Trading strategy: Divergence Candlestick

Description

Divergence strategies are based on the divergence between the direction of the market price and the direction of an indicator. These strategies assume that when the market price and the indicator increasingly diverge, the market price will change direction. The Divergence Candlestick strategy uses candlestick patterns to generate trading signals. The signals are filtered by a unique slope filter which compares the slope of the market price and the slope of the RSI indicator. The strategy is based on a suggestion made by German trader-coach Thorsten Helbig.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (DAX, CAC, DOW...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Commodities (Oil, Gold, ...)
Instruments : Futures, CFD and Forex
Trading type : Day trading and Swing trading
Trading tempo : Low
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The WHS Divergence Candlestick strategy is usually applied on a 60-minute chart. There are two steps:

Step 1: detecting signals
Potential entry signals are given by candlestick patterns. The NanoTrader Full platform is already capable of detecting many candlestick patterns. This tool is part of the indicator list and looks like this:



A potential signal is generated when a Bearish Engulfing pattern is detected. A description of the Bearish Engulfing pattern as well as 7 other patterns can be found here.

Step 2: validating signals
All new signals are subjected to a filter which will either accept or block the signal. This unique filter compares the slope of the market price curve to the slope of the RSI curve. The comparison is done by using special charts developed for the purpose. These charts based on moving averages are smoother than the classic charts. Smoothing charts reduces, for example, the number of tops.

The term slope refers to the slope of a special trendline applied to the smoothed market price chart and the smoothed RSI chart respectively. The special trendline is a straight line which connects the last top and the highest top of the previous 5 tops. For example:

Both the classic charts and the smoothed charts are visible in the trading platform. The smoothed charts are the thick, light blue curves. The filter accepts a bearish engulfing short sell signal when the trendlines of the smoothed charts diverge i.e. when the trendline of the price chart has an upward (positive) slope and the trendline of the RSI chart has a downward (negative) slope.

 

In this example the slope of the price chart is positive whilst the slope of the RSI is negative.

Under these circumstances the filter will accept short sell signals based on the bearish engulfing candlestick pattern. This is indicated by the red background in the chart.

When to open a position?

A short sell position is opened at the open price of the next candle when two conditions are met:

- The candlestick indicator has detected a Bearish Engulfing pattern.
- The special slope filter accepts the signal.

 

In this example a bearish engulfing pattern was detected (red triangle). The background of the chart is red indicating that the slope filter will accept short sell signals.



When to close a position?

The WHS Divergence Candlestick strategy uses 2 stops. It combines a Breakeven stop and a Time stop. The strategy also uses a profit target.

- The Breakeven stop is 3x the Average True Range (ATR) of the last 20 periods.
- The Time stop will automatically close the position after 14 periods.
- The profit target is 2x the ATR of the last 20 periods.

 
     

In this example the profit target (green line) was nearly reached. The market, however, changed direction before. The position was subsequently closed by the Breakeven stop (red line).

 

In this example the profit target (green line) is reached.

Variations of the strategy

In essence the active investor can combine 8 candlestick patterns with 4 slope scenarios. However, not all combinations are logical. The 4 bearish candlestick patterns (bearish engulfing, evening star, three crows, outside down) should only be combined with divergence case 2. The 4 bullish candlestick patterns (bullish engulfing, morning star, three soldiers, outside up) should only be combined with divergence case 3.


In the SmootherFilter indicator the user can change the parameters of the slope filter. Case 2 and case 3 are the divergence situations. Case 2 must be combined with the bearish candlestick patterns. Case 3 must be combined with the bullish candlestick patterns.


If the user opts for a bearish candlestick pattern the TradeDirection parameter should be 0 (short sell). If the user opts for a bullish candlestick pattern the TradeDirection parameter should be 1 (long). It is possible the combine candlestick pattern of the same category (bullish or bearish).

 

Conclusion

The Divergence Candlestick strategy combines candlestick patterns with a unique slope filter. This filter analyzes the divergence between the market price and the RSI indicator. The special smoothed charts and trendlines contribute to the unusual character of this trading strategy. The strategy template is set to use the bearish engulfing candle stick pattern. 7 additional candlestick patterns are available. The Divergence Candlestick strategy is suitable for market indices, forex, commodities and shares. Users can experiment with shorter time frames.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Divergence Candlestick".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Divergence Candlestick

Description

Les stratégies de divergences sont basées sur la divergence entre la direction du prix et la direction d’un indicateur. Ces stratégies partent du principe que lorsque le prix et l’indicateur divergent, le marché va changer de direction. La stratégie WHS Divergence Candlestick utilise des figures à base de formations de bougies pour générer des signaux de trading. Ces signaux sont filtrés par un filtre de pente unique qui compare la pente du prix du marché à la pente de l’indicateur RSI. Cette stratégie est basée sur la suggestion faite par le trader et coach allemand Thorsten Helbig.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (DAX, CAC40, DOW ...)
: Forex
: Matières premières (Pétrole, Or, ...)
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading et Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : Basse
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie WHS Divergence Candlestick s’applique habituellement sur un graphique en 60 min. Elle comporte deux étapes :

Etape 1 : détection d'un signal
Les points d’entrée potentiels sont donnés par des figures à base de formations de bougies. La plateforme NanoTrader Full est déjà capable de détecter plusieurs formations de bougies. Cet outil fait partie de la liste des indicateurs et ressemble à cela :


Un signal potentiel est généré lorsqu’une figure Bearish Engulfing est détectée. Une description de la figure Bearish Engulfing ainsi que 7 autres figures peut être trouvée ici.

Etape 2 : validation du signal
Tous les nouveaux signaux sont soumis à un filtre qui bloque ou autorise le signal. Ce filtre unique compare la pente de la courbe de prix à la pente de la courbe du RSI. La comparaison est faite en utilisant des graphes spécialement développés pour cette occasion. Ces graphes sont basés sur des moyennes mobiles plus lisses que les graphes classiques. Des graphes plus lisses réduisent, par exemple, le nombre de sommets.

Le terme pente renvoie ici à la pente d’une ligne de tendance spéciale appliquée respectivement au graphe du prix du marché lissé et au graphe du RSI lissé. La ligne de tendance spéciale est une ligne droite qui connecte le dernier sommet au plus haut des 5 sommets précédents. Par exemple :

Les graphes classiques comme les graphes lissés sont visibles dans la plateforme de trading. Les graphes lissés sont les lignes épaisses et bleues claires. Le filtre accepte un signal Bearish Engulfing de vente short quand les lignes de tendance des graphes lissés divergent, p.ex. quand la ligne de tendance du graphe du prix a une pente montante (positive) et que la ligne de tendance du graphe RSI a une pente descendante (négative).

 

Dans cet exemple, la pente du graphe du prix est positive, alors que la pente du RSI est négative.

Dans ces circonstances, le filtre acceptera des signaux de vente short basés sur une figure Bearish Engulfing. Ceci est indiqué par le fond d’écran rouge dans le graphe.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Une position de vente short est ouverte au prix d’ouverture de la prochaine bougie si deux conditions sont respectées :

- L’indicateur candlestick détecte une figure Bearish Engulfing.
- Le filtre spécial accepte le signal.

 

Dans cet exemple, une figure Bearish Engulfing a été détectée (triangle rouge). Le fond d’écran du graphe est rouge, indiquant que le filtre de pente acceptera les signaux de vente short.


Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie WHS Divergence Candlestick utilise 2 stops. Il combine un Breakeven stop et un Time stop. La stratégie utilise aussi un profit target :

- Le Breakeven stop est égal à 3x l’Average True Range (ATR) des 20 dernières périodes.
- Le Time stop clôture automatiquement la position après 14 périodes.
- Le profit target est égal à 2x l’ATR des 20 dernières périodes.

 
     

Dans cet exemple, le profit target (ligne verte) a presque été atteint. Le marché a cependant changé de direction avant cela. La position a finalement été clôturée par le Breakeven stop (ligne rouge).

 

Dans cet exemple, le profit target (ligne verte) a été atteint.

Autres variantes de la stratégie

Fondamentalement, l’investisseur actif peut combiner 8 figures à base de formations de bougies avec 4 scénarios de pente. Cependant, toutes ces combinaisons ne sont pas logiques. Les 4 figures baissières (bearish engulfing, evening star, three crows, outside down) devraient seulement être combinées avec le cas 2 de divergence. Les 4 figures haussières (bullish engulfing, morning star, three soldiers, outside up) devraient seulement être combinées avec le cas 3 de divergence.


Dans l’indicateur SmootherFilter, l’utilisateur peut changer les paramètres du filtre de pente. Les cas 2 et 3  correspondent aux situations de divergence. Le cas 2 doit être combiné avec des formations de bougies baissières. Le cas 3 doit être combiné avec des formations de bougies haussières. 

Si l’utilisateur opte pour une formation de bougies baissière, le paramètre TradeDirection devrait être 0 (vente short). Si l’utilisateur opte pour une formation de bougies haussière, le paramètre TradeDirection devrait être 1 (long). Il est possible de combiner des formations de bougies de la même catégorie (haussière ou baissière) :

 

Conclusion

La stratégie WHS Divergence Candlestick combine des figures à base de formations de bougies avec un filtre de pente unique. Ce filtre analyse la divergence entre le prix du marché et l’indicateur RSI. Les graphes lissés spéciaux et les lignes de tendance contribuent au caractère inhabituel de cette stratégie de trading. Le modèle d’étude de cette stratégie est réglé pour utiliser la figure Bearish Engulfing. 7 figures additionnelles sont disponibles. La stratégie Divergence Candlestick convient aux indices de marché, forex, matières premières et actions. Les utilisateurs peuvent faire des tests sur des unités de temps plus courtes.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Divergence Candlestick".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.