Trading strategy: Morning Angler

Description

Each day, at 10h00 precisely, the Morning Angler strategy opens a position in the direction of the trend. The open position is protected by a trailing stop. The trailing distance is close to the market price. As a consequence the majority of positions are closed with a loss. However, the size of the occasional profits is such that they make up for the losses and then some.

Each morning the angler throws out his line. Usually he catches minions or nothing and loses his bait. Once in a while he catches a big fish. Hence the strategy’s name: Morning Angler. Practical is the fact that the strategy always opens its positions at a specific point in time. The trader does not have to wait and observe if a signal appears.

 

  
Suitable for : DAX, CAC, MIB, AEX, EUR/USD
Instruments : CFDs, spot forex and forex CFDs
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1 signal per day on a 40’ chart
The strategy :
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Morning Angler strategy is a trend following day trading strategy. At the start of the day the strategy determines a trend on the basis of an aggregated MACD indicator. A position is always taken in the direction of the trend. Positions are protected by an ATR-based trailing stop.

The strategy is applied on 40-minute charts.

When to open a position?

At precisely 10h00 a position is opened in the direction of the trend. The trend is determined on the basis of a 6x aggregated MACD. This is an MACD calculated over 240’ (= 6 x 40’ = 4 hours). If the trend is positive in this higher timeframe a long position is bought at the market price. If the trend is negative in this higher timeframe a short sell position is sold at the market price.

When to close a position?

The Morning Angler strategy uses a trailing stop. There is no profit target. Positions are only closed on the basis of the trailing stop. The distance of the trailing stop is calculated using the average true range (ATR). The ATR is a yardstick for the intrinsic volatility of a financial instrument. The higher the ATR, the more wiggle room an open position needs. The Morning Angler strategy uses a trailing stop equal to 1,5x the 36-period ATR. This is again a higher timeframe of 1.440’ (= 36 x  40’ = 24 hours).

 

This example shows a short sell position opened at 10h00. The trailing stop (red line) based on the ATR follows the short sell position downward. Towards the end of the day the market moves up and the trailing stop is hit. The position is closed with a profit.
Note: this is a typical example of the type of steady market movements the Morning Angler strategy tries to exploit.



 

This example shows two long positions opened at 10h00. The trailing stop (red line) follows the open positions. Both times the stop is hit fairly quickly. The positions are closed with a loss.


 

These screenshots show longer term back-tests for several market indices. The percentage of positive trades on, for example, the DAX is 36%. The percentage of negative trades is 64%. The longest sequence of negative trades is 14. The profits of the positive trades make up for the losses on the negative trades and then some.


 

The results on the Italian MIB index.


 

The results on the French CAC index.


 

The results on the Dutch AEX index.


 

The results on the pan-European Eurostoxx 50 index.


 

The results on the Euro FX future.

 

Conclusion

The Morning Angler strategy combines different tools in logical multiples of timeframes. Each day at 10h00 precisely a position is opened in the direction of the trend. Positions are often closed with a loss. But once in a while a position will perfectly follow a market in a steady trend resulting in a nice profit. The trader applying this strategy needs sufficient patience and confidence to digest sequences of negative trades. Practical is the fact that the Morning Angler strategy always opens its positions at a specific point in time. No waiting for signals here. Trading results differ from market index to market index.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Morning Angler".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Morning Angler

Description

Chaque jour, à 10h00 précisément, la stratégie Morning Angler ouvre une position dans la direction de la tendance. La position ouverte est protégée par un stop suiveur. Ce stop est situé non loin du prix du marché. Par conséquent, la majorité des positions sont clôturées avec une perte. Cependant, la taille des gains occasionnels est telle que cela rattrape largement les pertes.

Tous les matins, le pêcheur lance sa ligne. En général, il n’attrape que du menu fretin ou rien du tout, et perd son appât. Mais il attrape parfois un gros poisson. C’est de là que vient le nom de la stratégie : pêcheur matinal ("Morning Angler" en anglais). Le fait que la stratégie ouvre toujours ses positions au même moment est très pratique. Le trader n’a pas besoin d’attendre pour observer l’apparition d’un signal

.

  
Valable pour : DAX, CAC, MIB, AEX, EUR/USD
Instruments : CFD, spot forex et CFD sur Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 signal par jour sur un graphique en 40’
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie Morning Angler est une stratégie de suivi de tendance en day trading. Au début de la journée, la stratégie détermine une tendance sur la base d’un indicateur, une MACD agrégée. Une position est toujours prise dans la direction de la tendance. Les positions sont protégées par un stop suiveur basé sur l’ATR.

La stratégie est appliquée à des graphiques en 40 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

A 10h00 précisément une position est ouverte dans la direction de la tendance. La tendance est déterminée sur la base d’une MACD agrégée 6 fois. Cette MACD est calculée sur 240’ (= 6 x 40’ = 4 heures). Si la tendance est positive dans cette période de temps plus élevée, une position longue est ouverte au prix du marché. Si la tendance est négative dans cette même période, alors une position de vente à découvert est ouverte au prix du marché.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie Morning Angler utilise un stop suiveur. Il n’y a pas d’objectif de profit. Les positions ne sont clôturées que sur la base du stop suiveur. La distance de ce stop suiveur est calculée en utilisant l’ATR ("average true range" ou amplitude moyenne). L’ATR est une mesure pour la volatilité intrinsèque d’un instrument financier. Plus l’ATR est élevée, plus une position ouverte a besoin de marge de manœuvre. La stratégie Morning Angler utilise un stop suiveur égal à 1,5 x l’ATR sur 36 périodes. Il s’agit à nouveau d’une période de temps importante de 1.440’ (= 36 x 40’ = 24 heures).

 

Cet exemple montre une position de vente à découvert ouverte à 10h00. Le stop suiveur (la ligne rouge) basé sur l’ATR suit la position short vers le bas. En fin de journée, le marché remonte et le stop suiveur est touché. La position est clôturée avec un profit. Note : il s’agit d’un exemple typique de ce type de mouvements soutenus sur le marché  que la stratégie Morning Angler tente d’exploiter.


 

Cet exemple montre deux positions longues ouvertes à 10h00. Le stop suiveur (la ligne rouge) suit les positions ouvertes. Dans les deux cas, le stop est touché assez rapidement. Les positions sont clôturées avec une perte.


 

Ces copies d'écran montrent des backtests sur le long terme pour plusieurs indices de marché. Le pourcentage de trades positifs sur le DAX, par exemple, est de 36%. Le pourcentage de trades négatifs est de 64%. La séquence de trades négatifs la plus longue est de 14. Les profits des trades positifs rattrapent les pertes des trades négatifs et même plus.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice italien MIB.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice français CAC.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice néerlandais AEX.


 

Les résultats sur EUROFX.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice paneuropéen EuroStoxx 50.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie Morning Angler combine différents outils dans des multiples logiques de périodes de temps. Chaque jour à 10h00 précisément, une position est ouverte dans la direction de la tendance. Souvent, des positions sont clôturées avec une perte. Mais une fois de temps en temps, une position suivra, de façon parfaite, un marché dans une tendance continue; il en résultera un profit important. Le trader qui applique cette stratégie doit avoir suffisamment de patience et de confiance pour digérer les séquences de trades négatifs. Un aspect pratique est que la stratégie Morning Angler ouvre toujours ses positions au même moment. Il n’est donc pas nécessaire ici d’attendre des signaux. Les résultats du trading diffèrent d’un indice de marché à l’autre.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Morning Angler".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.