Trading strategy: Mogalef Bands

Description

The Mogalef Bands were developed by French trader-author Eric Lefort. In his day trading Lefort focuses on important support and resistance levels. This has resulted in the Mogalef Bands trading strategy. The Mogalef Bands try to project the future trading range of a financial instrument.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (CAC, FTSE, DAX …)
Instruments : Futures and CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1-3 signals per day
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Mogalef Bands define the expected future trading range of a financial instrument. Hence imagine them projected forward as the most likely levels between which the market price will evolve.

The Mogalef Bands are determined by three lines calculated by Eric Lefort:

1. The center line: is the weighted level of the price activity. This is the theoretical centre of
the trading range.

2. The upper line: is the theoretical value of the highest price point in the range.

3. The lower line: is the theoretical value of the lowest price point in the range.

The upper and lower lines take into account the intrinsic volatility of the financial instrument.

The Mogalef Bands stay in place as long as the weighted value of the instrument stays between the upper and the lower bands. The bands can stay in place for a long time if an instrument’s volatility remains stable. If the volatility is high the bands can be large.

 

This example shows the Mogalef Bands on a 5-minute chart. Even in a low timeframe like this the bands can stay in place for a long time.


What would shift the Mogalef Bands? A price or even a close outside the bands will not shift the bands. It is the weighted value of the instrument as calculated by Eric Lefort which must move outside the bands i.e. the expected trading range. This must coincide with the close of the candle. A special scenario is an opening gap. An opening gap can also cause the bands to shift.

 

This example shows an opening gap which causes the Mogalef Bands to shift.


The trader using Mogalef Bands must open both a 5-minute and a 30-minute chart. The signals are generated by the 5-minute chart. The 30-minute chart supplies the trend filter. The trend filter is center line in the 30-minute chart calculated 80 periods back. The trend filter will color the chart background pale green when the trend is bullish and pale red when the trend is bearish. The trend filter blocks short sell signals in a bullish market and buy signals in a bearish market.

When to open a position?

A buy signal is given when the market price moves outside the lower Mogalef band without provoking a shift of the bands. A short sell signal is given when the market prices moves outside the upper Mogalef band without provoking a shift of the bands.

 

In this example a buy signal occurs when the market price moves outside the lower Mogalef band. Notice that at the time the chart background is pale green indicating that only buy signals are valid.


 

In this example a short sell signal occurs when the market price moves outside the upper Mogalef band. Notice that at the time the chart background is pale red indicating that only short sell signals are valid.


When to close a position?

The Mogalef strategy uses a stop and a profit target. The profit target is based on the 30-minute Mogalef bands. For a long position the profit target is the maximum between a fixed target and the upper band. For a short position the profit target is the minimum between a fixed target and the lower band.

 

In this example a short sell position reaches the profit target. The position is closed with a profit.


As regards the stop the author offers two alternatives.

Possibility 1: a fixed stop. The fixed stop is placed on the Mogalef Bands in the 30-minute chart. Within very large bands it can take a few steps of shifting before the position is stopped out. The loss is consequentially bigger in more volatile markets and less significant in calm markets. In his writings Eric Lefort specifies that traders not necessarily have to wait until the stop is hit. They can, were applicable, use some discretion and close the position when the Mogalef Bands already start to shift towards the fixed stop.

Possibility 2: a trailing stop. The trailing stop is placed right above or below the Mogalef Bands in the 30-minute chart. For example 2 ATR(14).

 

Conclusion

The Mogalef Bands is a day trading strategy developed by French trader-author Eric Lefort. By weighing prices and including volatility the strategy plots and projects crucial support and resistance levels as well as a centerline around which the market price oscillates. The objective is to go long during a weak moment in a bullish trend and to go short during a strong moment in a bearish trend. Hence the strategy can be labeled as a trend continuation strategy. Finally, it is worth mentioning that the author, even if the strategy is clearly defined, always leaves himself room to act on a discretionary basis. The strategy guides the trader, but the trader may also override the strategy based on his experience.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS EL Mogalef".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Bandes de Mogalef

Description

Les Bandes de Mogalef ont été développées par l’auteur-trader français Eric Lefort. Lorsqu’il pratique le day trading, Lefort se concentre sur les niveaux clés de support et de résistance. Ces deux niveaux constituent la base de cette stratégie de trading. Les Bandes de Mogalef tentent de faire une projection dans le futur du range de trading d’un instrument financier.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marchés (CAC, FTSE, DAX …)
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1-3 signaux par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Les Bandes de Mogalef font une prévision du range de trading d’un instrument financier. Elles font une projection dans le futur des niveaux de prix entre lesquels le cours sera le plus susceptible d'évoluer.

D'après les calculs d'Eric Lefort, les Bandes de Mogalef sont représentées par trois lignes :

1. La ligne centrale: c’est le niveau pondéré du cours. C’est le centre théorique du range de trading.

2. La ligne supérieure: c’est la valeur théorique du cours le plus haut du range de trading.

3. La ligne inférieure: c’est la valeur théorique du cours le plus bas du range de trading.

Les lignes supérieure et inférieure prennent en compte la volatilité intrinsèque de l’instrument financier.

Les Bandes de Mogalef restent en place aussi longtemps que la valeur pondérée de l’instrument reste entre les bandes supérieure et inférieure. Les bandes peuvent rester en place très longtemps si la volatilité de l’instrument est stable. Les bandes peuvent être larges si la volatilité est importante.

 

Cet exemple montre les Bandes de Mogalef sur un graphique en bougies de 5 minutes. Même avec une petite unité de temps comme celle-ci, les bandes peuvent rester en place relativement longtemps.


Qu’est-ce qui fait évoluer les Bandes de Mogalef ? Un cours ou une clôture en dehors des bandes ne les fera pas changer.

Il faut que le cours moyen de l’instrument, tel qu'il est calculé par Eric Lefort, sorte des bandes, c’est-à-dire du range de trading qui a été projeté par le système. De surcroit, cela doit coïncider avec la clôture d'une bougie. Un gap à l’ouverture est encore un autre scénario. Un gap à l’ouverture peut également provoquer l’évolution des bandes.

 

Cet exemple montre un gap à l’ouverture qui fait évoluer les Bandes de Mogalef.


Le trader qui utilise les Bandes de Mogalef doit ouvrir deux graphiques. Le premier en unités de 5 minutes et le second en unités de 30 minutes. Les signaux sont déclenchés par le graphique en 5 minutes. Le graphique en unités de 30 minutes sert de filtre de tendance. Le filtre de tendance est la courbe moyenne du graphique en 30 minutes, calculée sur 80 périodes. Le filtre de tendance colorie l'arrière-plan du graphique en vert clair, lorsque la tendance est haussière, et en rouge clair, lorsque la tendance est baissière. Le filtre de tendance bloque les signaux de vente à découvert sur un marché haussier, et les signaux d’achat sur un marché baissier.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat apparaît lorsque le cours passe sous la bande inférieure de Mogalef sans provoquer de déplacement des bandes. Un signal de vente à découvert apparaît lorsque le cours croise la bande de Mogalef supérieure à la hausse, sans provoquer le déplacement des bandes.

 

Dans cet exemple un signal d’achat apparaît lorsque le cours passe sous la bande inférieure de Mogalef. Notez que le fond du graphique est vert clair, ce qui indique que seuls les signaux d’achats sont valides.


 

Dans cet exemple un signal de vente à découvert apparaît lorsque le cours croise la bande de Mogalef supérieure à la hausse . Notez que le fond du graphique est rouge clair, ce qui indique que seuls les signaux de vente sont valides.


Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie Mogalef utilise un stop et un objectif. L’objectif est basé sur Les Bandes de Mogalef en périodes de 30 minutes. Pour une position à l'achat l’objectif est la valeur la plus proche entre un objectif fixe et la bande supérieure. Pour une position short l’objectif de gain est la valeur la plus proche entre un objectif fixe et la bande inférieure.

 

Dans cet exemple une position de vente à découvert atteint son objectif. La position est clôturée avec un profit.


En ce qui concerne le stop, l’auteur propose deux alternatives.

Option 1 : un stop fixe. Le stop fixe est placé sur les Bandes de Mogalef du graphique en 30 minutes. Lorsque les bandes sont très espacées, la clôture de la position peut prendre un certain temps. Par conséquent, les pertes seront plus importantes sur un marché volatile et plus petites sur un marché calme. Dans ces livres, Eric Lefort précise que le trader n'est pas forcément obligé d'attendre que le stop soit touché. Il peut, le cas échéant, prendre l'initiative de fermer la position lorsque les Bandes de Mogalef commencent à se déplacer vers le stop fixe.

Option 2 : un stop suiveur. Le stop suiveur est placé au-dessus ou en dessous des Bandes de Mogalef, sur le graphique en 30 minutes. Par exemple à 2 x ATR(14).

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Bandes de Mogalef est une stratégie de day trading développée par le trader et auteur Eric Lefort. En pondérant les cours et en tenant compte de la volatilité, la stratégie trace et projette des niveaux de support et résistance clés, ainsi qu’une ligne moyenne autour de laquelle le cours oscille. L’objectif est d’entrer à l'achat lors d'un retrait sur une tendance haussière et de vendre à découvert lors d'un rebond sur une tendance baissière. Cette stratégie peut donc être classée parmi les stratégies de suivi de tendance. En conclusion, il convient de mentionner que, bien que la stratégie soit clairement définie, l’auteur nous laisse une marge de manœuvre en ce qui concerne la clôture de la position. La stratégie guide le trader, mais il a la possibilité de passer outre la stratégie en se basant sur son expérience.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS EL Mogalef".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.