Trading strategy: MACD Triple

Description

The MACD Triple strategy is a typical multiple time frames strategy. These strategies base themselves on one or more technical indicators which are analyzed in parallel in different but related time frames. The higher time frames usually serve as a trend filter for the signals. The lowest time frame usually provides the trading signal.

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (DAX, CAC, DOW...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Commodities (Oil, Gold, ...)
: Stocks
Instruments : Futures, CFDs, Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 0-3 signals per day on a 15’ chart
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The MACD Triple strategy bases itself on the moving average convergence divergence indicator (MACD - 12,26,9). The MACD is analyzed in three time frames: 4 hours, 1 hour and 15 minutes. Notice that the ratio of each time frame to the next is 4:1. The 1-hour and 4-hour MACDs serve as trend filters. The 15-minute MACD gives the buy and short sell signals.

When to open a position?

The 15-minute MACD gives a buy signal when the fast MACD leg (12) crosses the slow MACD leg (26) upwards. The 15-minute MACD chart gives a short sell signal when the fast MACD leg crosses the slow MACD leg downwards.

Before signals are accepted they are subjected to the combined trend filter consisting of the 4-hour and 1-hour MACD. If both are bullish, only buy signals are accepted. If both are bearish only short sell signals are accepted. If one is bullish and the other is bearish, all signals are rejected.

The strategy also incorporates a time filter. The time filter accepts signals from 08h00 to 21h30. Signals outside this time period are rejected.

When to close a position?

The MACD Triple strategy uses both a stop and a profit target. In both cases they are percentages. The stop is at a distance of 0,50% from the entry price. The profit target is at a distance of 1,50% from the entry price.

Open positions can also be closed when the reverse signal appears i.e. when the 15-minute MACD crosses back in the opposite direction. Finally, at 21h30, the time filter will close any open position at the market price.

 

This example shows a day with two buy signals. Below the main chart are the three MACDs. The green background in the chart indicates that both the 1-hour and 4-hour MACDs are bullish. Only buy signals will be accepted. The fast leg of the 15-minute MACD crosses the slow leg upwards generating a buy signal. The stop (red line) and profit target (green line) appear automatically when the position is opened. In both cases the open position is closed with a profit when the 15-minute MACD crosses back in the opposite direction.


 

This example shows a short sell signal. Below the main chart are the three MACDs. The red background in the chart indicates that both the 1-hour and 4-hour MACDs are bearish. Only short sell signals will be accepted. The fast leg of the 15-minute MACD crosses the slow leg downwards generating a short sell signal. The stop (red line) and profit target (green line) appear automatically when the position is opened. The market price nearly reaches the profit target around 14h00. The open position is closed a bit later when the 15-minute MACD crosses back in the opposite direction.


 

This example shows a day with two short sell signals. Below the main chart are the three MACDs. The red background in the chart indicates that both the 1-hour and 4-hour MACDs are bearish. Only short sell signals will be accepted. The fast leg of the 15-minute MACD crosses the slow leg downwards generating a short sell signal. The stop (red line) and profit target (green line) appear automatically when the position is opened. In both cases the open position is closed when the 15-minute MACD crosses back in the opposite direction.


The results of the MACD Triple strategy vary. These screenshots show back-tests over a 7-year horizon for a number of market indices and commodities. The strategy can be applied to all instruments so you can back-test and optimize whatever you are interested in.

 

The results on the Brent crude oil.


 

The results on the German market index DAX.


 

The results on U.K. market index FTSE.


 

The results on the Netherlands market index AEX.


 

The results on the French market index CAC40.


 

The results on the U.S. market index S&P 500.


 

The results on the EUR/USD currency pair.

 

Conclusion

The MACD Triple strategy is a typical multiple time frames strategy. Combining multiple time frames usually seems to yield good results in trading. Traders should look into such strategies. The MACD Triple strategy can be used for market indices, stocks, forex and commodities. The strategy is a day trading strategy but days without signals are not uncommon.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS MACD Triple".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : MACD Triple

Description

La stratégie MACD Triple est un exemple typique de stratégie en unités de temps multiples. Ces stratégies se basent sur un ou plusieurs indicateurs techniques, qui sont analysés en parallèle dans des unités de temps différentes mais liées. L’unité de temps la plus élevée est généralement utilisée comme filtre de tendance pour les signaux, tandis que l’unité de temps la plus petite fournit généralement les signaux de trading.

 

  
Valable pour : Indices de marché (DAX, CAC, DOW...)
: Forex (EUR/USD ...)
: Matières premières (pétrole, or, ...)
: Actions
Instruments : Futures, CFD, Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 0-3 signaux par jour dans un graphique en 15’
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie MACD Triple est basée sur l’indicateur "moving average convergence divergence" (MACD - 12, 26, 9). Le MACD est analysé dans trois unités de temps : 4 heures, 1 heure et 15 minutes. Notez que le ratio de chaque unité de temps à la suivante est de 4 :1. Les MACD 1 heure et 4 heures servent de filtres de tendance. Le MACD 15 minutes donne les signaux d’achat et de vente à découvert.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Le MACD 15 minutes donne un signal d’achat quand la courbe MACD rapide (12) croise la courbe MACD lente (26) vers le haut. Le MACD 15 minutes donne un signal de vente à découvert quand la courbe MACD rapide croise la courbe MACD lente vers le bas.

Avant que les signaux ne soient acceptés, ils sont soumis à un filtre de tendance combiné, constitué par les MACD 4 heures et 1 heure. Si les deux sont haussiers, seuls les signaux d’achat sont acceptés. Si les deux sont baissiers, seuls les signaux de vente à découvert sont acceptés. Si l’un est haussier et l’autre baissier, tous les signaux sont rejetés.

La stratégie intègre aussi un filtre temps. Le filtre temps accepte les signaux de 8h à 21h30. Les signaux apparaissant en dehors de cette période de temps sont rejetés. 

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie MACD Triple utilise à la fois un stop et un objectif de profit. Dans les deux cas, ils sont exprimés en pourcentage. Le stop est placé à une distance de 0,50% du prix d’entrée. L’objectif est placé à une distance de 1,50% du prix d’entrée.

Les positions peuvent aussi être clôturées quand un signal inverse apparaît, c’est-à-dire quand le MACD 15 minutes donne un nouveau croisement, dans la direction opposée. Enfin, à 21h30, le filtre temps clôture au prix du marché toute position encore ouverte.

 

Cet exemple illustre une journée avec deux signaux d’achat. Les trois MACD se trouvent sous le graphique principal. L’arrière-plan vert dans le graphique indique que les deux MACD 1 heure et 4 heure sont haussiers. Seuls les signaux d’achat vont être acceptés. La courbe rapide du MACD 15 minutes croise la courbe lente vers le haut, ce qui génère un signal d’achat. Le stop (ligne rouge) et l’objectif (ligne verte) apparaissent automatiquement dès que la position est ouverte. Dans les deux cas, la position ouverte est clôturée avec un profit lorsque le MACD 15 minutes croise à nouveau dans la direction opposée.


 

Cet exemple montre un signal de vente à découvert. Les trois MACD se trouvent sous le graphique principal. L’arrière-plan rouge dans le graphique indique que les deux MACD 1 heure et 4 heure sont baissiers. Seuls les signaux de vente à découvert vont être acceptés. La courbe rapide du MACD en 15 minutes croise la courbe lente vers le bas, ce qui génère un signal de vente à découvert. Le stop (ligne rouge) et l’objectif (ligne verte) apparaissent automatiquement dès que la position est ouverte. Le prix du marché atteint presque l’objectif de profit vers 14h. La position ouverte est clôturée peu après, quand le MACD 15 minutes croise à nouveau dans la direction opposée.


 

Cet exemple illustre une journée avec deux signaux de vente à découvert. Les trois MACD se trouvent sous le graphique principal. L’arrière-plan rouge dans le graphique indique que les deux MACD 1 heure et 4 heure sont baissiers. Seuls les signaux de vente à découvert vont être acceptés. La courbe rapide du MACD sur 15 minutes croise la courbe lente vers le bas, ce qui génère un signal de vente à découvert. Le stop (ligne rouge) et l’objectif (ligne verte) apparaissent automatiquement dès que la position est ouverte. Dans les deux cas, la position ouverte est clôturée quand le MACD 15 minutes croise à nouveau dans la direction opposée.


Les résultats de la stratégie MACD Triple varient. Les copies d’écran qui suivent montrent des backtests effectués sur une période de 7 ans pour un certain nombre d’indices de marché et de matières premières. La stratégie peut être appliquée à tout type d’instruments. Vous pouvez donc effectuer les backtests et les optimisations qui vous intéressent.

 

Les résultats sur le Brent Crude Oil.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice de marché allemand DAX.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice de marché britannique FTSE.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice de marché néerlandais AEX.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice de marché français CAC40.


 

Les résultats sur l’indice de marché américain S&P 500.


 

Les résultats sur la paire de devises EUR/USD.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie MACD Triple est une stratégie d’unités de temps multiples typique. La combinaison d’unités de temps multiples semble généralement donner de bons résultats en trading. Il est intéressant pour un trader de se pencher sur de telles stratégies. La stratégie MACD Triple peut être utilisée sur des indices de marchés, des actions, le forex et des matières premières. Il s’agit d’une stratégie de day trading, mais les journées sans signaux ne sont pas rares.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS MACD Triple".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.