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, AEX…)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD ...)
: Commodities (oil, gold…)
: Shares
Instruments : Futures, CFDs and Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 2-3 Signals per week
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The pattern consists of a "flagpole" (a) followed by a "pennant" (b). The flagpole, which must consist of at least three candles (or bars), corresponds to a sharp advance or decline in the market price of. This sharp advance or decline is followed by a consolidation. Due to decreasing volatility this consolidation takes the shape of a pennant. In a pennant pattern all the candles that come after the last flagpole candle must be inside candles i.e. candles which are within the extremes of the previous candle.


In most cases the pennant does not have the same clear pennant shape as in the illustration above.

 

This example shows a bullish pennant pattern (green background). The flagpole is clear but the pennant consists of is just one inside candle.


The Pennant pattern strategy is used for day trading on a 10-minute chart. Signals are, however, rare. Active investors who want to use this pattern should work with multiple indices. If they do not want to monitor each instrument themselves they can simply work with a LiveTables.

When to open a position?

A buy signal occurs when the market price moves above the high of the third candle in the flagpole.

A short sell signal occurs when the market price moves below the low of the third candle in the flagpole.

 

In this example a bullish Pennant pattern appears. The pennant is a single inside candle. The buy signal occurs when the market price candle goes above the high of the last candle of the flagpole.

When to close a position?

The Pennant pattern strategy combines two different stops and a profit target. The profit target is 5 times the average true range (ATR). This is fairly wide and serves to capture even the biggest break-outs.

The two stops to protect the position are a fixed stop and a trailing stop. The fixed stop is placed either on the low (for a long position) of the second candle in the flagpole or the high (for a short position) of the second candle in the flagpole. The trailing stop is 5 times the average true range (ATR) calculated over 60 periods.

Attention: the NanoTrader Full trading platform allows users to enter many stop types in parallel. The platform will at any time use the safest stop i.e. the stop which would lead to the smallest loss. So trailing stop becomes the active stop when its level moves above the level of the fixed stop.

 

This example shows a bearish Pennant pattern. A short sell position is opened. However, the market turns and the stop is hit. The position is closed with a loss.


 

This example shows a bullish Pennant pattern. A long position is opened. The market goes up but does not reach the objective (green line). The market goes down again and the position is stopped out. The loss is small because by that time the trailing stop had moved up significantly.


 

This example shows a bullish Pennant pattern. A long position is opened. The target is reached and the position is closed with a profit.

 

Conclusion

The Pennant pattern strategy is a day trading strategy. The strategy focuses on short, sharp price break-outs. This focus makes it useful for the forex markets. Signals are rare. About two or three signals per instrument per week is the norm. Traders using this pattern should work with multiple instruments. Although this strategy is explained here on the basis of 10-minute charts, swing traders can easily put their charts on 1-day and also use the pattern. In this case it is probably advised to use the Scripts functionality in the platform to detect the signals every morning.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Pennant".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : La figure Fanion

Description

Le fanion est une figure. Une figure est une combinaison récurrente de bougies (ou barres). Les bougies individuelles sont d’un intérêt limité pour les traders. Les configurations sont bien plus intéressantes. La figure du fanion a été développée à l’origine pour le marché des devises pour l’exploitation des cassures ou "break-outs" qui caractérisent ce marché. Elle peut être appliquée, cependant, aux indices, matières premières et actions individuelles.


  
Valable pour : Indices de Marchés (FTSE, DAX, AEX…)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD ...)
: Matières Premières (pétrole, or…)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 2-3 signaux par semaine
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La figure est constituée d’un mât (a) suivie d’un fanion (b). Le mât, qui doit être composé d’au moins 3 bougies (ou barres), correspond à un fort mouvement haussier ou baissier du cours. Cette forte hausse ou baisse est suivie d’une consolidation. Du fait de la baisse de la volatilité, la consolidation prend la forme d’un fanion. Dans une figure fanion, toutes les bougies qui suivent la dernière bougie constituant le mât doivent être des bougies intérieures, c'est-à-dire des bougies qui sont contenues entre les extrémités de la bougie précédente.


Dans la plus part des cas, le fanion n’a pas une forme de fanion aussi claire que sur l’illustration ci-dessus.

 

Cet exemple montre une figure fanion haussière (fond d’écran vert). Le mât est clair mais le fanion est constitué d’une seule bougie intérieure.


La stratégie figure fanion est utilisée en day trading sur un graphique avec des bougies de 10 minutes. Les signaux sont toutefois rares. Les investisseurs actifs qui souhaitent utiliser cette figure devraient travailler sur de multiples indices. S’ils ne veulent pas surveiller chaque instrument eux-mêmes, ils peuvent simplement travailler avec le tableau "liveTables".

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat apparaît lorsque le cours passe au-dessus du plus haut de la troisième bougie du mât.

Un signal de vente short apparaît lorsque le cours passe sous le plus bas de la troisième bougie du mât.

 

Dans cet exemple une figure fanion haussière apparaît. Le fanion est constitué d’une seule bougie intérieure. Le signal d’achat apparaît lorsque le cours passe le plus haut  de la dernière bougie du mât.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie figure fanion combine deux stops différents et un objectif de gain. L’objectif de gain représente 5 fois l’average true range (ATR). Cet écart est relativement grand, ce qui permet ainsi de capturer les plus gros "break-outs".

Les deux stops de protection sont un stop fixe and un stop suiveur. Le stop fixe est placé sous (pour une position longue) la deuxième bougie du mât ou au-dessus (pour une position short) de la seconde bouge du mât. Le stop suiveur est égal à cinq fois l’average true range (ATR) basé sur 60 périodes.

Attention : La plateforme de trading NanoTrader Full permet aux utilisateurs d’entrer différents types d’ordres en parallèle. La plateforme utilise à tout moment le stop le plus sûr, c’est à dire celui qui engendre la plus petite perte. Ainsi le stop suiveur s’active lorsqu’il est plus proche du cours actuel que le stop fixe.

 

Cet exemple montre une figure fanion baissière. Une position de vente short est ouverte mais le marché se retourne et le stop est touché. La position est clôturée avec une perte.


 

Cet exemple montre une figure fanion haussière. Une position d’achat est ouverte. Le marché monte mais n’atteint pas l’objectif (ligne verte). Le marché baisse à nouveau et la position est coupée. La perte est infime car entre temps le stop suiveur était monté substantiellement.


 

Cet exemple montre une figure fanion haussière. Une position d’achat est ouverte. L’objectif est atteint et la position est clôturée avec un profit.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie figure fanion est une stratégie de day trading. La stratégie se focalise sur de courtes mais puissantes cassures de prix ("break-outs"). Cette focalisation la rend très utile pour le Forex. Les signaux sont rares. En moyenne, deux ou trois par instrument et par semaine. Les traders utilisant cette figure devraient travailler sur de multiples instruments. Bien que cette stratégie soit expliquée ici sur la base d’un graphique en bougies de 10 minutes, les swing traders peuvent l’utiliser facilement sur un graphique en bougies d’1 jour. Dans ce cas, il est conseillé d’utiliser la fonctionnalité "Scripts" pour détecter les signaux chaque matin.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Pennant".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.