Trading strategy: Kaufman Efficiency Ratio

Description

The Kaufman Efficiency Ratio trading strategy is based on Perry Kaufman’s market efficiency model as described in his book "Smarter Trading: Improving Performance in Changing Markets" (ISBN 0-07-034002-1). It is an interesting way to identify and measure the trend of a financial instrument. "The trend is your friend" is a classic trader saying. It implies that trading in the direction of the trend is a safe, conservative approach. However, to follow the trend it is necessary to separate the trend from the random noise of the market - i.e. the random movements of the market at any given time. Kaufman, using his ER, shows if a market is trending or not.

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (FTSE, DAX, AEX …)
: Stocks
Instruments : Futures, CFD, stocks
Trading type : Day trading and Swing trading
Trading tempo : 1-3 signals per day
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or semi-automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Kaufman Efficiency Ratio is a ratio of the price direction to the price volatility. The result is a number, which oscillates between +1 and -1. The center point is 0. +1 indicates a financial instrument with a perfectly efficient upward trend.  -1 indicates a financial instrument with a perfectly efficient downward trend. It is virtually impossible for an instrument to have a perfect efficiency ratio (+1 or -1). The more efficient the ratio, the clearer the trend.


Values around 0 indicate a lot of random movement i.e. the absence of a trend. The Kaufman ER strategy can be used in a 15-minute time frame or higher for day trading. Lower time frames are not recommended by Kaufman. The strategy can also be used on a 1-day time frame for swing trading purposes.

When to open a position?

A buy signal is generated after the indicator crosses above +0,6. A long position is bought at the market price. A short sell signal is generated after the indicator crosses below -0,6. A short sell position is sold at the market price. Note: as usual users can change the values of these parameters in the Designer dialog window of the NanoTrader Full platform:


 

This example shows a buy signal when the Kaufman ER crosses above the +0,6 level (green zone).



This interpretation scheme uses two parameters, "Threshold Up" and "Threshold Down" that are defined by the indicators using this scheme. As usual in the platform 0 is most bearish (will result in a short signal) and 100 most bullish (will result in a long signal). Hence 50 is neutral (nothing will happen).

By default the Two Zones setup uses the classic "overbought" and "oversold" scenario in order to generate signals. A short sell signal is generated when an indicator leaves the upper zone. A buy signal is generated when an indicator leaves the lower zone. This is the standard interpretation for all "Two Zones" indicators.

The Kaufman Efficiency Ratio indicator, however, follows a different reasoning. A buy signal is generated when the indicator enters the upper zone. A short sell signal is generated when the indicator enters the lower zone. Hence the parameters in the Two Zones interpretation have simply been changed to: 1. "Entering Upper Zone" (100), 3: "Leaving Upper Zone" (50), 5: "Entering Lower Zone" (0) and 7: "Leaving Lower Zone" (50).

The above clearly illustrates once again the enormous flexibility offered by NanoTrader Full. Strategies can be designed without programming.

 

In order to generate buy and sell signals the indicator uses one of the many basic interpretations schemes of the NanoTrader Full platform called "Two Zones".


 

This example shows a buy signal after the Kaufman ER crosses above the +0,6 level. Initially the stop (red line) is at the 10-period low. When time elapses the stop follows the 10-period low, resulting in a trailing effect. The position is closed with a profit when the profit target (green line) is hit.


 

This example shows a buy signal after the Kaufman ER crosses above the +0,6 level. Initially the stop (red line) is at the 10-period low. When time elapses the stop follows the 10-period low, resulting in a trailing effect. The position is closed with a profit when the profit target (green line) is hit.


 

In this swing trading example the Kaufman ER strategy is applied on a daily chart of a French stock, Air France. A buy signal is given when the ER crosses above +0,6. A long position was bought at the market price at the next open. The profit target (green line) was reached two weeks later. By that time the 10-period low stop (red line) was already above the break-even level and it was no longer possible to lose on this position.


 

Conclusion

The Kaufman Efficiency Ratio strategy tries to identify as strong a trend as possible. Positions are taken in the direction of the trend. By doing this Kaufman follows the age old trader saying "the trend is your friend". It is an interesting, simple-to-understand strategy which can be used both for day trading and swing trading. Traders do well to take a look at this strategy as the trend is a key parameter in trading.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Kaufman ER".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategies de trading : Kaufman Efficiency Ratio

Description

"La tendance est votre alliée" est un adage classique du trader. Cela signifie que trader dans la direction de la tendance est une approche sure et conservatrice. Cependant, pour pouvoir suivre la tendance, il est nécessaire d’isoler cette tendance dans le bruit diffus du marché - c’est-à-dire les mouvements aléatoires du marché à tout moment. La stratégie de trading Kaufman Efficiency Ratio est basée sur le modèle d’efficacité du marché de Perry Kaufman, tel qu’il est décrit dans son ouvrage "Smarter Trading: Improving Performance in Changing Markets" (ISBN 0-07-034002-1). Il s’agit d’une manière intéressante d’identifier et de mesurer la tendance d’un instrument financier.

 

  
Valable pour : Indices de marchés (FTSE, DAX, AEX …)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFD, actions
Type de trading : Day trading et Swing trading
Fréquence de trading : 1-3 signaux par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Le Kaufman Efficiency Ratio (ratio d’efficacité de Kaufman) est un ratio de la direction et de la volatilité des prix. Le résultat est un ratio qui oscille entre +1 et -1. Le point central est 0. +1 indique un instrument financier ayant une tendance haussière parfaitement efficace.

-1 indique un instrument financier ayant une tendance baissière parfaitement efficace.

Il est pratiquement impossible pour un instrument d’avoir un ratio de parfaite efficacité (+1 or -1). Plus le ratio est efficace, plus la tendance est claire.


Des valeurs tournant autour de 0 indiquent la présence de nombreux mouvements aléatoires, et donc l’absence d’une tendance claire.

La stratégie Kaufman ER peut être utilisée avec une unité de temps de 15 minutes, ou plus élevée pour du day trading. Des unités de temps inférieures ne sont pas recommandées par Kaufman. La stratégie peut également être utilisée sur une unité de temps de 1 jour pour du swing trading.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat est généré quand l’indicateur croise le niveau +0,6 vers le haut. Une position longue est ouverte au prix du marché. Un signal de vente à découvert est généré quand l’indicateur croise le niveau -0,6 vers le bas. Une position de vente à découvert est ouverte au prix du marché.

Note : comme d’habitude, les utilisateurs peuvent modifier les valeurs de ces paramètres dans la Barre de Personnalisation de la plateforme NanoTrader Full.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal d’achat après le croisement vers le haut du niveau + 0,6 (zone en vert) par le Kaufman ER.


Pour générer des signaux d’achat et de vente, l’indicateur utilise l’un des nombreux modèles d’interprétation basiques de la plateforme NanoTrader Full, appelé "Deux Zones".

Ce modèle d’interprétation utilise deux paramètres, "Threshold Up" et "Threshold Down", qui sont définis par les indicateurs utilisant ce modèle. Comme d’habitude, 0 est dans la plateforme le niveau le plus baissier (il résultera un signal short) et 100 le plus haussier (il résultera un signal long). De ce fait, le niveau 50 est neutre (rien ne surviendra).

Par défaut, le paramétrage "2 Zones" utilise le scénario classique de "surachat" et de "survente" pour générer des signaux. Un signal de vente à découvert est généré lorsqu’un indicateur quitte la zone supérieure. Un signal d’achat est généré lorsqu’un indicateur quitte la zone inférieure. C’est l’interprétation standard pour tous les indicateurs "2 Zones".

L’indicateur Kaufman Efficiency Ratio suit cependant un raisonnement différent. Un signal d’achat est généré quand l’indicateur entre dans la zone supérieure. Un signal de vente à découvert est généré quand l’indicateur entre dans la zone inférieure. Les paramètres de l’interprétation 2 Zones ont donc simplement été modifiés de la façon suivante : 1. "Entrer dans la Zone Supérieure" (100), 3: "Quitter la zone supérieure" (50), 5: "Entrer dans la Zone Inférieure" (0) et 7: "Quitter la Zone Inférieure" (50).

Les éléments décrits ci-dessus illustrent une fois de plus l’immense flexibilité qu’offre NanoTrader Full. Des stratégies peuvent être créées sans programmation.

 

Pour générer des signaux d’achat et de vente, l’indicateur utilise l’un des nombreux modèles d’interprétation basiques de la plateforme NanoTrader Full, appelé "Deux Zones".


 

Cet exemple montre un signal d’achat après le croisement vers le haut du niveau + 0,6 par le Kaufman ER. Initialement, le stop (la ligne rouge) est situé au plus bas sur 10 périodes. Avec le temps, le stop suivra le plus bas sur 10 périodes, tel un stop trailing. La position est clôturée avec un gain dès que l’objectif (la ligne verte) est touché.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal pour une vente à découvert après le croisement du niveau -0,6 par le Kaufman ER. Initialement, le stop (la ligne rouge) est situé au plus haut sur 10 périodes. Avec le temps, le stop suivra le plus haut sur 10 périodes, tel un stop trailing. L’objectif (la ligne verte) n’est pas atteint. Le stop est touché quand le marché remonte, et la position est clôturée avec une légère perte.


 

Dans cet exemple de swing trading, la stratégie Kaufman ER est appliquée sur le graphique journalier d’une action française, Air France. Un signal d’achat apparaît lorsque l’ER croise la ligne +0,6 vers le haut. Une position longue a été ouverte au prix du marché à l’ouverture de la barre suivante. L’objectif (la ligne verte) a été atteint deux semaines plus tard. A ce moment-là, le stop bas de 10 périodes (la ligne rouge) était déjà au-dessus du seuil de rentabilité (break-even) et il n’était plus possible d’avoir de perte sur cette position.


 

Conclusion

La stratégie Kaufman Efficiency Ratio tente d’identifier des tendances aussi fortes que possible. Des positions sont ouvertes dans la direction de la tendance. Kaufman suit ainsi le vieil adage du trader "la tendance est votre alliée". Il s’agit d’une stratégie intéressante, facile à appréhender, qui peut être utilisée aussi bien pour du day trading que pour du swing trading. Les traders ont tout intérêt à prendre connaissance de cette stratégie, car la tendance est un paramètre clé en trading.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Kaufman Efficiency Ratio".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.