Trading strategy: EUR/USD 07h30 - 22h30

Description

The EUR/USD 07h30 - 22h30 trading strategy is a variant of the EUR/USD 07h30 strategy. These strategies attempt to benefit from the different world time zones and the ensuing variations in forex trading volumes. The strategy checks at two precise points in time, 07h30 and 22h30, if the EUR/USD is in the early stages of a trend. If a trend is detected a position is opened in the direction of the trend.

Note: this type of strategies which potentially offer trades at specific points in time (as opposed to strategies which require the trader to wait until a strategy generates a signal at a random point in time) are practical and popular.

 

  
Suitable for : EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot forex and forex CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : Maximum 2 signals per day
The strategy :
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

At around 07h00 GMT the European markets are near their opening times and trading volume in the EUR/USD starts to increase. At the same time the US is still asleep and the Asian markets are in their last one or two hours (Tokio, Hong Kong). In the hour(s) leading up to 07h00 GMT the EUR/USD, in a sense, begins its trading day. It is a good point in time to determine if a trend is starting. If a trend is starting, the probability is real that it will continue for some time when the EUR/USD trading volume increases in the subsequent hours.

At around 22h30 the European and US markets have wound down. Trading activity on the EUR/USD decreases. Traders sometimes consider this the point in time when the EUR/USD returns to its fundamental trend.

The EUR/USD 07h30 – 22h30 strategy is used in a 30-minute time frame.

When to open a position?

In order to determine if a trend is building the strategy combines three indicators: the SuperTrend, the MACD and the DMI. A buy signal is generated at 07h30 and 22h30 if all three indicators show a positive trend. A short sell signal is generated at 07h30 and 22h30 if all three indicators show a negative trend. If there is no unanimity across the indicators, no position is opened. Positions are opened at market price.

When to close a position?

The EUR/USD 07h30 – 22h30 strategy uses both a profit target and a stop. In addition there is a time filter: if a position is still open at 12h00 it is closed at the market price. This can be either the 07h30 or the 22h30 position. If the 22h30 position is still open the next morning at 07h30 no additional position will be opened. If the 22h30 position is still open at 12h00 it will be closed at the market price.

The profit target is small, 12 pips. The initial stop loss is a 48-period HighLow stop. This stop is relatively far from the entry price and thus serves as a security.

 

This example shows a buy signal at 22h30. A long position is bought at the market price. The profit target (green line) is not reached. The position is still open at 7h30 the next morning. As such the short sell signal at 7h30 is not acted upon. The position hits the stop (red line) and is closed with a loss.



 

This example shows a buy signal at 22h30. A long position is opened at the market price. The position is still open at 7h30 the next morning. At that time there is no additional signal (note: if there was a signal, it would not be acted upon). An hour later the profit target (green line) is reached and the position is closed with a profit.


 

This screenshot shows a back-test over about 2 ½ years. This strategy has a ratio of >80% winning trades combined with a fairly steadily rising equity curve.

 

Conclusion

The EUR/USD 07h30 - 22h30 strategy focuses on two particular points in time, the beginning of the day when volume in the EUR/USD picks up and the end of the day when volume winds down. In both cases a trend may be building. If a trend is detected a position is opened in the direction of the trend. The profit target is small but the percentage of positive trades is consistently high. This strategy is interesting for traders who like a trade at a particular point in time.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS EUR/USD 07h30 - 22h30".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : 07h30 - 22h30 EUR/USD

Description

La stratégie de trading 07h30 - 22h30 EUR/USD est une variante de la stratégie 07h30 EUR/USD. Ces stratégies ont pour but de tirer profit des différentes zones horaires mondiales et des variations de volume de trading du forex qui en découlent. La stratégie vérifie à deux moments précis, 07h30 et 22h30, si l’EUR/USD montre les premiers signes d’une tendance. Si une tendance est détectée, une position est ouverte en direction de cette tendance.

Note : ce type de stratégie, qui propose des trades à un moment spécifique (ce qui est opposé aux stratégies qui demandent au trader d’attendre jusqu’à un moment indéterminé qu’un signal soit généré), est pratique et populaire.

 

  
Valable pour : EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot forex et forex CFD sur forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : Maximum 2 signaux par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel ou (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Vers 07h00 GMT, les marchés européens sont proches de leur ouverture et le volume de trading de l’EUR/USD commence à croître. Au même moment, les USA sont toujours fermés et les marchés asiatiques (Tokyo, Hong Kong) connaissent leurs deux dernières heures d’ouverture. Dans les heures conduisant à 07h00 GMT, l’EUR/USD commence en quelque sorte sa journée de trading. C’est un bon moment pour déterminer si une tendance se forme. Si une tendance se dessine, la probabilité est réelle que cela continue pour quelques temps alors que le volume de trading de l’EUR/USD continue de croître dans cette période.

Vers 22h30, les marchés européens et US réduisent progressivement leur activité. L’activité de trading sur l’EUR/USD diminue. Les traders considèrent parfois ce point horaire comme étant le moment ou l’EUR/USD retourne à sa tendance fondamentale.

La stratégie 07h30 - 22h30 EUR/USD est utilisée sur une unité de temps de 30 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Dans le but de déterminer si une tendance se construit, la stratégie combine trois indicateurs : le SuperTrend, le MACD et le DMI. Un signal d’achat est généré à 07h30 et à 22h30 si les trois indicateurs montrent une tendance positive. Un signal de vente est généré à 07h30 et 22h30 si les trois indicateurs montrent une tendance négative. S’il n’y a pas d’unanimité parmi les indicateurs, aucune position n’est ouverte. Les positions sont ouvertes au prix du marché.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie 07h30 – 22h30 EUR/USD utilise en même temps un objectif et un stop perte. De plus, un filtre de temps est appliqué : si une position est toujours ouverte à 12h00, elle sera clôturée au prix du marché.  Cela peut être soit la position de 07h30 ou celle de 22h30. Si la position de 22h30 est toujours ouverte le lendemain matin à 07h30, aucune position additionnelle ne sera prise. Si la position de 22h30 est toujours ouverte le lendemain matin à 12h00, elle sera clôturée au prix du marché.
 
L'objectif est petit, de 12 pips. Le stop perte initial est un stop HighLow établi sur 48 périodes. Ce stop est relativement loin du prix d’entrée et sert donc de sécurité.

 

Cet exemple montre un signal d’achat à 22h30. Une position longue est ouverte au prix du marché. L'objectif (ligne verte) n’est pas atteint. La position est toujours ouverte à 7h30 le lendemain matin. Dès lors, le signal vente short à 7h30 n’est pas pris en compte. La position touche le stop (ligne rouge) et est clôturée avec une perte.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal d’achat à 22h30. Une position longue est ouverte au prix du marché. La position est toujours ouverte à 7h30 le lendemain matin. A ce moment, il n’y a pas de nouveau signal (note : s’il y avait eu un signal, il n’aurait pas été accepté). Une heure plus tard, l'objectif est touché (ligne verte) et la position est clôturée avec un profit.


 

Cette copie d'écran montre un back-test sur deux ans et demi. A noter que cette stratégie a un ratio de trades gagnants de plus de 80% combiné à une courbe de rendement (equity) régulièrement croissante.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie 07h30 – 22h30 EUR/USD se concentre sur deux moments particuliers, le début de la journée quand le volume de l’EUR/USD augmente, et la fin de la journée lorsque le volume décroît. Dans les deux cas, une tendance peut se dessiner. Si une tendance est détectée, une position est ouverte dans la direction de la tendance. L’objectif gain est petit, mais le pourcentage de trades positifs est relativement élevé. Cette stratégie est très intéressante pour les traders cherchant un trade potentiel à un moment précis de la journée.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS EURUSD 07h30 22h30".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.