Trading strategy: EUR/USD High Noon

Description

The EUR/USD High Noon strategy is an uncomplicated trend-following trading strategy. Positions are opened on the basis of the market trend at a particular point in time. Positions are closed at a precise point in time. The strategy is used in forex trading for the EUR/USD.

 

  
Suitable for : Forex EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot Forex and CFD Forex
Trading type : Day trading
Trading tempo : 1 signal per day
Using NanoTrader Full : Manual or (semi-)automated

 

The strategy in detail

The EUR/USD High Noon strategy uses the MACD 12,26,9 (moving average convergence divergence indicator) to determine a trend. The chart time frame is 2 hours. The MACD is calculated over 24 hours (12 x 120 minutes).

When to open a position?

When the fast MACD (12) lies above the slow MACD (26) the market trend is positive. When, however, the fast MACD (12) lies below the slow MACD (26) the market trend is negative.

The EUR/USD High Noon strategy opens a position every day precisely at 14h00. A long position is bought if the market trend is positive. A short sell position is sold if the market trend is negative.

Note: traders who wish to proceed safely will consult the economic numbers calendar at the beginning of the day in order to see if any numbers are scheduled to be released at 14h30. Economic data can change the trade and it could be advisable to wait after they have been published.

When to close a position?

The EUR/USD High Noon strategy uses a stop. The strategy does not use a target. The stop is placed 100 pips (1.000 ticks) away from the entry price.

If the stop is not reached, the position is closed by the time filter at a precise point in time. The trader can choose between 20h00 and 22h00. Traders wishing to keep a position overnight select 8h00. Tick the releveant box in the Designer dialog window to indicate the time chosen:



 

This example shows two short sell trades. The positions are opened at 14h00. In both cases the stop (red line) is not hit. The trader opted to close the positions at 20h00. The first day the position is closed with a profit. The second day the position is closed at break-even.


Note: some traders apply this strategy with a profit target. Without a profit target the percentage of winning trades is about 53%. This means the trader cannot miss many trading days without the risk of having a worse ratio and much worse result. By adding a profit target, for example 30 pips, the percentage of winning trades increases to 70%.

 

Conclusion

The EUR/USD High Noon strategy is a trend-following strategy. The strategy opens a long or short sell position on the basis of the day’s trend as indicated by the MACD. The position is opened at precisely 14h00. The open position is protected by a stop. In most cases, however, positions are closed by the time filter at 20h00, 22h00 or 8h00 the next day, depending on the trader’s choice.

Practical implementation

In NanoTrader Full follow these steps:
  • Choose the instrument you wish to trade.

  • Open a chart with the template study "WHS EURUSD Nigh Noon".

  • Semi-automated trading? Simply activate the TradeGuard+AutoOrder or the AutoOrder function.

Strategie de trading : EUR/USD High Noon

Description

La stratégie EUR/USD High Noon est une stratégie de trading de suivi de tendance non-compliquée. Les positions sont ouvertes sur base de la tendance du marché observée à un moment précis. Les positions sont clôturées à un moment bien précis également. La stratégie est utilisée pour le trading du forex en EUR/USD.

 

  
Valable pour : Forex EUR/USD
Instruments : Spot Forex et CFD Forex
Type de trading : Day trading
Fréquence de trading : 1 signal par jour
Avec NanoTrader Full : Manuel et (semi-)automatique

 

La stratégie en détail

La stratégie EUR/USD High Noon utilise le MACD 12,26,9 (moving average convergence divergence indicator) pour déterminer la tendance. L’agrégation du graphique est 2 heures. Le MACD est calculé sur une période de 24 heures (12 x 120 minutes).

Quand ouvrir une position ?

Lorsque le MACD rapide (12) se trouve au-dessus du MACD lent(26) la tendance du marché est positive. Lorsque, par contre, le MACD rapide (12) se trouve en-dessous du MACD lent(26) la tendance du marché est négative.

La stratégie EUR/USD High Noon ouvre une position chaque jour à 14h00 précises. Une position longue d’achat est prise si la tendance est positive. Une position de vente short est prise si la tendance est négative.

Note: les traders voulant rester prudents se doivent de consulter le calendrier des annonces économiques au début de la journée afin de savoir si une statistique importante va être diffusée à 14h30. Les données économiques peuvent changer la tendance et il est peut-être préférable d’attendre qu’elles aient été publiées.

Quand clôturer une position ?

La stratégie EUR/USD High Noon fait usage d’un stop. La stratégie ne prévoit pas d’ objectif. Le stop est place à 100 pips (1.000 ticks) du prix d’entrée.

Si le stop n’est pas atteint, la position est clôturée par le  filtre temps à un moment précis. Le trader peut choisir entre 20h00 et 22h00. Les traders désirant garder la position en overnight sélectionnent 8h00. En cochant la case correspondante dans la Barre de Personnalisation,  le trader précise son choix:



 

Cet exemple montre deux trades de ventes à découvert. Les positions sont ouvertes à 14h00. Dans les deux cas, le stop (ligne rouge) n’est pas atteint. Le trader a choisi de clôturer les positions à 20h00. Le premier jour, la position est fermée avec un profit. Le lendemain la position est clôturée à l’équilibre (break even).


Note : Certains traders utilisent cette stratégie avec un objectif de gain. Sans objectif de gain le pourcentage de trades gagnant est d’environ 53%. Cela signifie que le trader ne peut pas manquer de nombreux jours de trading sans le  risque d’obtenir un  ratio moins bon et des résultats bien pires. En ajoutant un objectif de gain, par exemple 30 pips, le pourcentage  de trades gagnants augmente à 70%.

 

Conclusion

La stratégie EUR/USD High Noon est une stratégie de suivi de tendance. La stratégie ouvre une position longue ou une position à découvert sur la base de la tendance du jour indiquée par le MACD. La position est ouverte à 14h00 précises. La position ouverte est protégée par un stop. Dans la plupart des cas, les positions sont clôturées par le filtre temps à 20h00, 22h00 ou 8h00 le lendemain, en fonction du choix du trader.

Application pratique

Avec NanoTrader Full, suivez les étapes ci-dessous :
  • Choisissez l’instrument financier que vous souhaitez trader.

  • Ouvrez un graphique avec l’étude "WHS EURUSD Nigh Noon".

  • Trading semi-automatique ou automatique ? Activez simplement la fonction TradeGuard+AutoOrder ou AutoOrder.