Trading strategy: RSI 2P

Description

The 2-period Relative Strength Indicator (RSI) strategy was developed by Larry Connors. RSI 2P is based on the principle that market prices return to a mean after significant highs or lows. The strategy, however, does not attempt to identify major tops or bottoms. It tries to identify overbought situations (short sell opportunities) in a negative market and oversold situations (buy opportunities) in a positive market.


  
Suitable for : Market indices (DAX, CAC, DOW...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Commodities (Oil, Gold, ...)
: Stocks
Instruments : Futures, CFDs, Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : Low, 1-2 signals per day in 60’
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual and semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

When the market is in a positive trend the strategy looks for oversold situations (buy opportunities). When the market is in a negative trend it looks for overbought situations (short sell opportunities). In order to determine if the market is in a positive or a negative trend a 200-period moving average (MA) is used. If the market price is above the 200-period MA, the trend is positive. If the market price is below the 200-period MA, the trend is negative.

In order to identify overbought or oversold situations Connors uses the 2-period RSI. In short, the signals are generated by the 2-period RSI and filtered by the 200-period MA. For day trading purposes, the strategy can be applied in a 30 or 60-minute time frame.

When to open a position?

A buy signal is generated when
- the 2-period RSI goes below 5 and
- the market price is above the 200-period MA.

A short sell signal is generated when
- the 2-period RSI goes above 95 and
- the market price is below the 200-period MA.

The position is opened at the open price of the next candle after the signal.

When to close a position?

Connors closes positions on the basis of the 5-period MA. A long position is closed when the market price closes above the 5-period MA. A short position is closed when the market price closes below the 5-period MA. This is a closing strategy that will produce quick exits.

Connors does not use stops on open positions! In the platform, however, a percentage stop (3% price change versus the entry price) has been added. The 3% stop is used and suggested by the Italian trader Gabriele Bellelli. This gives users the option. If, like Connors, you do not wish to have a stop you can either temporarily replace the 3% with a very high % or you can delete the stop altogether in the designer dialog.

 

This example shows two buy opportunities. The market is in a positive trend because the market price is above the 200-period MA (blue curve). In a positive trend the strategy looks for buy opportunities when the market is oversold. The market is oversold when the RSI drops below 5. In both trades the long position is then sold when the market closes above the 5-period MA (purple curve).


 

This example shows two short sell opportunities. The market is in a negative trend because the market price is below the 200-period MA. In a negative trend the strategy looks for short sell opportunities when the market is overbought. The market is overbought when the RSI goes above 95. In both trades the short position is then bought back when the market closes below the 5-period MA (purple line). The orange horizontal line is the 3% safety stop.


 

This example illustrates the use of having the 3% safety stop. Connors, who developed the RSI 2P strategy, does not work with a stop.

 

Conclusion

The 2-period RSI strategy is based on the concept of a return to the mean price. In case the market is oversold or overbought the strategy expects the market price to return to the mean market price. The strategy opens short positions in a downtrend when the market is overbought. The strategy opens long positions in an uptrend when the market is oversold. It is a simple strategy which can be applied to all financial instruments for day trading. Connors also uses the strategy for swing trading (positions open for days). In this case he opens the positions earlier; somewhat before the market close instead of at the next day open.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS RSI 2P".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : RSI 2P

Description

La stratégie 2-périodes Relative Strength Indicator (RSI) a été développée par Larry Connors. Le principe de base de RSI 2P est le suivant: le prix du marché retourne au prix moyen après des valeurs relativement hautes ou basses. La stratégie cependant, n’essaie pas d’identifier des sommets ou des points bas mais de détecter des situations de surachat (opportunité de vente short) dans un marché en baisse et des situations de survente (opportunité d’achat) dans un marché haussier.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marchés (DAX, CAC40, DOW...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Matières premières (pétrole, or ...)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFDs et Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : Basse, 1-2 signaux par jour en 60'
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Quand le marché se trouve dans une tendance positive, la stratégie cherche des situations de survente (opportunité d’achat). Quand le marché se trouve dans une tendance négative, des situations de surachat (opportunité de vente à découvert) sont recherchées. Afin de définir si le marché est dans une tendance positive ou négative, une moyenne mobile (MA) sur 200 périodes est utilisé. Si le prix du marché se trouve au-dessus de la moyenne mobile-200, alors la tendance est haussière. Si le prix du marché est en dessous, alors la tendance est baissière.

Afin de détecter des situations de surachat ou survente, Monsieur.Connor utilise le 2-périodes RSI. En résumé, les signaux sont générés par le 2-périodes RSI et filtrés par la moyenne mobile sur 200 périodes. Pour une utilisation en day trading, la stratégie peut être utilisée avec des bougies soit en 30 ou 60 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat est généré quand :
- le 2-périodes RSI est en dessous de 5 et
- le prix du marché est au-dessus  la moyenne mobile sur 200 périodes.

Un signal de vente est généré quand :
- le 2-périodes RSI est en dessus de 95 et
- le prix du marché est au-dessous  la moyenne mobile sur 200 périodes.

La position est ouverte au prix d’ouverture de la bougie qui suit le signal.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Monsieur Connors ferme des positions en se basant sur la moyenne mobile sur 5-périodes. Une position longue est clôturée quand le prix du marché clôture au-dessous de la moyenne mobile sur 5-périodes. Une position short est clôturée quand le prix du marché clôture en dessous de la moyenne mobile sur 5-périodes. C’est une stratégie qui donne des sorties rapides.

Monsieur Connors n’utilise pas de stops sur les positions ouvertes ! Cependant dans la plateforme, un stop pourcentage (changement de 3% vis-à-vis du prix d’entrée) est ajouté. Le stop à 3%  est utilisé et recommandé par le trader italien Gabriele Bellelli. Cela donne le choix aux utilisateurs. Si, comme Monsieur Connors, vous ne souhaitez pas avoir de stop, vous pouvez soit remplacer le 3% avec un % très élevé ou tout simplement supprimer le stop dans la barre de personnalisation.  

 

Cet exemple montre deux opportunités d’achat. Le marché est haussier car le prix du marché est au-dessus de la moyenne mobile sur 200 périodes (courbe bleu). Dans une tendance haussière, la stratégie cherche des opportunités d’achat quand le marché est survendu. Le marché est survendu quand le RSI tombe en dessous de 5. Dans les deux cas, la position longue est vendue quand le marché clôture au-dessus de la moyenne mobile sur 5-périodes (courbe violette).


 

Cet exemple montre deux opportunités de vente à découvert. Le marché est baissier car le prix du marché est en dessous de la moyenne mobile sur 200-périodes. Dans une tendance baissière, la stratégie cherche des opportunités de vente à découvert quand le marché est suracheté. Le marché est suracheté quand le RSI passe au-dessus de 95. Dans les deux cas, notre position short est donc rachetée quand le marché clôture en dessous de la moyenne mobile sur 5-périodes (courbe violette). La ligne orange horizontale représente le stop sécurité de 3%.


 

Cet exemple illustre l’usage du stop de sécurité de 3%. Monsieur Connors, le développeur de cette stratégie n’utilise pas le stop.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie  2-périodes RSI est basée sur le concept d’un retour du cours au prix moyen de la période en question. Dans un marché survendu ou suracheté, la stratégie attend que le prix revienne au prix moyen du marché. La stratégie ouvre des positions short dans une tendance baissière quand le marché est suracheté. La stratégie ouvre des positions acheteuses dans une tendance haussière quand le marché est survendu. C’est une stratégie très simple qui peut être appliquée à tous les instruments financiers pour du day trading. Monsieur Connors utilise également cette stratégie pour du swing trading (positions ouvertes pendant plusieurs jours). Dans ce cas, il ouvre les positions quelque peu avant la fermeture du marché au lieu d’ouvrir les positions à l’ouverture le jour d’après.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS RSI 2P".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.