Trading strategy: VIX Reversal

Description

The VIX Reversal strategy was developed by trader-author Dr. Thomas K. Carr. It is published in his book Micro-Trend Trading for Daily Income (isbn 978-0-07-175287-9). The strategy uses the volatility index (VIX) published by the Chicago Board Options Exchange (CBOE). Carr claims in his book "The VIX Reversal system" … is my most profitable system in volatile markets.

 

  
Suitable for : S&P 500 market index
: Stocks, including ETF
Instruments : Futures, CFD, stocks
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 2-5 signals per day on a 5' chart
The strategy :
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual and (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The market volatility index (VIX) is a popular measure of the implied volatility of the S&P 500 index options. The VIX is broadcast by the CBOE and is often referred to as the fear index. In a nutshell, if the VIX climbs the market tends to go down. If the VIX goes down, the market tends to go up. It is interesting to note that the VIX is a forward-looking instrument in the sense that it is indication of what professionals expect the rate of return on the SP500 to be next month.

Many financial instruments are based on the VIX. In the case of futures there is a VIX future. In the case of CFDs there is a CFD on the VIX. There is also a CFD on a VIX exchange traded fund (ETF). Backtesting seems to indicate that for CFDs the CFD VIX ETF seems to give the best results for this strategy. Traders using futures can use the VIX future.

Dr. Thomas K. Carr applies the strategy in a 5-minute timeframe. He uses it for stocks, exchange traded funds and market indices. Carr argues that higher time frames are also possible but is of the opinion that 5 minutes is best.

When to open a position?

The VIX reversal strategy uses 5-minute and 15-minute moving averages (MA) of the VIX. When the 5MA crosses above the 15MA a sell signal is given. When the 5MA crosses below the 15MA a short buy signal is given.

The strategy is a reversal strategy. A reversal strategy always has an open position. When a long position is closed, a short sell position is opened at the same time. When a short sell position is closed, a long position is opened at the same time. Only during the night the strategy has no open positions.

When to close a position?

When the 5MA crosses below the 15MA a long position is closed (at the same time a short sell position is opened). When the 5MA crosses above the 15MA a short sell position is closed (at the same time a long position is opened). There is no profit target. The VIX reversal strategy also uses a time filter. The time filter will close any open positions in the last five minutes before the market closes.

 

This example shows a full trading day on Google. There are three buy signals (green circles) and two short sell signals (red circles). When a long position is closed a short sell position is opened. The final long position is closed by the time filter (purple background) at the end of the day. The second window shows the CFD VIX ETF. The third window shows the VIX moving average crosses which give the signals.


 

This example also shows a full trading day on Google. There are two short sell signals (red circles) and one buy signal (green circle). The example is interesting because it makes the case for adding an emergency stop loss to Carr’s strategy. It is rare that a stock makes such an instantaneous slide intra-day. Nevertheless, an emergency stop loss would have saved the trader money.


The results of the VIX Reversal strategy vary from stock to stock. These screenshots show back-tests for a number of stocks. Given that the strategy is based on a 5-minute time frame the back-tests cover only 8 months. Hence, they need to be interpreted with the necessary skepticism.

 

The results on Heinz.


 

The results on Microsoft.


 

The results on Sandisk.


 

The results on Teva Pharmaceuticals.


 

The results on Apple.

 

Conclusion

The VIX Reversal strategy developed by trader-author Dr. Thomas K. Carr is interesting in that it is based on the VIX. The VIX is one of the few forward looking indicators and is known for being relatively precise. Although there is nothing wrong with simple strategies this one appears too simplistic. The strategy would probably benefit from at least an emergency stop and a signals filter (based on the size of the movement in the VIX). This would limit the number of signals when a stock’s price is moving sideways. It may also be useful to experiment with a profit target or a time stop given that on numerous occasions a large part of the paper profits are lost again before the VIX MAs cross.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS VIX Reversal".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : VIX Reversal

Description

La stratégie VIX Reversal a été développée par l’auteur-trader Dr. Thomas K. Carr. Elle a été publiée dans son livre Micro-Trend Trading for Daily Income (isbn 978-0-07-175287-9). Cette stratégie utilise l’indice de volatilité (VIX) publié par le marché "Chicago Board Options Exchange" (CBOE). Carr affirme dans son livre: "Le système VIX Reversal … est mon système le plus profitable dans des marches volatiles".

 

   
Valable pour : L’indice de marché S&P 500
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFD, actions
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 2-5 signaux par jour sur un graphique en 5’
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique
 

 

La stratégie en détail

L’indicateur de volatilité du marché (VIX) est une mesure populaire de la volatilité implicite des options sur l’indice S&P 500. Le VIX est établi par le CBOE et est souvent appelé indice de la peur. En résumé, si le VIX monte, le marché a tendance à chuter. Si le VIX chute, le marché tend à monter. Il est intéressant de noter que le VIX est un instrument prévisionnel, dans le sens où il constitue une indication des attentes des professionnels concernant le taux de rendement du S&P500 le mois suivant.

De nombreux instruments financiers sont basés sur le VIX. Pour ce qui est des futures, il existe un future VIX. Il existe également un CFD sur le VIX, ainsi qu’un CFD basé sur un fonds indiciel coté (ETF) VIX. Les backtests semblent indiquer que, parmi les CFD, c’est le CFD VIX ETF qui donne les meilleurs résultats pour cette stratégie. Les traders de futures peuvent utiliser le future VIX.

Dr. Thomas K. Carr applique la stratégie sur une unité de temps de 5 minutes. Il l’utilise sur les actions, les fonds indiciels cotés (ETF) et les indices de marché. Carr soutient que travailler avec des unités de temps plus élevées est possible, mais son opinion est que l’unité de temps de 5 minutes est la meilleure.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

La stratégie VIX Reversal utilise des moyennes mobiles (MM) du VIX en 5 minutes et 15 minutes. Quand le MM5 croise au-dessus de la MM15, un signal d’achat est produit. Quand la MM5 croise en-dessous de la MM15, un signal de vente à découvert est produit.

Cette stratégie est une stratégie de retournement. Une stratégie de retournement a toujours une position ouverte. Quand une position longue est clôturée, une position de vente à découvert est simultanément ouverte. Inversement, quand une position de vente à découvert est clôturée, une position longue est ouverte au même moment. C’est uniquement pendant la nuit qu’aucune position ne reste ouverte pour cette stratégie.

Quand clôturer une position ?

Quand la MM5 croise au-dessus de la MM15, une position longue est clôturée (et en même temps une position de vente à découvert est ouverte). Quand la MM5 croise en-dessous de la MM15, une position de vente à découvert est clôturée (et en même temps une position longue est ouverte). Il n’y a pas d’objectif. La stratégie VIX reversal utilise également un filtre temporel. Le filtre temporel va clôturer toute position ouverte dans les cinq dernières minutes précédant la clôture du marché.

 

Cet exemple illustre une journée complète de trading sur Google. Il y a eu trois signaux d’achat (cercles verts) et deux signaux de vente à découvert (cercles rouges). Lorsqu’une position longue est clôturée, une position de vente à découvert est ouverte. La dernière position longue est clôturée par le filtre temporel (arrière-plan violet) à la fin de la journée. La deuxième fenêtre montre le CFD VIX ETF. Et la troisième fenêtre montre les croisements de moyennes mobiles VIX qui donnent les signaux.


 

Cet exemple illustre également une journée complète de trading sur Google. Il y a deux signaux de vente à découvert (cercles rouges) et un signal d’achat (cercle vert). L’exemple est intéressant car il montre l’intérêt d’ajouter un stop loss d’urgence à la stratégie de Carr. Il est rare qu’une action subisse un tel glissement instantané en journée. Néanmoins, un stop loss d’urgence aurait permis au trader de préserver ses fonds.


Les résultats de la stratégie VIX Reversal varient d’une action à l’autre. Ces copies d’écran montrent les backtests effectués sur plusieurs actions. Etant donné que la stratégie est basée sur une unité de temps de 5 minutes, les backtests ne couvrent que 8 mois. Ils doivent donc être interprétés avec la prudence nécessaire.

 

Les résultats sur Heinz.


 

Les résultats sur Microsoft.


 

Les résultats sur Sandisk.


 

Les résultats sur Teva Pharmaceuticals.


 

Les résultats sur Apple.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie VIX Reversal développée par l’auteur-trader Dr. Thomas K. Carr est intéressante du fait qu’elle est basée sur le VIX. Le VIX est l’un des rares indicateurs prévisionnels qui existent, et il est réputé être relativement précis. Bien qu’il n’y ait rien de mal à utiliser des stratégies simples, celle-ci semble trop simpliste. Cette stratégie bénéficierait certainement d’au moins un stop d’urgence et d’un filtre de signaux (basé sur la taille du mouvement sur le VIX). Cela limiterait le nombre de signaux lorsque le prix d’une action évolue de façon latérale. Il pourrait également être utile de faire des tests avec un objectif ou un stop temporel, étant donné que, dans de nombreuses occasions, une large proportion des profits virtuels sont perdus avant le nouveau croisement des MM VIX.

Practical implementation

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS VIX Reversal".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.