Trading strategy: Volatility Rider

Description

Volatility Rider is a trading strategy based on significant changes in volatility. The changes are called break-outs. Trading strategies based on volatility break-outs assume that an evolution in volatility from very low to low, to medium and, finally, to high is significant. The Volatility Rider strategy is based on a specific new indicator developed by German trader-author Claus Grube. It is a day trading strategy for spot forex and currency futures trading.


  
Suitable for : Forex (EUR/USD …)
Instruments : Currency futures and forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1 Signal per day
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

Volatility indicates the difference between the high and low prices of a market. To measure volatility active investors tend to use either the Average True Range (ATR) or the Standard Deviation.

Instead of working with these classic indicators the strategy is based on a new volatility indicator called VolaRider. This indicator applies the concept of stochastics to the standard deviation. This approach results in a percentage value ranging from 0% (lowest volatility) to 100% (highest volatility). In short timeframes the value will be mostly in the extreme zones. Volatility is usually either low or high. It is rarely in the middle. 

As with any indicator expressed in percent (0% to 100%) it is necessary to define threshold levels. The Volatility Rider strategy uses 21% and 89%. Both are Fibonacci numbers. At the 21% threshold it is safe to assume that volatility is building up and getting ready to take off. Above the 89% threshold volatility will start to reach its peak. In this zone it becomes likely that the volatility will decrease. This indicates that the break-out is losing steam.

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : Volatility Rider.  

This example shows the VolaRider indicator in the lower half of the screen. The 21% threshold (green line) is crossed first when volatility increases. Volatility continues to increase and the 89% threshold is crossed, indicating volatility is reaching its peak.

The Volatility Rider strategy is applied on a 10-minute chart. It is possible to experiment with other timeframes. In the trading platform it is also possible to change the threshold levels.

When to open a position?

A signal occurs whenever the indicator goes above the 21% threshold. The direction of the signal (buy or short sell) is not determined by the indicator. The direction of the trade is determined by the trend filter. The trend filter is based on exponential moving averages. When the trend filter is bullish the signal appears as a buy signal (green triangle) in the trading platform. When the trend filter is bearish the signal appears as a short sell signal (red triangle).

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : Volatility Rider.  

In this example the signal triangle is a green buy signal. The trend filter considers the increased volatility an opportunity to buy.

 

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : Volatility Rider.  

In this example the signal triangle is a red short sell signal. The trend filter considers the increased volatility an opportunity to short sell.

When to close a position?

The Volatility Rider strategy uses a combination of two stops. There is no profit target.

The initial stop is a trailing stop. The distance of this trailing stop is 3x the Average True Range (ATR) calculated over 24 periods. The second stop goes live and replaces the existing stop when the indicator crosses the 89% level. When this level has been crossed the stop is always on the close of the preceding candle. The logic behind the second stop is evident: the volatility has reached its peak and it is time to close the position.

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : Volatility Rider.  

In this example shows a short sell signal. The market does not go down but moves sideways.  The position is stopped out with a small loss.

 

Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : Volatility Rider.  

In this example shows a short sell signal. The volatility continues to increase and reaches the 89% level. At that level the trailing stop based on the ATR is replaced by the trailing stop which lies on the close of the preceding candle. The market price hits the stop at 16:30. The short position is closed with a profit.

Conclusion

The Volatility Rider strategy is based on an innovative indicator developed by trader-author Claus Grube. This indicator tries to monitor and visualize the evolution of the volatility. A position is opened whenever there is a spurt in volatility above a clearly defined level. If the position is still open when volatility peaks the position is closed. It is a day trading strategy suitable for trading currencies. Active investors can either use spot or CFD forex or currency futures.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Volatility Rider".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Volatility Rider

Description

Volatility Rider est une stratégie de trading basée sur des changements significatifs de volatilité. Ces changements sont appelés cassures. Les stratégies de trading basées sur des cassures de volatilité reconnaissent que les évolutions de la volatilité, de très faible à faible, puis à moyenne et finalement à haute, sont significatives. La stratégie Volatility Rider est basée sur un nouvel indicateur spécifique développé par le trader-auteur allemand Claus Grube. C’est une stratégie de day trading applicable au spot forex et aux futures sur devises.


  
Valable pour : Forex (EUR/USD …)
Instruments : Futures sur devises et forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 signal par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La volatilité indique la différence entre les prix les plus hauts et les prix les plus bas d’un marché. Pour mesurer la volatilité, les investisseurs actifs tendent à utiliser soit l’average true range (ATR), soit l’écart type.

Au lieu de travailler avec ces indicateurs classiques, la stratégie se base sur un nouvel indicateur de volatilité appelé VolaRider. Cet indicateur applique le concept des stochastiques à celui de l’écart-type. Cette approche produit une valeur en pourcentage allant de 0% (volatilité la plus basse) à 100% (volatilité la plus haute). Sur les petites unités de temps, la valeur est principalement dans les zones extrêmes. La volatilité est généralement soit basse, soit haute. Elle est rarement au milieu.

Comme avec tout indicateur exprimé en pourcentage (de 0% à 100%), il est nécessaire de définir des niveaux de seuils. La stratégie Volatility Rider utilise les seuils 21% et 89%. Ces deux chiffres sont ceux de Fibonacci. Au seuil de 21%, on peut sans trop de risque supposer que la volatilité va augmenter jusqu’à s’envoler. Au-dessus du seuil de 89%, on peut s’attendre à ce que la volatilité atteigne son pic. Dans cette zone, on peut s’attendre à ce que la volatilité diminue. Ceci indique que la cassure est en train de perdre son élan.

 

Cet exemple montre l’indicateur VolaRider dans la moitié inférieure de l’écran. Le seuil des 21% (ligne verte) est franchi pour la première fois suite à l’augmentation de la volatilité. La volatilité continue d’augmenter jusqu’à ce que le seuil des 89% soit franchi, indiquant que la volatilité est proche de son pic.

La stratégie Volatility Rider s’applique à un graphique en 10 minutes. Il est possible de la tester sur d’autres intervalles de temps. Dans la plateforme de trading, il est également possible de changer les niveaux de seuil.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal apparaît à chaque fois que l’indicateur passe au-dessus du seuil de 21%. La direction du signal (achat ou vente à découvert) n’est pas déterminée par l’indicateur. La direction du trade est déterminée par un filtre de tendance.  Le filtre de tendance est basé sur des moyennes mobiles exponentielles. Lorsque le filtre de tendance est haussier, un signal d’achat (triangle vert) apparaît dans la plateforme de trading. Lorsque le filtre de tendance est baissier, ce sera un signal de vente à découvert (triangle rouge).

 

Dans cet exemple le signal triangulaire est un signal vert d’achat. Le filtre de tendance interprète l’augmentation de la volatilité comme une opportunité d’achat.


 

Dans cet exemple le signal triangulaire est un signal rouge de vente à découvert. Le filtre de tendance interprète l’augmentation de la volatilité comme une opportunité de vente à découvert. 

 

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie Volatility Rider utilise une combinaison de deux stops. Il n’y pas d’objectif  de profit.  

Le stop initial est un stop suiveur. La distance de ce stop suiveur est 3x l’average true range (ATR) calculé sur 24 périodes. Le deuxième stop se déclenche et remplace le stop existant lorsque l’indicateur franchit le niveau des 89%. Lorsque ce niveau a été franchi, le stop est toujours placé sur la clôture de la bougie précédente. La logique du deuxième stop est évidente: la volatilité a atteint son pic et il est temps de clôturer la position.

 

Cet exemple montre un signal de vente à découvert. Le marché ne baisse pas et évolue latéralement. La position est stoppée avec une petite perte.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal de vente à découvert. La volatilité continue d’augmenter et atteint le niveau des 89%. A ce niveau, le stop suiveur basé sur l’ATR est remplacé par le stop suiveur qui se situe à la clôture de la bougie précédente. Le prix du marché touche le stop à 16:30. La vente à découvert est clôturée avec un profit.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Volatility Rider est basée sur un indicateur novateur développé par le trader-écrivain Claus Grube. Cet indicateur tente de suivre et de visualiser l’évolution de la volatilité. Une position est ouverte dès que la volatilité passe au dessus d’un seuil clairement défini. Si la position est toujours ouverte lorsque la volatilité plafonne, la position est clôturée. C’est une stratégie de day trading applicable au trading des devises. Les investisseurs actifs peuvent utiliser des devises, des CFD sur devises, ou des futures sur devises.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Volatility Rider".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.