Trading strategy: Morning Buy US

Description

The Morning Buy US strategy is a trend-following day trading strategy. The strategy focuses on American market indices. Only buy signals are acted upon. Short sell signals are not relevant. The positions are bought in the afternoon (morning in the US) at a specific point in time. Open positions are closed at the end of the day.

 

  
Suitable for : U.S. market indices (Dow, S&P 500 …)
Instruments: Futures and CFD
Trading type: Day trading
Trading tempo: Maximum 1 signal per day
Using NanoTrader Full: Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The Morning Buy US strategy uses the MACD 12,26,9 (moving average convergence divergence indicator) to determine a trend. The MACD is calculated over four hours (240 minutes). A positive MACD indicates a positive market trend.

When to open a position?

The MACD is positive when the fast MACD (12) lies above the slow MACD (26). Only when the MACD is a positive, a position is bought. In all other cases the trader does not act.

Buying a position is done at a specific point in time: 15h00. This is half an hour before the U.S. markets open.

When to close a position?

The Morning Buy US strategy uses a stop and a target. Both are expressed as a percentage versus the price at which the position was opened. The stop is fixed at 1% below the entry price. The target is fixed at 3% above the entry price. This is an ambitious target. It will only be reached a few times per year.

The strategy also contains a time filter: open positions are closed at 21h59. In most cases it is the time filter and not the stop or the target which will close the position.

 

This example shows a four-day period with a buy signal each day. The green background in the chart indicates that the 240’ MACD is positive. At 15h00 the trader buys his position. The first three days the position is closed each time by the time filter. The fourth day the stop is hit. The position is closed with a loss.


The results of the Morning Buy US strategy differ from market index to market index. These examples show back-tests over a four-year period. In our NanoTrader Full trading platform it is very simple for users to experiment with different market indices, stops and targets.

 

Result on the S&P 500 future.


 

Result on the Nasdaq future.

 

Conclusion

The Morning Buy US day trading strategy follows the market trend. The strategy limits itself to a positive trend and thus only opens long positions. Morning Buy EU is a trend following strategy in the broadest sense of the word. Given that both the stop and the target are far removed from the entry price they do not play a major role. Indeed, open positions are usually closed by the time filter at the end of the day. The trader buys a position at the start of the day if he expects a positive market trend. The remainder of the day he follows the trend. Days without a signal are not scarce.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS Morning Buy US".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : Morning Buy US

Description

La stratégie Morning Buy US est une stratégie de day trading de suivi de tendance simple. La stratégie met l’accent sur les indices du marché Américain. Seuls les signaux d’achats ont un impact. Les signaux de vente à découvert ne sont pas pertinents. Les positions à l’achat sont ouvertes dans l’après-midi (matin aux USA) à un moment précis. Les positions ouvertes sont fermées à la fin de la journée.

 

  
Valable pour : Indices de marchés U.S. (Dow, S&P 500 …)
Instruments : Futures et CFD
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : Maximum 1 signal par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie Morning Buy US utilise l’indicateur MACD 12,26,9 (Moving Average Convergence Divergence) pour déterminer la tendance. Le MACD est calculé sur 4 heures (240 minutes). Un MACD positif indique une tendance de marché haussière.

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Le MACD est haussier lorsque la EMA rapide (12) se retrouve au-dessus de la EMA lente (26). Une position d’achat est prise uniquement lorsque le MACD est haussier. Dans tous les autres cas, le trader n’agit pas.

L’ouverture d’une position à l’achat a lieu à un moment spécifique : 15h00, une demi-heure avant que le marché US ouvre.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie Morning Buy US utilise un stop et un objectif. Les deux sont exprimés comme un pourcentage du prix d’entrée. Le stop est fixé à 1% sous le prix d’entrée. L’objectif est fixé à 3% au-dessus du prix d’entrée. C’est un objectif ambitieux qui sera uniquement atteint quelques fois par an.

La stratégie contient aussi un filtre temps : les positions ouvertes sont fermées à 21h59. Dans la plupart des cas, c’est le filtre qui fermera la position et non le stop ou l’objectif.

 

Cet exemple montre une période de quatre jours avec un signal chaque jour. L’arrière plan en vert dans le graphique indique que le MACD 240’ est haussier. A 15h00 le trader ouvre sa position à l’achat. Les trois premiers jours la position est fermée à chaque fois par le filtre temps. Le quatrième jour le stop est touché. La position est fermée avec une perte.

Les résultats de la stratégie the Morning Buy US diffère d’un indice de marché à l’autre. Ces exemples montrent des back-tests réalisés sur des périodes de quatre jours. Dans notre plateforme de trading NanoTrader Full, il est très facile  pour les utilisateurs de tester différents indices de marché, points d’entrée, stops et objectifs.

 

Résultat sur le S&P500


 

Résultat sur le Nasdaq


 

Résultat sur le Dow Jones

 

Conclusion

La stratégie de trading Morning Buy US suit la tendance du marché. La stratégie se limite  à la tendance haussière et ouvre ainsi uniquement des positions longues. Morning Buy US est une stratégie de suivi de tendance au sens le plus large du terme. Etant donné que le stop et l’objectif sont placés loin du prix d’entrée, ils ne jouent pas un rôle majeur. En effet, les positions sont généralement fermées par le filtre temps à la fin de la journée. Le trader prend une position à l’achat au début de la journée s’il s’attend à une tendance de marché haussière. Le reste de la journée, il suit la tendance. Les jours sans signaux ne sont pas rares.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS Morning Buy US".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.