Trading strategy: EUR/USD Pivot

Description

The EUR/USD Pivot strategy is a trading strategy based on the concept of pivot points. Pivot points are calculated each day at the start of the day. In order to calculate these points traders use values from the previous day’s trading range.

 

  
Suitable for : EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot forex and forex CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : Several signals per day on a 30 minute chart
The strategy :
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The pivot points are calculated at the start of the day and are valid for one day. The formulae to calculate the points are given below. There is nothing very sophisticated about pivot points. In essence their value lies in the fact that many market participants observe or use them. Given this general interest in the pivot points, they become relevant.

Above the central pivot point there are three resistance pivot points. Below the central pivot point there are three support pivot points. The seven pivot points are calculated as follows:

  
Pivot = (High + Close + Low) / 3
Resistance 1
Support 1
= (2 * Pivot) - Low
= (2 * Pivot) - High
Resistance 2
Support 2
= Pivot + (Resistance 1 - Support 1)
= Pivot - (Resistance 1 - Support 1)
Resistance 3
Support 3
= High + 2 * (Pivot - Low)
= Low - 2 * (High - Pivot)

Around all seven lines based on the pivot points, the strategy draws a green zone (above the line) and red zone (below the line). The edges of these zones are 15 pips above and below the pivot lines.

 

This example shows the seven pivot lines and their respective green and red zones.


When the volatility is low it is possible that the zones overlap. The strategy will not react to signals if the distance between the pivot points is smaller than or equal to 20 pips.

The EUR/USD Pivot trading strategy is applied in a 30-minute timeframe.

When to open a position?

The EUR/USD Pivot strategy uses the SuperTrend as a signals filter. If the SuperTrend is positive only buy signals are accepted. If the SuperTrend is negative only short sell signals are accepted. The SuperTrend is visible in the charts as a blue line. If the SuperTrend is above the price chart the trend is negative. If the SuperTrend is below the price chart the trend is positive.

A buy signal is generated when the market price, after having closed at least once in the green or red zones, closes above the green zone.

 

In this example the market price breaks out of the green zone. The SuperTrend filter (blue line) is below the market price indicating a positive trend. A long position is bought at the market price at the open of the next candle



A short sell signal is generated when the market price, after having closed at least once in the green or the red zones, closes below the red zone.

 

In this example the market price breaks out of the red zone. The SuperTrend filter (blue line) is above the market price indicating a negative trend. A short sell position is opened at the market price at the open of the next candle.


When to close a position?

The EUR/USD Pivot strategy uses a stop and a profit target. Unconventionally the stop is set at 50 pips and the profit target at a lower value, 25 pips. The strategy does not keep positions overnight. A blocker will automatically close all open positions at 22h00. No new positions will be opened before 09h00 the next day.

 

This example shows two consecutive buy signals. A first long position is opened after the market price closes above the green zone. The orders for the 50 pip stop loss (red line) and the 25 pip profit target (green line) are generated automatically. After a while the price goes up and the profit target is reached. A second long position is opened when market price moves above the third green zone. Two candles later the profit target is reached. Both positions are closed with a profit.



 

This example shows two consecutive short sell signals. A first short position is opened after the market price closes below the red zone. The orders for the 50 pip stop loss (red line) and the 25 pip profit target are automatically generated. After a while the price goes down and the profit target is reached. A second short sell position is opened when market price moves below the second red zone. Twelve candles later the profit target is reached. Both positions are closed with a profit.


 

Conclusion

The EUR/USD Pivot strategy uses the well-known pivot points to determine buy and short sell zones. It is a simple day trading strategy which runs at a fairly sedate pace given that it is based on 30-minute charts. An interesting strategy for traders who do not like to be hurried.

 

This screenshot shows a backtest over a relatively short period of 14 months.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS EUR/USD Pivot".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : EUR/USD Pivot

Description

La stratégie EUR/USD Pivot est une stratégie de trading basée sur le concept des points pivots. Les points pivots sont calculés chaque jour au début de la journée. Pour calculer ces points, les traders utilisent les valeurs provenant des écarts de prix du jour de trading précédent.


  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (DAX, CAC, DOW...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Matières premières (pétrole, or, ...)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFD, Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 0-3 signaux par jour dans un graphique en 15’
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Les points pivots sont calculés au début de la journée et sont valables pour un jour. La formule pour calculer ces points est donnée ci-dessous. Il n’y a rien de très sophistiqué au sujet des points pivots. Leur valeur réside, essentiellement, dans le fait que beaucoup de participants au marché les observent et les utilisent. Au vu de cet intérêt général pour les points pivots, ils deviennent pertinents.

Outre le point pivot central, il y a au-dessus trois point pivots de résistance. En-dessous du point pivot central, il y a trois points pivots de support. Les sept points pivots sont calculés ainsi :

  
Pivot = (Haut + Clôture + Bas) / 3
Résistance 1
Support 1
= (2 * Pivot) - Bas
= (2 * Pivot) - Haut
Résistance 2
Support 2
= Pivot + (Résistance 1 - Support 1)
= Pivot - (Résistance 1 - Support 1)
Résistance 3
Support 3
= Haut + 2 * (Pivot - Bas)
= Bas - 2 * (Haut- Pivot)

Autour des sept lignes basées sur les points pivots, la stratégie dessine une zone verte (au-dessus de la ligne) et une zone rouge (en-dessous de la ligne). L’écart de ces zones est de 15 pips au-dessus et en-dessous des lignes pivots.

 

Cet exemple montre les sept points pivots et leurs zones respectives vertes et rouges.


Quand la volatilité est basse, il est possible que les zones se superposent. La stratégie ne va pas réagir aux signaux si la distance entre les points pivots est plus petite ou égale à 20 pips.

La stratégie de trading Pivot EUR/USD s’applique avec une unité de temps de 30 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

La stratégie EUR/USD Pivot utilise le SuperTrend comme filtre des signaux. Si le SuperTrend est positif, seuls sont acceptés les signaux d’achat. Si le SuperTrend est négatif, seuls sont acceptés les signaux de vente short. Le SuperTrend est visible dans les graphes (ligne bleue). Si le SuperTrend est au-dessus de la courbe des prix, la tendance est négative. Si le SuperTrend est en-dessous de la courbe des prix, la tendance est positive.

Un signal d’achat est généré si le prix du marché, après avoir clôturé au moins une fois dans les zones vertes ou rouges, clôture au-dessus de la zone verte.

 

Dans cet exemple le prix du marché sort de la zone verte. Le filtre SuperTrend (ligne bleue) est en-dessous du prix du marché, ce qui indique une tendance positive. Une position longue est achetée au prix du marché à l’ouverture de la prochaine chandelle.


Un signal de vente short est généré lorsque le prix du marché, après avoir clôturé au moins une fois dans les zones vertes ou rouges, clôture en-dessous de la zone rouge.

 

Dans cet exemple le prix du marché sort de la zone rouge. Le filtre SuperTrend (ligne bleue) est au-dessus du prix du marché, ce qui indique une tendance négative. Une position vente short est ouverte au prix du marché à l’ouverture de la prochaine bougie.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie EUR/USD Pivot utilise un stop perte et un objectif. De façon non-conventionnelle, le stop est placé à 50 pips et l'objectif a une valeur inférieure, à 25 pips. La stratégie ne conserve pas de positions overnight. Un filtre block clôturera automatiquement toutes les positions encore ouvertes à 22h00. Aucune nouvelle position ne sera ouverte avant 09h00 le lendemain.

 

Cet exemple montre deux signaux d’achat consécutifs. Une première position longue est ouverte au prix du marché après que le marché a clôturé au-dessus de la zone verte. L’ordre stop perte à 50 pips (ligne rouge) et l'objectif à 25 pips (ligne verte) sont générés automatiquement. Après un certain temps, le prix monte et l'objectif est atteint. Une deuxième position longue est ouverte lorsque le prix du marché évolue au-delà de la troisième zone verte. Deux chandelles plus tard, l'objectif est atteint. Les deux positions sont clôturées avec un profit.


 

Cet exemple montre deux signaux de vente short consécutifs. Une première position est ouverte après que le prix du marché ait clôturé en-dessous de la zone. Les ordres pour le stop perte à 50 pips (ligne rouge) et l'objectif à 25 pips sont générés automatiquement. Après un certain temps, le prix descend et l'objectif est atteint. Une seconde position de vente short est ouverte quand le prix du marché sort en dehors de la seconde zone rouge. Douze bougies plus tard, l'objectif est atteint. Les deux positions sont clôturées avec un profit.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie EUR/USD Pivot utilise le concept bien connu des points pivots pour déterminer des zones d’achat ou de vente. C’est une stratégie de day trading simple qui fonctionne à une vitesse relativement calme, étant donné qu’elle est basée sur un graphe en 30 minutes. Une stratégie intéressante pour les traders qui n’aiment pas être pressés.

 

Cette copie d'écran montre un back-test sur une période relativement courte de 14 mois.

Practical implementation

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS EURUSD Pivot".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.