Trading strategy: Flag Pattern

Description

The flag is a pattern. A pattern is recurring combination of candles (or bars). Individual candles are of limited value to traders. Patterns are much more interesting. The flag pattern was originally developed for the forex market to capture break-outs which characterize this market. It can, however, be applied to indices, commodities or individual stocks.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, AEX…)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD ...)
: Commodities (oil, gold…)
: Shares
Instruments : Futures, CFDs and Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 2-3 Signals per week
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The pattern consists of a "flagpole" (a) followed by a "flag" (b). The flag consists of at least 2 candles and maximum 10. These candles need to be within the extremes of the second and third flagpole candles.



 

This example shows a bullish flag pattern (green background). The flag consists of the minimum two candles.


The Flag pattern strategy is used for day trading on a 15-minute chart. Signals are relatively rare. Active investors who want to use this pattern should work with multiple instruments. If they do not want to monitor each instrument themselves they can simply work with LiveTables.

When to open a position?

A buy signal occurs when the market price moves above the high of the third candle in the flagpole of a bullish Flag pattern.

A short sell signals occurs when the market price moves below the low of the third candle in the flagpole of a bearish Flag pattern.

 

This example shows a bearish Flag pattern (red background). When the market price goes below the low of the third candle in the flagpole a short sell position is opened.

When to close a position?

The strategy combines two different stops and a profit target. The profit target is 5 times the Average True Range (ATR). This is fairly wide and serves to capture even the biggest break-outs.

The two stops to protect the position are a fixed stop and a trailing stop. The fixed stop is placed either on the low (for a long position) of the second candle in the flagpole or the high (for a short position) of the second candle in the flagpole. The trailing stop is 5 times the average true range (ATR) calculated over 60 periods.

Attention
: the NanoTrader Full trading platform allows users to enter many stop types in parallel. The platform will at any time use the safest stop i.e. the stop which would lead to the smallest loss. So the trailing stop becomes the active stop when its level moves above the level of the fixed stop.

 

This example shows a bearish Flag pattern (red background). A short sell position is opened. However, the market turns and the stop is hit. The position is closed with a loss.


 

This example shows a bullish Flag pattern. A long position is opened on the break-out. Before the profit target (green line) is reached the market turns and the position is stopped out with a small profit.


 

This example shows a bullish Pennant pattern. A long position is opened. The profit target (green line) is reached and the position is closed with a profit.

 

Conclusion

The Flag pattern strategy is a day trading strategy. The strategy focuses on short, sharp price break-outs. This focus makes it useful for the forex markets. Signals are rare. About two or three signals per instrument per week is the norm. Traders using this pattern should work with multiple instruments. Although this strategy is explained here on the basis of 10-minute charts, swing traders can easily put their charts on 1-day and also use the pattern. In this case it is probably advised to use the Scripts functionality in the platform to detect the signals every morning.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Flag".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Figure Drapeau

Description

Le drapeau est une figure. Une figure est une combinaison récurrente de bougies (ou barres). Les bougies individuelles sont d’un intérêt limité pour les traders. Les configurations sont bien plus intéressantes. La figure du drapeau a été développée à l’origine pour le marché des devises pour l’exploitation des cassures ou "break-outs" qui caractérisent ce marché. Elle peut être appliquée aux indices, matières premières et actions individuelles.


  
Valable pour : Indices de Marchés (FTSE, DAX, AEX…)
: Forex (EUR/USD, GBP/USD ...)
: Matières Premières (pétrole, or…)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 2-3 signaux par semaine
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La figure est constituée d’un mât (a) suivie d’un drapeau (b). Le drapeau doit être composé d’au moins 2 bougies (ou barres) et au maximum 10. Ces bougies doivent être contenues à l’intérieur des extrémités des deuxième et troisième bougies constituant le mât.



 

Cet exemple montre une figure drapeau haussière (fond d’écran vert). Le drapeau est constitué des 2 bougies minimum.


La stratégie figure drapeau est utilisée en day trading sur un graphique en bougies de 15 minutes. Ces signaux sont assez rares. Les investisseurs actifs qui souhaitent utiliser cette figure devraient travailler sur de multiples instruments. S’ils ne veulent pas surveiller chaque instrument eux-mêmes, ils peuvent simplement travailler avec le tableau "liveTables".

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat apparaît lorsque le cours passe au-dessus du plus haut de la troisième bougie du mât.

Un signal de vente short apparaît lorsque le cours passe sous le plus bas de la troisième bougie du mât dans une figure de drapeau baissière.

 

Dans cet exemple une figure drapeau baissière apparaît (fond d’écran rouge). Une position de vente short est ouverte lorsque le cours passe sous le plus bas de la troisième bougie du mât.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie figure drapeau combine deux stops différents et un objectif de gain. L’objectif de gain représente cinq fois l’average true range (ATR). Cet écart est relativement large ce qui permet même de capturer les plus gros "break-outs".

Les deux stops de protection sont un stop fixe and un stop suiveur. Le stop fixe est placé sous (pour une position longue) la deuxième bougie du mât ou au-dessus (pour une position short) de la seconde bouge du mât. Le stop suiveur est égal à cinq fois l’average true range (ATR) basé sur 60 périodes.

Attention : La plateforme de trading WHS FutureStation Nano permet aux utilisateurs d’entrer différents types d’ordres en parallèle. La plateforme utilise à tout moment le stop le plus sûr, c'est-à-dire celui qui engendre la plus petite perte. Ainsi le stop suiveur s’active lorsqu’il est plus proche du cours actuel que le stop fixe.

 

Cet exemple montre une figure drapeau baissière (fond d’écran rouge). Une position de vente short est ouverte. Cependant, le marché se retourne et le stop est touché. La position est clôturée avec une perte.


 

Cet exemple montre une figure drapeau haussière. Une position d’achat est ouverte à la cassure. Avant que l’objectif ne soit atteint (ligne verte), le marché se retourne et la position est coupée avec un petit profit.


 

Cet exemple montre une figure drapeau haussière. Une position d’achat est ouverte. L’objectif est atteint (ligne verte) et la position est clôturée avec un profit.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie figure drapeau est une stratégie de day trading. La stratégie se focalise sur de courtes mais puissantes cassures de prix ("break-outs"). Cette focalisation la rend très utile pour le Forex. Les signaux sont rares, en moyenne deux ou trois par instrument et par semaine. Les traders utilisant cette figure devraient travailler sur de multiples instruments. Bien que cette stratégie soit expliquée ici sur la base d’un graphique en bougies de 15 minutes, les swing traders peuvent l’utiliser facilement sur un graphique en bougies d’1 jour. Dans ce cas, il est conseillé d’utiliser la fonctionnalité "Scripts" pour détecter les signaux chaque matin.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Flag".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.