Trading strategy: EUR/USD 07h30

Description

The EUR/USD 07h30 trading strategy attempts to benefit from the different world time zones and the ensuing variations in forex trading volumes. The strategy checks at a precise point in time, 07h30, if the EUR/USD is in the early stages of a trend. If a trend is detected a position is opened in the direction of the trend.

Note: this type of strategies which potentially offer trades at a specific point in time (as opposed to strategies which require the trader to wait until a strategy generates a signal at a random point in time) are practical and popular.


  
Suitable for : EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot forex and forex CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : Maximum 1 signal per day
The strategy :
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

At around 07h00 GMT the European markets are near their opening times and trading volume in the EUR/USD starts to increase. At the same time the US is still asleep and the Asian markets are in their last one or two hours (Tokio, Hong Kong). In the hour(s) leading up to 07h00 GMT the EUR/USD, in a sense, begins its trading day. It is a good point in time to determine if a trend is starting. If a trend is starting, the probability is real that it will continue for some time when the EUR/USD trading volume increases in the subsequent hours.

The EUR/USD 07h30 strategy is used in a 30-minute time frame.

When to open a position?

In order to determine if a trend is building the strategy combines three indicators: the SuperTrend, the MACD and the DMI. A buy signal is generated at 07h30 if all three indicators show a positive trend. A short sell signal is generated at 07h30 if all three indicators show a negative trend. If there is no unanimity across the indicators, no position is opened. Positions are opened at market price.

When to close a position?

The EUR/USD 07h30 strategy uses both a profit target and a stop. In addition there is a time filter: if a position is still open at 12h00 it is closed at the market price. The profit target is small, 12 pips. The initial stop loss is a 48-period HighLow stop. This stop is relatively far from the entry price and thus serves as a security.

 

This example shows a buy signal. A long position is opened at the market price. The profit target is reached several hours later and the position is closed at a profit.



 

This example shows a short sell signal. A short position is opened at the market price. Neither the profit target nor the stop are reached. The position is closed by the time filter at 12h00.

 

Conclusion

The EUR/USD 07h30 strategy focuses on a particular point in time, the beginning of the day when volume in the EUR/USD picks up and a new trend may be building. If a trend is detected a position is opened in the direction of the trend. The profit target is small but the percentage of positive trades is consistently high. This strategy is interesting for traders who like a trade at a particular point in time.

 

This screenshot shows a back-test over about 2 ½ years. This strategy has a ratio of >80% winning trades combined with a fairly steadily rising equity curve.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS EUR/USD 07h30 ".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : 07h30 EUR/USD

Description

La stratégie de trading 07h30 EUR/USD a pour but de tirer profit des différentes zones horaires mondiales et des variations de volume de trading qui en découlent. La stratégie vérifie à un moment précis, à 07h30, si l’EUR/USD montre les premiers signes d’une tendance. Si une tendance est détectée, une position est ouverte en direction de cette tendance.

Note: Ce type de stratégie, qui propose des trades à un moment spécifique (ce qui est opposé aux stratégies qui demandent au trader d’attendre jusqu’à un moment indéterminé qu’un signal soit généré), est pratique et populaire.


  
Valable pour : EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot forex et CFD sur forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : Maximum 1 signal par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Vers 07h00 GMT, les marchés européens sont proches de leur ouverture et le volume de trading de l’EUR/USD commence à croître. Au même moment, les USA sont toujours fermés et les marches asiatiques (Tokyo, Hong Kong) connaissent leurs deux dernières heures d’ouverture. Dans les heures conduisant à 07h00 GMT, l’EUR/USD commence en quelque sorte sa journée de trading. C’est un bon moment pour déterminer si une tendance se forme. Si une tendance se dessine, la probabilité est réelle que cela continue pour quelques temps alors que le volume de trading de l’EUR/USD continue de croître dans cette période.

La stratégie 07h30 est utilisée sur une unité de temps de 30 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Dans le but de déterminer si une tendance se construit, la stratégie combine trois indicateurs : le fameux SuperTrend, le MACD et le DMI. Un signal d’achat est généré à 07h30 si les trois indicateurs montrent une tendance positive. Un signal de vente est généré à 07h30 si les trois indicateurs montrent une tendance négative. S’il n’y a pas d’unanimité parmi les indicateurs, aucune position n’est ouverte. Les positions sont ouvertes au prix du marché.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie 07h30 EUR/USD utilise en même temps un objectif et un stop perte. De plus, un filtre de temps est appliqué : si une position est toujours ouverte à 12h00, elle sera clôturée au prix du marché. L'objectif est petit, de 12 pips. Le stop perte initial est un stop HighLow établi sur 48 périodes. Ce stop est relativement éloigné du prix d’entrée et sert donc de sécurité.

 

Cet exemple montre un signal d’achat. Une position longue est ouverte au prix du marché. L'objectif est atteint quelques heures plus tard et la position est clôturée avec un profit.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal de vente. Une position short est ouverte au prix du marché. Ni l'objectif ni le stop perte n’est touché. La position est clôturée par le filtre temps à 12h00.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie 07h30 EUR/USD se concentre sur un moment particulier, le début de la journée quand le volume de l’EUR/USD augmente et qu’une tendance peut se dessiner. Si une tendance est détectée, une position est ouverte dans la direction de la tendance. L’objectif gain est petit, mais le pourcentage de trades positifs est relativement élevé. Cette stratégie est très intéressante pour les traders cherchant un trade potentiel à un moment précis.

 

Cette copie d'écran montre un back-test sur deux ans. Ce qui est impressionnant avec cette stratégie, c’est qu’elle a un ratio de trades gagnants de plus de 80%, combiné à une courbe de rendement (equity) régulièrement croissante.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS 07h30 EURUSD".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.