Trading strategy: Break-out Big Candle

Description

The Break-out Big Candle trading strategy is based on significant changes in volatility. The strategy compares the size of the market’s current movement with the market’s recent average true range (ATR).

 

  
Suitable for : Market indices (DAX, CAC, DOW …)
: Forex
Instruments : Futures, CFDs, Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 2-4 Signals per week in 10’
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

Break-out strategies are popular with traders because the market develops significant momentum in a particular direction. The complexity with break-out strategies is twofold. Firstly, how does the trader establish there is really a break-out? Secondly, how does the trader determine the direction of the break-out as break-outs usually occur when the market has been moving sideways? The BO Big Candle strategy offers good solutions to the above questions.

In order to define a break-out the strategy in essence relies on a pattern of two candles. Contrary to the norm the candles are not selected on the basis of their visual appearance; instead their size is calculated and compared to the recent ATR. To be precise:

- The first candle in the pattern must be a "big" candle. The criterion for a "big" candle is "The absolute value of the open price minus the close price must be > than 1,75 x the 24-period ATR".

- If the first candle is a bullish candle the high of the second candle has to be higher than the high of the first candle. If the first candle is a bearish candle the low of the second candle needs to be lower than the low of the first candle.

Note: when NanoTrader Full identifies a "big" candle it will be highlighted in the chart. A green background for a bullish candle and a red background for a bearish candle.

 

This example shows a "big" bearish candle. The background of this candle is red. Big+bearish implies that the absolute value of the open price minus the close price is bigger than 1,75 x the 24-period ATR. The low of the following candle is lower than the low of the big candle, completing the pattern.



The BO Big Candle strategy, however, does not solely rely on this candlestick pattern. Like any well-reasoned strategy the candlestick pattern is simply the basis. Besides the candlestick pattern the strategy includes several signals filters and two stop loss order types (see below).

The BO Big Candle strategy is applied on a 10-minute chart.

When to open a position?

The signals provided by the big candle pattern are subjected to two signal filters: an Exponential Moving Average (EMA) and a High-Low channel. Both are calculated over 6 periods (6 x 10’ = 1 hour). The EMA is visible in the chart as a green line. The High-Low channel is visible as a channel.

If the market price is above the EMA line the trend is positive. If the market price is below the EMA line the trend is negative. The High-Low channel is positive if the price closes above the channel. The High-Low channel is negative if the price closes below the channel. When both filters are positive the background of the chart is green and only buy signals are accepted. When both filters are negative the background of the chart is red and only short sell signals are accepted.

In addition the strategy uses a time filter. This time filter blocks all signals which occur before 8 AM or after 8:59 PM.

When to close a position?

The BO Big Candle strategy combines 2 stop types and a profit target. The two stop types are the Periods High Low stop and the Time stop.

  • The Periods High Low stop is calculated over the last 6 periods. This stop takes the lowest point over the last 6 periods as the stop for a long position and the highest point over the last 6 periods as the stop for a short sell position. Each time a candle is added the oldest candle is dropped from the calculation and the stop is adjusted if required.
  • The Time stop will close the position after 6 periods (1 hour).
  • The profit target is set to 75% of the size (body) of the previous "big" candle.
Free trading strategy in NanoTrader : Break-out big candle.  

This example shows a buy signal after a bullish big candle pattern. Both the signal filters are positive as indicated by the green background in the chart. The market reached the profit target 50 minutes later and the position was closed with a profit.

 

Free trading strategies in NanoTrader : Break-out big candle using a time stop.  

This example shows a short sell signal after a bearish big candle pattern. Both the signal filters are negative as indicated by the red background in the chart. The market moved up instead of down. The position was automatically closed with a small loss by the time stop after 1 hour.

 

Free trading strategies : Break-out big candle, trade result.  

This example shows a buy signal after a bullish big candle pattern. Both the signal filters are positive as indicated by the green background in the chart. The market moved down instead of up. The market price hit the period high low stop which had slowly moved up. The position was closed with a loss.

These screenshots show long term back-tests for several market indices as well as the EUR/USD. The percentage of winning trades is around 56% for all these instruments.

Free trading strategies : Break-out big candle, applied to the DAX market index.  

The results on the German market index DAX 30.

 

Free trading strategies : Break-out big candle, applied to the CAC market index.  

The results on the French market index CAC 40.

 

Free trading strategies : Break-out big candle, applied to the DOW Jones DJIA market index.  

The results on the U.S. market index Dow Jones.

 

Free trading strategies : Break-out big candle, applied to the Eurostoxx 50 market index.  

The results on the pan-European market index Eurostoxx 50.

 

Free trading strategies : Break-out big candle, applied to the EUR/USD forex market index.  

The results on the EUR/USD forex pair.

Conclusion

The Break-out Big Candle strategy is a finely tuned break-out strategy. In order to generate a signal the market must make a strong move outside its recent average true range. The signals they are subjected to three quality filters. Once a position is open it is managed by using two different stop types and a profit target. Interesting strategy.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS BO Big Candle".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading: Break-out Big Candle

Description

La stratégie de trading Break-out Big Candle s’appuie sur des variations significatives de la volatilité. La stratégie compare la tendance actuelle du marché avec l’indicateur Average True Range (ATR) le plus récent.

 

  
Valable pour : Indices de marchés (DAX, CAC, DOW …)
: Forex
Instruments : Futures, CFD, Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 2-4 Signaux par semaine en 10’
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

Les stratégies de Break-out sont populaires auprès des traders, car au moment d’un break-out le marché développe un mouvement significatif dans une direction particulière. La complexité avec les stratégies de break-out est double. Premièrement, comment le trader fait-il pour établir qu’il est en présence d’un break-out ? Deuxièmement, comment fait-il pour déterminer la direction du break-out alors que les break-outs se produisent  d’habitude lorsque le marché évolue horizontalement ? La stratégie BO Big Candle propose de bonnes solutions pour répondre aux questions ci-dessus.

Pour définir un break-out la stratégie compte en substance sur une configuration composée de deux bougies. Contrairement à la norme, les bougies ne sont pas sélectionnées sur la base de leur apparence visuelle ; mais leur taille est calculée et comparée à l’ATR le plus récent. Pour être précis :

- La première bougie de la configuration doit être une "Grande" bougie. Le critère pour une "grande" bougie est "la valeur absolue du cours d’ouverture moins le cours de clôture doit être > à 1,75 x l’ATR 24 périodes".

- Si la première bougie est une bougie haussière, le plus haut de la deuxième bougie doit être supérieur au plus haut de la première bougie. Si la première bougie est une bougie baissière, le plus bas de la deuxième bougie doit être inférieur au plus bas de la première bougie.

Note : lorsque NanoTrader Full identifie une "grande" bougie celle-ci est mise en évidence dans le graphique. Une bougie haussière apparaît sur un fond vert et une bougie baissière apparaît sur un fond rouge.

 

Cet exemple montre une "bougie" baissière. L’arrière-plan de la bougie est rouge. Grande+Baissière implique que la valeur absolue du cours d’ouverture moins le cours de clôture est supérieure à 1,75 x l’ATR 24 périodes. Le bas de la bougie suivante est inférieur au plus bas de la grande bougie, validant la configuration.



Toutefois, la stratégie BO Big Candle ne repose pas uniquement sur cette combinaison de bougies. Comme pour n’importe quelle stratégie bien pensée, la combinaison de bougies représente simplement la base. En plus de la combinaison de bougies, la stratégie inclut plusieurs filtres de signaux et deux types d’ordres stop loss (détail ci-dessous).

La stratégie BO Big Candle est utilisée sur un graphique en 10 minutes.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Les signaux générés par la configuration de la grande bougie sont soumis à deux filtres de signaux : une Moyenne Mobile Exponentielle (MME) et un High-Low channel. Les deux sont calculés sur 6 périodes (6 x 10’ = 1 heure). La MME est une ligne verte affichée dans le graphique. Le High-Low channel apparaît sous la forme d’un canal.

Si le cours est au-dessus de la MME, la tendance est positive. Si le cours est en dessous  de la MME, la tendance est négative. Le High-Low channel est positif si le cours de clôture est au-dessus du canal. Le High-Low channel est négatif si le cours clôture est en dessous du canal. Lorsque les deux filtres sont positifs, l’arrière-plan du graphique  est vert et seuls les signaux d’achat sont acceptés. Lorsque les deux filtres sont négatifs, l’arrière-plan du graphique est rouge et seuls les signaux de vente sont acceptés.

De plus, la stratégie utilise un filtre temporel. Ce filtre temporel bloque tous les signaux qui apparaissent avant 08h 00 ou après 20h 59.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie BO Big Candle associe 2 types de stop et un objectif. Les deux types de stops sont, le Periods High Low stop et le Time stop.

  • Le Periods High Low stop est calculé sur les 6 dernières périodes. Ce stop utilise le point le plus bas des 6 dernières périodes comme stop pour une position long et le point le plus haut des 6 dernières périodes comme stop pour une position short. Chaque fois qu’une bougie est ajoutée, la bougie la plus ancienne est retirée du calcul et le stop est ajusté si nécessaire.
  • Le Time stop clôturera la position après 6 périodes (1 heure).
  • L’objectif est fixé à 75% de la taille (corps) de la précédente "Grande" bougie.
Stratégies de trading gratuites dans la plateforme NanoTrader.  

Cet exemple illustre un signal d’achat suite à une combinaison de bougies haussières. Les deux filtres de signaux sont positifs comme indiqué par l’arrière-plan vert dans le graphique. Le cours a atteint l’objectif 50 minutes plus tard et la position a été clôturée avec un profit.

 

Stratégie de trading : breakout big candle.  

Cet exemple illustre un signal de vente à découvert suite à une combinaison de bougies baissières. Les deux filtres de signaux sont négatifs comme indiqué par l’arrière-plan rouge dans le graphique. Le marché est monté au lieu de baisser. La position a été clôturée automatiquement par le time stop après une heure, avec une petite perte.

 

Stratégies de trading gratuites à base de chandeliers.  

Cet exemple illustre un signal d’achat après une combinaison de bougies haussières. Les deux filtres de signaux sont positifs comme indiqué par l’arrière-plan vert dans le graphique. Le marché a baissé au lieu de monter. Après 50 minutes le cours a touché le stop period high low qui avait lentement avancé. La position a été clôturée avec une perte.

Ces captures d’écran illustrent des back-tests à long terme réalisés sur plusieurs indices de marché, ainsi que sur la paire EUR/USD. Le pourcentage de trades gagnants se situe autour des 56% pour tous ces instruments.

Stratégies de trading : résultats indice DAX.  

Les résultats pour l’indice de marché allemand DAX.

 

Stratégies de trading : résultats indice CAC  

Les résultats pour l’indice de marché français CAC 40.

 

Stratégies de trading : résultats indice DOW Jones.  

Les résultats pour l’indice de marché US Dow Jones.

 

Stratégies de trading : résultats indice Eurostoxx 50.  

Les résultats pour l’indice de marché européen Eurostoxx 50.

 

Stratégies de trading : résultats indice forex EUR/USD.  

Les résultats pour la paire de devises EUR/USD.

Conclusion

La stratégie Break-out Big Candle est une stratégie de break-out très peaufinée. Afin de générer un signal, le marché doit faire un gros mouvement en dehors de son Average True Range le plus récent. Les signaux sont soumis à trois filtres de qualité. Une fois qu’une position est ouverte, elle est gérée en utilisant deux différents types de stop et un objectif. C’est une stratégie intéressante.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS BO Big Candle".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.