Trading strategy: Turtle Soup

Description

The Turtle Soup strategy was developed by trader-author Linda Bradford-Raschke and published in her book Street Smarts: High Probability Short-Term Trading Strategies. The strategy’s name is a reference to a well-known strategy called Turtle trading. This strategy was taught by Richard Dennis and William Eckhardt in the 1980s to a group of novice traders called the Turtles. Linda Bradford-Raschke inverts the reasoning behind the Turtle strategy in order to develop a short-term trading method.

 

  
Suitable for : EUR/USD, GBP/USD, EUR/CHF
Instruments : Spot forex, forex CFDs and forex futures
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 2-3 signals per day on a 30’ chart
The strategy :
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual and (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Turtle strategy designed by Dennis and Eckhardt is a trend-following strategy. Trend-following strategies typically have a low percentage of winning trades (<50%, usually around 40%). The profits on the winning trades are, however, sufficient to make up for the losing trades and then some.

Trend-following strategies, given their low percentage of winning trades must, per definition, have a high amount of false breakouts and short-term reversals. Linda Bradford-Raschke wanted to develop a strategy which benefits from false breakouts and short-term reversals. This would, in her opinion, result in a high-probability strategy. The result was the Turtle Soup strategy which, in a way, is the Turtle strategy turned on its head.

The Turtle Soup strategy is applied to forex pairs on 30-minute charts.

When to open a position?

A buy signal is given when the market price hits a 5-period low. A short sell signal is given when the market price hits a 5-period high. Positions are opened at the close of the 30-minute period.

The Turtle Soup trading strategy, however, does not react to all signals all the time. It uses a signals filter and a time filter. The time filter block all signals outside the period 06h00- 22h00. The signals filter consists of two exponential moving averages (EMA), a 21-period EMA and a 30-period EMA. When the fast EMA (21-period) lies above the slow EMA (30-period) only buy signals are accepted. When the fast EMA lies below the slow EMA only short sell signals are accepted.

When to close a position?

The Turtle Soup strategy uses a stop. The stop is a fixed stop calculated as 3x the 20-period ATR (average true range). This stop is far from the market price. It can be considered an emergency stop which will rarely be hit.

Positions are also closed when the market price reaches a 5-period high or low. To be precise, a long position will be closed when the market price hits a 5-period high. A short sell position will be closed when the market price hits a 5-period low. Open positions are closed at the close of the 30-minute period.

 

This example shows two buy signals. The buy signals are accepted because (1) the signals filter is positive (green background) and (2) the signals appear within the 06h00-22h00 time interval. The signals are 5-period lows. The first long position is closed with a profit when the first 5-period high appears. The second long position hits the fixed stop (red line) and is closed with a loss.


 

This example also shows two buy signals. The buy signals are accepted because (1) the signals filter is positive (green background) and (2) the signals appear within the 06h00-22h00 time interval. The signals are 5-period lows. The first long position is closed with a profit when the first 5-period high appears. The second long position is also closed with a profit when the first 5-period high appears.


 

This example shows a short sell signal. The short sell signal is accepted because (1) the signals filter is negative (red background) and (2) the signal appears within the 06h00-22h00 time interval. The signal is a 5-period high. The position is closed with a very small profit when the first 5-period low appears.


 

This example shows a short sell signal. The short sell signal is accepted because (1) the signals filter is negative (red background) and (2) the signal appears within the 06h00-22h00 time interval. The signal is a 5-period high. The position is closed with a loss at the first 5-period low.


 

These screenshots show longer term back-tests for several currency pairs. The percentage of winning trades is around 60% for all currency pairs. For the forex pair GBP/USD the percentage is, for example, 60,49%.


 

The results on the EUR/USD forex pair.


 

The results on the EUR/GBP forex pair.


 

The results on the EUR/CHF forex pair.


 

The results on the EUR/JPY forex pair.

 

Conclusion

The Turtle Soup trading strategy delivers what its author, Linde Bradford-Raschke, set out to create: a strategy based on a trend-following approach but which only trades on false break-outs (i.e. when it appears the trend has changed) and short-term reversals. These are the movements the strategy tries to benefit from. The back-tests appear to give steady results on the currency pairs tested.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Turtle Soup".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Turtle Soup

Description

La strategie Soupe de Tortue a été développée par le trader-auteur Linda Bradford-Raschke et publiée dans son livre Street Smarts : High Probability Short-Term Trading Strategies. Le nom de la stratégie est une référence à une autre stratégie bien connue appelée "Trading tortue". Cette stratégie a été proposée par Richard Dennis et William Eckhardt dans les années 80 à un groupe de traders novices appelés "les tortues". Linda Bradford-Raschke à inversé le concept se trouvant derrière la stratégie Tortue dans le but de développer une méthode de trading court terme.

 

  
Valable pour : EUR/USD, GBP/USD, EUR/CHF
Instruments : Spot forex, forex CFDs et forex futures
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 2-3 signaux par jour sur une graphe 30’
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie Tortue conçue par Dennis et Eckhardt est une stratégie de suivi de tendance. Ce type de stratégie ont typiquement un faible pourcentage de trades gagnants (<50%, souvent autour de 40%). Les profits des trades gagnants sont cependant suffisants pour effacer les trades perdants et pour rapporter un peu plus.

Les stratégies de suivi de tendance, vu leur faible pourcentage de trades gagnants doivent, par définition, avoir un grand nombre de fausses cassures et de retournements à court-terme. Linda Bradford-Raschke a voulu développer une stratégie qui tire profit des fausses cassures et des retournements à court-terme. Cela devrait, selon son opinion, conduire à une stratégie à haute probabilité. Le résultat fut la stratégie "Soupe de Tortue", qui en fait est la stratégie "Tortue" inversée.

La stratégie Soupe de Tortue s’applique aux paires forex sur des graphes 30-minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Un signal d’achat est donné lorsque le prix du marché touché un plus bas sur 5-périodes. Un signal de vente à découvert est donné lorsque le prix du marché touché un plus haut sur 5-périodes. Les positions sont ouvertes à la clôture d’une période de 30-minutes.

La stratégie de trading Soupe de Tortue, cependant, ne réagit pas à tous les signaux en permanence. Un filtre de signaux et un filtre de temps sont utilisés. Le filtre de temps bloque tous les signaux en dehors de la période 06h00 - 22h00. Le filtre de signaux consiste en 2 moyennes mobiles exponentielles (EMA), une EMA 21-périodes et une EMA 30-périodes. Lorsque l’EMA rapide (21-périodes) passe au dessus de la lente (30-périodes) seuls les signaux d’achat sont acceptés. Lorsque l’EMA rapide passe en dessous de la lente seuls les signaux de vente à découvert sont acceptés.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie Soupe de Tortue utilise un stop. Le stop est un stop fixe calculé comme 3x l’ATR (average true range) 20-périodes. Ce stop est loin du prix du marché. Il peut être considéré comme un stop d’urgence qui sera rarement atteint.

Les positions sont aussi clôturées lorsque le prix du marché a atteint un haut ou bas de 5 périodes. Pour être précis, une position longue sera fermée quand le marché touché un plus haut 5-périodes. Une position short sell sera fermée quand le marché touché un plus bas 5-périodes. Les positions ouvertes sont clôturées à la clôture de la période 30-minutes.

 

Cet exemple montre deux signaux d’achat. Ces signaux sont acceptés car (1) le filtre signaux est positif (fond vert) et (2) les signaux apparaissent dans la période 06h00-22h00. Les signaux sont dus à des plus bas 5-périodes. La première position longue est clôturée avec un profit lorsque le premier plus haut 5-périodes apparaît. La seconde position longue a touché le stop fixe (ligne rouge) et est clôturée avec une perte.


 

Cet exemple montre aussi deux signaux d’achat. Ces signaux sont acceptés car (1) le filtre signaux est positif (fond vert) et (2) les signaux apparaissent dans la période 06h00-22h00. Les signaux sont dus à des plus bas 5-périodes. La première position longue est clôturée avec un profit lorsque le premier plus haut 5-périodes apparaît. La deuxième position longue est aussi clôturée avec un profit lorsque le premier plus haut 5-périodes apparaît.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal de vente short. Le signal est accepté car (1) le filtre signaux est négatif (fond rouge) et (2) le signal apparaît dans la période 06h00-22h00. Le signal est dû à un plus haut 5-périodes. La position short est clôturée avec un petit profit lorsque le premier plus bas 5-périodes apparaît.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal de vente short. Le signal est accepté car (1) le filtre signaux est négatif (fond rouge) et (2) le signal apparaît dans la période 06h00-22h00. Le signal est dû à un plus haut 5-périodes. La position short est clôturée avec une perte lorsque le premier plus bas 5-périodes apparaît.


 

Ces copies d'écran montrent des back-tests long terme pour plusieurs paires de devises. Le pourcentage de trades gagnants est environ de 60% pour toutes les paires de devises. Pour la paire forex GBP/USD le pourcentage est, par exemple, de 60,49%.


 

Résultats sur la paire forex EUR/USD.


 

Résultats sur la paire forex EUR/GBP forex pair.


 

Résultats sur la paire forex EUR/CHF.


 

Résultats sur la paire forex EUR/JPY.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie de trading Soupe de Tortue se révèle être ce que l’auteur, Linde Bradford-Raschke, a essayé de créer: une stratégie basée sur une approche de suivi de tendance mais pour laquelle seulement les trades sur des fausses cassures (soit lorsqu’il apparaît que la tendance a changé) et des renversements court-terme. Ce sont les mouvements desquels la stratégie essaie de tirer profit. Les back-tests semblent donner des résultats constants sur les paires de devises testées.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Turtle Soup".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.